She Can
Play

A Call to Action to Advance Opportunities for Women in Sport


Today, Ontario calls on everyone to remove barriers and create equitable opportunities for women and girls in sport.

Join us. Together, we will champion every woman and girl so they can reach their full sport potential.

Improving women and girls’ participation in sport has benefits beyond the sport and recreation sector. It can lead to higher self-confidence, better grades and enhanced career opportunities. Ontario is calling on all sport organizations across the province to match the province’s commitment to promoting equal and fair opportunities for women and girls in sport and recreation.



Show your support for equity in sport


Tweet
Share on Facebook

#SheCanPlay


Supporters

“I’m happy to endorse this call to action on behalf of the Minister’s Advisory Panel on Sport. We recommended that the government adopt an action plan to address the sport gender gap so that more women and girls have the opportunity to achieve their athletic potential. I’m encouraged by today’s announcement, which is a great first step toward positive changes in the sport sector.”

Mary Spencer, Minister’s Advisory Panel Co-chair

“Providing equal opportunities for women and girls in sport, especially at the level of leadership, is a priority of the Minister’s Advisory Panel and we are pleased to see this effort to close the gaps. We would like to express our support for the Minister’s public commitment made today and look forward to a broader action plan for government and sport delivery partners in addressing the gender equity gap.”

Dr. Bruce Kidd, Minister’s Advisory Panel Co-chair

“Since 1981, CAAWS has been working to advance opportunities for women and girls in sport. We’re glad that the Ontario government has taken a leadership role on this important matter and we fully endorse their commitment. We will continue to work with Ontario and the national sport sector to ensure all organizations provide equal and fair access to sports and recreation to women and girls.”

Allison Sandmeyer-Graves, Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women and Sport and Physical Activity (CAAWS)

"Playing organized sports taught me valuable lessons which have directly impacted my career development. The mentorship I received from women coaches and players in my life gave me confidence and the drive to succeed. It's great to hear that the Ontario government is supporting more women coaches and taking steps to increase gender equity in sports. Generations of young women will benefit from these initiatives."

Kim Ferguson, CEO and Owner of ViaCure

“Having access to leading programs and amazing coaches has a major impact on youth lives. At MLSE LaunchPad we understand that youth use sport to recognize and reach their potential. We’re proud to support the minister’s call to action and will do our part to provide equal opportunities for girls to participate in sport and life skills programs in our facility.”

Tanya Mruck, Executive Director, MLSE Launchpad

“At Jays Care, we know how important it is for girls to get involved in sport at all levels. Participating in sports at a young age builds confidence and promotes healthy behaviours that can last a lifetime. We are thrilled that the Ontario government is creating opportunities for women and girls to get involved, just as we do with our Girls At Bat program. Working together we can help girls across the province discover their own passion for sport.”

Robert Witchel, Executive Director, Jays Care Foundation

Elle Peut
Jouer

Appel à l’action pour favoriser les possibilités pour les femmes dans le sport


Aujourd’hui, L’Ontario appelle chacun à éliminer les barrières et à créer des possibilités équitables pour les femmes et les filles ans le sport.

Ensemble, nous allons nous engager envers chaque femme et chaque fille afin qu'elles puissent réaliser leur plein potentiel dans le sport.

Améliorer la participation des femmes et des filles dans le sport a des avantages bien au-delà du secteur des sports et des loisirs. Elle peut conduire à une meilleure confiance en soi, de meilleures notes à l’école et de meilleures possibilités de carrière. L’Ontario invite tous les organismes de sport dans toute la province à imiter l’engagement de la province visant à promouvoir des chances égales et équitables pour les femmes et les filles dans le sport et les loisirs.



Montrez votre soutien pour l’équité dans le sport


Tweet
Facebook

#EllePeutJouer


Citations

« Je suis heureuse d’appuyer cet appel à l’action au nom du comité consultatif ministériel de promotion du sport. Nous avons recommandé que le gouvernement adopte un plan d’action pour remédier à l’écart entre les sexes dans le sport afin que plus de femmes et de filles aient la possibilité de réaliser leur potentiel athlétique. L’annonce d’aujourd’hui m’encourage. Elle est un premier grand pas vers des changements positifs dans le secteur du sport. »

Mary Spencer, coprésidente du comité consultatif ministériel

« Offrir des chances égales pour les femmes et les filles dans le sport, notamment au niveau de la direction, est une priorité du comité consultatif ministériel et nous sommes heureux de voir cet effort visant à combler les lacunes. Nous tenons à exprimer notre soutien à l’engagement public fait aujourd’hui par la ministre et attendons avec impatience un plus vaste plan d’action par le gouvernement et les partenaires du sport dans la lutte contre l’écart d’équité entre les sexes. »

Dr Bruce Kidd, coprésident du comité consultatif ministériel

« Depuis 1981, l’ACAFS a travaillé pour faire augmenter les possibilités pour les femmes et les filles dans le sport. Nous sommes heureux que le gouvernement de l’Ontario ait joué un rôle prépondérant sur cet enjeu important et nous soutenons pleinement leur engagement. Nous allons continuer à travailler avec l’Ontario et le secteur national du sport afin de s’assurer que tous les organismes fournissent un accès égal et équitable aux sports et aux loisirs pour les femmes et les filles. »

Allison Sandmeyer-Graves, PDG de l’Association canadienne pour l’avancement des femmes, du sport et de l’activité physique (ACAFS)

« Jouer dans des sports organisés m’a appris des leçons précieuses qui ont eu un impact direct sur le développement de ma carrière. Le mentorat que j’ai reçu des entraîneuses et des joueurs dans ma vie m’a donné la confiance et la volonté de réussir. Il est bon d’entendre que le gouvernement de l’Ontario soutient davantage d’entraîneuses et prend des mesures pour accroître l’équité entre les sexes dans le sport. Des générations de jeunes femmes bénéficieront de ces initiatives. »

Kim Ferguson, PDG et propriétaire de ViaCure

« L’accès à des programmes de pointe et des entraîneurs extraordinaires a un impact majeur sur la vie des jeunes. Chez MLSE LaunchPad, nous comprenons que les jeunes utilisent le sport pour reconnaître et atteindre leur plein potentiel. Nous sommes fiers de soutenir l’appel de la ministre à l’action et ferons notre part pour assurer l’égalité des chances pour les filles de participer à des programmes sportifs et d’acquisitions de compétences de vie dans nos installations. »

Tanya Mruck, directrice générale, MLSE Launchpad

« Chez Jays Care, nous savons combien il est important pour les filles de s’engager dans le sport à tous les niveaux. La participation dans les sports à un jeune âge bâtit la confiance et favorise des comportements sains qui peuvent durer toute une vie. Nous sommes ravis que le gouvernement de l’Ontario crée des possibilités pour les femmes et les filles de s’engager, comme nous le faisons grâce à notre programme Girls At Bat. En travaillant ensemble, nous pouvons aider les filles de toute la province à découvrir leur passion pour le sport. »

Robert Witchel, directeur général, Jays Care Foundation