Tourism

This ministry works closely with the tourism sector to help stimulate economic growth and investment and create an environment that allows Ontario to compete successfully in the rapidly changing world of travel and leisure. Among our activities to strengthen Ontario as an internationally-recognized tourist destination:

  • We undertake vital market research in the areas of marketing, product development, and investment to aid business decisions by both governments and industry.
  • We encourage private sector investment and new product development to expand Ontario's tourism sector and promote regional tourism economic development.
  • We support and facilitate the development of new experiences and destinations.
  • We market Ontario as a tourist destination.
  • We invest in Ontario's tourism agencies.
  • We work with industry and organizations to support the maintenance and growth of the tourism's economic contribution.

Tourism Initiatives


Ontario Place

Ontario Place

Trillium Park and William G. Davis Trail


Strategic Framework

Growing Tourism Together

Strategic Framework for Tourism in Ontario


Cycling Tourism Plan

Tour By Bike

Ontario’s Cycling Tourism Plan

Red Tape Challenge

Red Tape Challenge Logo

The Red Tape Challenge is part of Ontario’s five-year, $650 million Business Growth Initiative, which is helping to grow the economy and create jobs by promoting an innovation-based economy, helping small companies to scale up, and modernizing regulations for businesses.

As part of the Strategic Framework for Tourism in Ontario, released in November 2016, the Ontario government identified improving regulations as a key priority for the tourism industry to help foster an innovative and dynamic business climate and maximize the growth of Ontario’s tourism sector.

Ontario is asking businesses and the public to help identify and improve regulations that are unclear, outdated, redundant or unnecessarily costly for the province’s tourism sector. Your input will help make it easier for tourism sector businesses to interact with government, innovate and grow without jeopardizing necessary standards that protect the public interest.

Provide your feedback online until March 31, 2018 at ontario.ca/RedTapeChallenge.

Ontario Tourism Receipts

Tourism receipts are used to calculate the overall impact of tourism spending on Ontario’s GDP, jobs and taxes. It includes the spending of those who visit the province as a destination as well as the spending of those who are either passing through the province or leaving the province on their way to other destinations. This figure demonstrates how tourism activities contribute to all the provincial industries that serve travellers, regardless of their final destination.

Le tourisme

En étroite collaboration avec le secteur du tourisme, le Ministère aide à stimuler la croissance économique et l'investissement et crée un environnement permettant à l'Ontario d'être compétitif sur le marché des voyages et des loisirs, qui évolue rapidement. Voici quelques-unes des activités menées par le Ministère pour renforcer l'image de l'Ontario en tant que destination touristique mondiale :

  • il réalise d'importantes recherches en marketing, en développement de produits et en investissement pour aider les gouvernements et l'industrie à prendre des décisions d'affaires;
  • il encourage les investissements du secteur privé et la mise au point de nouveaux produits pour favoriser l'expansion du secteur ontarien du tourisme et le développement économique du tourisme régional;
  • il appuie l'offre de nouvelles expériences et destinations;
  • il commercialise l'Ontario en tant que destination touristique;
  • il investit dans les attractions et les organismes touristiques de l'Ontario;
  • il travaille avec l'industrie et les organismes au maintien et à l'augmentation de la contribution du tourisme à l'économie.

Priorités pour le tourisme


Place de l'Ontario

Place de l'Ontario

Parc Trillium et sentier William G. Davis


Cadre stratégique pour le tourisme

Ensemble pour le développement du tourisme

Cadre stratégique pour le tourisme en Ontario


Plan de l’Ontario pour le cyclotourisme

Randonnées à vélo

Plan de l’Ontario pour le cyclotourisme

Recettes touristiques de l’Ontario

Le Défi pour la réduction des formalités administratives s'inscrit dans le cadre de l’Initiative pour la croissance des entreprises de l’Ontario, une initiative sur cinq ans de 650 millions de dollars, qui contribue à la croissance économique et à la création d'emplois en favorisant une économie axée sur l'innovation, en aidant les petites entreprises à prendre de l'expansion et en modernisant la réglementation des entreprises.

Dans le cadre du Cadre stratégique pour le tourisme en Ontario, publié en novembre 2016, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a déterminé que l'amélioration de la réglementation est une priorité clé pour l'industrie touristique afin de favoriser un climat d'affaires innovateur et dynamique et de maximiser la croissance du secteur touristique de l'Ontario.

L'Ontario demande aux entreprises et au public d'aider à identifier et à améliorer les règlements qui sont peu clairs, désuets, redondants ou inutilement coûteux pour le secteur touristique de la province. Vos commentaires aideront les entreprises du secteur touristique à interagir plus facilement avec le gouvernement, à innover et à prendre de l'expansion sans compromettre les normes nécessaires pour protéger l'intérêt public.

Faites-nous part de vos commentaires en ligne jusqu'au 31 mars 2018 à https://www.ontario.ca/fr/page/defi-pour-la-reduction-des-formalites-administratives.

Recettes touristiques de l’Ontario

Les recettes touristiques sont utilisées pour calculer l’impact global des dépenses touristiques sur le PIB, les emplois et les taxes en Ontario. Elles comprennent les dépenses de ceux qui visitent la province comme destination ainsi que celles de ceux qui ne font que passer par la province ou qui la quittent pour d’autres destinations. Ce chiffre démontre comment les activités touristiques contribuent à l’ensemble des industries provinciales qui desservent les voyageurs, quelle que soit leur destination finale.