PyeongChang 2018 Winter Olympic Games

Quest for Gold Funding

The Quest for Gold program supports Ontario athletes striving to reach the international level of competition. Providing an annual investment of $9.76 million into high performance amateur sport in Ontario, the province’s total investment in the program since 2006 is now over $120 million.

There are two specific funding streams within the Quest for Gold Program:

1. Direct Financial Assistance to Athletes

Direct financial assistance is provided to eligible Ontario athletes to offset living, training, and competition costs. Assistance is provided through two carding designations:

  • Ontario National Card – for Ontario athletes competing at the national level who are selected by Sport Canada. This card provides up to an additional 35 per cent in direct financial assistance over and above what an athlete is receiving from Sport Canada.
  • Ontario Provincial Card - for Ontario junior age athletes aspiring to compete at the highest levels of national and international competition. These athletes are nominated for carding status by their Provincial Sport/ Multi-Sport Organizations.

In fiscal 2017-18, 1,349 Ontario amateur athletes received $6.36 million in direct funding from Quest for Gold.


2. Enhanced Coaching and Training Opportunities

Quest for Gold provides additional funding to coaching programs in Ontario, in order to offer Ontario athletes access to high performance qualified coaches. Funding is targeted towards providing more high performance coaching hours for provincial and national level athletes and for coach development at the grassroots/talent identification level.

Funding is also provided for enhanced training, services, and competitive opportunities for athletes from the novice through to provincial/Canada Games level of competition. Quest for Gold funding is utilized to enhance the Ontario Games Program, strengthen Team Ontario's performance at the Canada Games by providing additional training opportunities, and to provide enhanced sport science services to athletes competing on provincial teams.

  • In fiscal 2017-18, $3.4 million was allocated to the Canadian Sport Institute Ontario (CSIO) and the Coaches Association of Ontario (CAO)to enhance coaching, training, and competitive opportunities to athletes and their coaches.

Quest for Gold funding benefited 83 per cent of Olympic and 95 per cent of Paralympic athletes from Ontario who participated in the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Olympic Games and Paralympic Games. Quest for Gold will also provide support to many Ontario athletes who are training to represent Canada on the world stage, including the upcoming 2020 Tokyo Summer Olympics.

JOlympiques d’hiver 2018 de PyeongChang

Financement offert par le programme Quest for Gold

Le programme Quest for Gold soutient les athlètes ontariens qui s’entraînent pour parvenir à un niveau de compétition international. L’investissement total de la province dans ce programme depuis 2006 s’élève à plus de 120 millions de dollars à ce jour, au rythme annuel de 9,76 millions, au bénéfice du sport amateur de haut niveau en Ontario.

Le programme Quest for Gold comporte deux volets de financement distincts :

1. L’aide financière directe aux athlètes

Le financement direct accordé aux athlètes admissibles de l’Ontario couvre une partie du coût de la vie et des dépenses associées à l’entraînement et aux compétitions. Ce financement est accordé aux détenteurs de l’un des deux types de brevets suivants :

  • Carte du Canada – pour les athlètes ontariens sélectionnés par Sport Canada en vue d’une participation à des compétitions de niveau national. Cette carte procure à son détenteur une aide financière directe qui s’ajoute au financement reçu de Sport Canada et peut atteindre jusqu’à 42 p. 100 de celui-ci;
  • Carte de l’Ontario - pour les athlètes ontariens juniors qui aspirent à participer à des compétitions de calibre national et international. Ces athlètes se voient décerner un brevet par leur organisme provincial de sport ou organisme multisports.

Au cours de l’exercice 2017-2018, le programme Quest for Gold a octroyé une aide directe à 1 349 athlètes amateurs de l’Ontario, d’une valeur globale de 6,36 millions de dollars.


2. L’optimisation de l’encadrement et de meilleures possibilités d’entraînement

Le programme Quest for Gold alloue également des fonds aux programmes d’entraînement en Ontario pour que les athlètes bénéficient de l’encadrement d’entraîneurs qualifiés, de haut niveau. Ce financement vise à offrir aux athlètes de niveau provincial ou national un plus grand nombre d’heures d’entraînement de haut niveau et à encourager le perfectionnement des entraîneurs pour le dépistage du talent sportif.

Ce volet de financement favorise aussi l’amélioration des services et de l’entraînement. Grâce aux possibilités accrues de participation aux compétitions, les athlètes peuvent mieux progresser du niveau novice jusqu’au plus haut niveau provincial ou national (p. ex. Jeux du Canada). Les fonds du programme Quest for Gold servent également à améliorer le programme des Jeux de l’Ontario et à optimiser la performance d’Équipe Ontario aux Jeux du Canada par l’offre de possibilités d’entraînement supplémentaires et la prestation de meilleurs services fondés sur les sciences du sport aux athlètes des équipes provinciales.

  • Au cours de l'exercice 2017-18, 3,4 millions de dollars ont été alloués à l'Institut canadien du sport de l'Ontario (ISHPO) et à la Coaches Association of Ontario (CAO) pour améliorer les possibilités de coaching, d'entraînement et de compétition pour les athlètes et leurs entraîneurs.

Le programme Quest for Gold a aidé financièrement 83 p. 100 des athlètes olympiques et 95 p. 100 des athlètes paralympiques de l’Ontario qui ont participé aux Jeux Olympiques d’hiver 2018 de PyeongChang et Jeux paralympiques. Il apportera aussi un soutien financier à nombreux athlètes de l’Ontario qui s’entraînent pour représenter le Canada à l’échelle internationale, notamment lors des Jeux olympiques des Jeux olympiques d’été de Tokyo en 2020.