Rowan's Law Advisory Committee Members

As part of its work, the committee will focus on how parents, coaches, officials and the medical community can work together to increase safe participation in sport.

Dr. Dan Cass

Dr. Dan CassDr. Dan Cass has been appointed the Chair of the Rowan’s Law Advisory Committee. Dr. Cass is the Vice President of Medical at St. Joseph’s Health Centre and an Associate Professor in the Division of Emergency Medicine, Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto. He has served as Chief of Emergency Medicine at St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto and extensively with the Office of the Chief Coroner, where he was appointed Deputy Chief Coroner – Investigations for the Province of Ontario. Dr. Cass provided leadership for two special death investigations and chaired the Patient Safety Review Committee.

Kent Bassett-Spiers

Kent Bassett-SpiersKent Bassett-Spiers has been the Chief Executive Officer of the Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation since 1999. In 2014, he was appointed as the Executive Director of the Canadian Spinal Research Organization. Bassett-Spiers has extensive experience in developing strategic linkages and partnerships, organizational restructuring and working with the Ministry of Health on policy and systems reforms. His time with the Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation has allowed him to be involved in many partnership activities with the Rick Hansen Foundation and the Rick Hansen Institute, including the SCI Solution Network, Canadian Neurotrauma Research Partnership and recently with the Best Practices Implementation Project.

Warren Hoshizaki

Warren HoshizakiWarren Hoshizaki is the Director of Education for the District School Board of Niagara, the largest school board in the Niagara region. Hoshizaki is keenly aware of the impact concussions can have, not only on professional athletes, but also on students who are injured pursuing their love of sports. Under Hoshizaki’s direction, the DSBN has been at the forefront of developing a school board policy and administrative procedures on concussions in an effort to educate teachers, coaches, students and parents about concussions and mechanisms to manage them. He also served on the Ontario government’s Healthy Schools Initiative – A Working Table Committee on Concussions.

Paul Hunter

Paul HunterPaul Hunter is the Manager of Community Coach Development at Rugby Canada. Hunter has a Master of Science in Performance Coaching from the University of Stirling and a Higher National Diploma in Sports Coaching and Development from Edinburgh’s Telford College. Hunter attended the National Rugby Conference in Toronto where coaches, administrators and leaders in the Canadian Rugby community gained insight on specific rugby streams and connected with other rugby fanatics. In May 2016, Paul attended the Minister’s Roundtable on Concussions.


Susan Kitchen

Susan KitchenSusan Kitchen is the Executive Director of the Coaches Association of Ontario. Kitchen is also currently serving on the Minister’s Advisory Panel for Game ON – The Ontario Government’s Sport Plan. She recently joined the Board of Directors of the Sport Dispute Resolution Centre of Canada, appointed by the Federal Minister of Sport. Prior to joining CAO, she served as Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors for the Coaching Association of Canada. Kitchen has been active in the sport of rowing for 30 years. She is an NCCP trained Coach and a certified RCA Umpire.

Jennifer Knox

Jennifer KnoxJennifer Knox is the Vice President of the Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA) and Secondary School Vice-Principal with the Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board. Knox works with hundreds of volunteer teacher-coaches to promote education through sport. OFSAA’s main priority is to work with volunteers to deliver 46 provincial championships and five festivals for student-athletes. They also offer programs and services that enhance school sport in the province, including scholarships, awards, student leadership and coach development programs, tournament sanctioning, and funding to support school athletic programs. OFSAA takes a proactive role in dealing with issues that affect students, coaches, schools and communities.

Eric Lindros

Eric LindrosEric Lindros is a former NHL hockey player and Canadian National Hockey team member. He was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2016. Lindros is an active advocate of concussion research, care and awareness. During his career, he suffered a series of concussions — at least eight by the time he retired. In 2007, Lindros donated $5 million to the London Health Sciences Foundation, one of the largest one-time donations the foundation has ever received. The gift was inspired by Dr. Peter Fowler, co-founder of the Fowler Kennedy Sport Medicine Clinic where Lindros was treated during his NHL career. In 2016, he was the Honorary Chair of the annual See the Line Symposium – a 10-year initiative that aims to bring together world-class health care and research partners in a unique collaboration.

Louise Logan

Louise LoganLouise Logan was formerly the President and CEO of Parachute Canada, a national charity dedicated to preventing injuries, which are the leading cause of death for Canadians ages 1-44. For 15 years, Logan has been involved in injury prevention and workplace health and safety at the provincial, national, and international level. Prior to joining Parachute, Logan was President and CEO of the Public Services Health and Safety Association and a Director General of Policy and Regulation at WorkSafeBC.



Rosie MacLennan

Rosie MacLennanRosie MacLennan is an Olympic trampoline gymnast. In 2016, MacLennan made history when she became the first trampolinist to win back-to-back Olympic gold medals at the Rio 2016 and London 2012 Summer Olympics. She also became the first Canadian summer athlete to successfully defend an Olympic title and the first Canadian woman to win two gold medals in an individual event at a Summer Olympics. Since 1999, MacLennan has competed internationally at various levels. She understands the dangers of head injuries, having suffered two concussions during her competitive athletic career.



Chris Markham

Chris MarkhamChris Markham is the Executive Director and CEO of the Ontario Physical and Health Education Association (Ophea). Ophea manages the Ontario Safety Guidelines, which represent the minimum standard for risk management practice for school boards. The guidelines focus the attention of teachers, intramural supervisors and coaches on safe practices across all physical activities, in order to minimize the element of risk. Over the past 20 years, Markham has worked with staff and volunteers to build the knowledge, ability and confidence of educators, principals, school board administrators and public health and community leaders, to deliver quality health and physical education programs across the province.

Dr. Rosana Salvaterra

Dr. Rosana SalvaterraDr. Rosana Salvaterra has served as the Medical Officer of Health for Peterborough Public Health since 2008. Prior to coming to Peterborough, she worked in both Toronto and Stratford in similar positions. Dr. Salvaterra currently holds an academic appointment with Queen’s University, and has worked both internationally, and in First Nations communities in Canada. Dr. Salvaterra has also been a health columnist for the Toronto Star in the past, and co-hosted a daily TV health show. As a Family Physician, she specialized in the care of immigrant, refugee and HIV-infected populations. She continues to practice clinical medicine in Public Health’s Sexual Health Clinic.

Gordon Stringer

Gordon StringerGordon Stringer is the father of Rowan Stringer, a 17-year-old girl who died in May 2013 after suffering three concussions in less than a week while playing high school rugby. After Rowan’s death, Stringer and his family decided to do what they could to tell Rowan’s story and educate children, athletes and all involved in child and youth sport. Their goal is to help prevent future injury and death from concussion. On November 25, 2015, Lisa MacLeod, MPP for Nepean-Carleton, introduced Rowan's Law in the Ontario Legislature. Gordon and his family launched a petition in support of the Rowan’s Law legislation at an Ottawa rugby field along with athletes, coaches, medical professionals and politicians.

Dr. Charles Tator

Dr. Charles TatorDr. Charles Tator is a Professor in the Department of Surgery at The University of Toronto. His main clinical interests are in trauma of the nervous system, especially concussions and spinal cord injury. His research is dedicated to the study of injury prevention and recovery from concussions and spinal cord injury. Dr. Tator became a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 1969. He joined the Neurosurgical Staff at Sunnybrook Medical Centre in 1969 and served as their Neurosurgeon-in-Chief from 1974-1984. He moved to the Toronto Western Hospital where he became Neurosurgeon-in-Chief from 1985-1988. He was appointed Chairman of the Division of Neurosurgery at the University of Toronto for a 10 year term beginning 1989.

Elisabeth White

Elisabeth WhiteElisabeth White is a Nurse Practitioner for the Division of Neurosurgery at the Hospital for Sick Children. Since 1995, she has worked at the Hospital for Sick Children in various departments, including infectious diseases, general pediatrics, respiratory medicine, emergency medicine and as a clinical response nurse. White began educating the public about traumatic brain injury in 2014. Since then, she has spoken to both parents and trainers in different hockey associations in Ontario about the importance of recognizing signs and monitoring concussions. White graduated from the University of Toronto with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing in 1995 and completed her Master of Science in Nursing from D’Youville College in 2002 and a Post Master Family Nurse Practitioner program in 2010.

Participants au comité consultatif de la Loi Rowan

Dans le cadre de son mandat, le comité va étudier la façon dont les parents, les entraîneurs, les dirigeants ainsi que le milieu médical peuvent collaborer pour augmenter la sécurité dans les sports.

Dr. Dan Cass

Dr. Dan CassLe Dr Dan Cass a été nommé au poste de président du Comité consultatif de la Loi Rowan. Le Dr Cass est vice-président des affaires médicales au St. Joseph's Health Centre et professeur agrégé à la division de la médecine d'urgence du département de médecine de l'Université de Toronto. Il a été chef de la médecine d'urgence au St. Michael's Hospital de Toronto et a travaillé pendant longtemps auprès du bureau du coroner en chef, où il avait été nommé coroner en chef adjoint, Investigations pour la province de l'Ontario. Le Dr Cass a joué un rôle de chef de file dans le cadre de deux investigations portant sur des décès spéciaux et a présidé le Comité d'examen de la sécurité des patients.

Kent Bassett-Spiers

Kent Bassett-SpiersKent Bassett-Spiers est président-directeur général de la Fondation ontarienne de neurotraumatologie depuis 1999. En 2014, il était nommé directeur exécutif de la Canadian Spinal Research Organization. Bassett-Spiers possède une vaste expérience dans la création de liens et de partenariats stratégiques, dans la restructuration organisationnelle, ainsi que dans la collaboration avec le ministère de la Santé au niveau des réformes des politiques et des différents systèmes. Le temps qu'il a passé au sein de la Fondation ontarienne de neurotraumatologie lui a permis de participer à de nombreuses activités de partenariat avec la Fondation Rick Hansen et l'Institut Rick Hansen, incluant le Réseau pour des solutions en LM et, plus récemment, avec le Projet de mise en œuvre des pratiques exemplaires.

Warren Hoshizaki

Warren HoshizakiWarren Hoshizaki est directeur de l'éducation à la commission scolaire du district de Niagara (CSDN), qui est la plus importante commission scolaire dans la région du Niagara. M. Hoshizaki est très conscient de l'impact que peuvent avoir les commotions, et ce, non seulement chez les athlètes professionnels, mais également chez les étudiants qui se blessent en pratiquant le sport qu'ils aiment. Sous la direction de Warren Hoshizaki, la CSDN a joué un rôle de premier plan dans l'élaboration de la politique et des procédures administratives de la commission scolaire en matière de commotions pour tenter ainsi d'éduquer les enseignants, les entraîneurs, les étudiants et les parents au sujet des commotions et des mécanismes permettant de les gérer. Il a également participé à l'initiative Écoles saines, un comité avec table de travail du gouvernement de l'Ontario sur les commotions.

Paul Hunter

Paul HunterPaul Hunter est gestionnaire de la formation des entraîneurs communautaires pour Rugby Canada. M. Hunter détient une maîtrise en sciences dans le domaine de l'entraînement axé sur la performance de l'Université de Stirling et un diplôme national supérieur en entraînement et en développement sportifs du Collège Telford d'Edinburgh. Il a assisté à la Conférence nationale sur le rugby à Toronto où des entraîneurs, des administrateurs et des chefs de file canadiens du rugby ont pu obtenir un aperçu de certaines tendances particulières dans ce domaine et établir des liens avec d'autres fanatiques du rugby. En mai 2016, Paul a assisté à la table ronde du ministre sur les commotions.

Susan Kitchen

Susan KitchenSusan Kitchen est directrice exécutive de la Coaches Association of Ontario. Elle siège présentement sur le comité consultatif d'ON joue - Le Plan de promotion du sport du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Elle est récemment devenue membre du conseil d'administration du Centre de règlement des différends sportifs du Canada, alors qu'elle a été nommée par le ministre fédéral du Sport. Avant d'arriver au sein de la Coaches Association of Ontario, elle a été vice-présidente du conseil d'administration de cette association. Susan Kitchen a joué un rôle actif dans le domaine de l'aviron pendant 30 ans. Elle a suivi la formation dans le cadre du Programme national de certification des entraîneurs (PNCE) en plus d'être une arbitre agréée de l'Association canadienne d'aviron amateur.

Jennifer Knox

Jennifer KnoxJennifer Knox est vice-présidente de l'Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA) et directrice adjointe de l'école secondaire au sein de la commission scolaire du district de Kawartha Pine Ridge. Jennifer Knox collabore avec des centaines d'enseignants-entraîneurs pour faire la promotion de l'éducation par le sport. La priorité première de l'OFSAA est de collaborer avec des bénévoles afin d'organiser 46 championnats provinciaux et cinq festivals à l'intention des athlètes étudiants. Ceux-ci offrent également des programmes et des services qui améliorent le sport scolaire dans la province, incluant des bourses, des prix, des programmes de perfectionnement des étudiants dans les domaines du leadership et à titre d'entraîneur, la sanction des tournois, ainsi que le financement dans le but d'appuyer les programmes scolaires pour les athlètes. L'OFSAA joue un rôle proactif en s'attaquant aux problèmes qui touchent les étudiants, les entraîneurs, les écoles et les communautés.

Eric Lindros

Eric LindrosEric Lindros est un ancien joueur de la LNH et membre de l'équipe nationale canadienne de hockey. Il a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée du hockey en 2016. Eric Lindros est un défenseur actif de la recherche, des soins et de la sensibilisation dans le domaine des commotions. Au cours de sa carrière, il a souffert de nombreuses commotions, qui s'élevaient au compte d'au moins huit au moment où il prit sa retraite. En 2007, Eric Lindros a remis la somme de 5 millions de dollars à la London Health Sciences Foundation, ce qui représentait à l'époque un des dons les plus importants jamais obtenus. Ce don lui fut inspiré du Dr Peter Fowler, cofondateur de la Fowler Kennedy Sport Medicine Clinic où Eric Lindros fut traité au cours de sa carrière dans la LNH. En 2016, il était président honoraire du symposium annuel See the Line - une initiative d'une durée de 10 ans qui vise à réunir des partenaires de calibre mondial dans les domaines des soins de santé et de la recherche dans le cadre d'une collaboration unique.

Louise Logan

Louise LoganLouise Logan était auparavant présidente et chef de la direction de Parachute Canada, un organisme de bienfaisance national visant à prévenir les blessures, qui représentent la principale cause de décès chez les Canadiens de 1 à 44 ans. Pendant 15 ans, Louise Logan s'est impliquée dans le domaine de la prévention des blessures et de la santé et sécurité au travail à l'échelle provinciale, nationale et internationale. Avant de joindre les rangs de Parachute, Mme Logan était présidente et chef de la direction de la Public Services Health and Safety Association, ainsi que directrice générale de la Politique et la réglementation chez WorkSafeBC.

Rosie MacLennan

Rosie MacLennanRosie MacLennan est une gymnaste olympique adepte de la trampoline. En 2016, elle est entrée dans l'histoire alors en devenant la première trampoliniste à remporter coup sur coup des médailles d'or olympiques au cours des jeux d'été de 2016 à Rio et de 2012 à Londres. Elle est aussi devenue la première athlète canadienne des jeux d'été ayant défendu avec succès un titre olympique et la première Canadienne à remporter deux médailles au cours d'un même événement des Jeux olympiques d'été. Depuis 1999, Rosie MacLennan a participé à des compétitions internationales à différents niveaux. Elle comprend les dangers des blessures à la tête, puisqu'elle a souffert de deux commotions au cours de sa carrière d'athlète de compétition.

Chris Markham

Chris MarkhamChris Markham est directeur exécutif et PDG de l'Association pour la santé et l'éducation physique de l'Ontario. Cette association gère les directives ontariennes en matière de sécurité, qui représentent la norme minimale régissant les pratiques de gestion des risques pour les commissions scolaires. Ces directives permettent aux enseignants, aux superviseurs des activités intramurales et aux entraîneurs de prioriser les pratiques sécuritaires lors de toutes les activités physiques afin de réduire ainsi le risque. Au cours des 30 dernières années, Markham s'est efforcé avec le personnel et des bénévoles de bâtir les connaissances, la capacité et la confiance des éducateurs, des directeurs d'école, des administrateurs de commissions scolaires, ainsi que des responsables de la santé publique et des dirigeants communautaires afin d'offrir des programmes de qualité en matière de santé et d'éducation physique partout dans la province.

Dre Rosana Salvaterra

Dr. Rosana SalvaterraLa Dre Rosana Salvaterra est médecin hygiéniste à l’unité de santé publique de Peterborough depuis 2008. Avant de venir à Peterborough, elle a travaillé à Toronto et à Stratford dans des postes semblables. La Dre Salvaterra est actuellement titulaire d'un poste académique à l'Université Queen's et a travaillé à la fois à l'international et dans les collectivités des Premières Nations au Canada. Dre Salvaterra a également été chroniqueuse en matière de santé pour le Toronto Star dans le passé, et a co-animé une émission quotidienne sur la santé à la télévision. En tant que médecin de famille, elle s'est spécialisée dans les soins aux immigrants, aux réfugiés et aux personnes infectées par le VIH. Elle pratique toujours la médecine clinique à la Clinique de santé sexuelle de l’unité de santé publique.

Gordon Stringer

Gordon StringerGordon Stringer est le père de Rowan Stringer, une jeune fille de 17 ans qui est décédée en mai 2013 après avoir subi trois commotions en moins d'une semaine alors qu'elle jouait au rugby au secondaire. Suite au décès de Rowan, Gordon Stringer et sa famille ont décidé de tout faire en leur pouvoir afin de raconter son histoire, éduquer les enfants, les athlètes, ainsi que tous les intervenants sportifs auprès des enfants et des jeunes. Leur but consiste à empêcher à l'avenir les blessures et les décès attribuables à des commotions. Le 25 novembre 2015, Lisa MacLeoad, députée provinciale de Nepean-Carleton, introduisait la loi Rowan devant l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario. Gordon et sa famille ont lancé une pétition en appui à la Loi Rowan sur un terrain de rugby en présence d'athlètes, d'entraîneurs, de professionnels de la médecine et de politiciens.

Dr. Charles Tator

Dr. Charles TatorLe Dr Charles Tator est professeur au département de chirurgie à l'Université de Toronto. Ses principaux intérêts sur le plan clinique concernent les traumatismes du système nerveux, dont tout particulièrement les commotions et les blessures au niveau de la moelle épinière. Sa recherche est axée principalement sur l'étude de la prévention des blessures et sur le rétablissement suite aux commotions et aux blessures de la moelle épinière. Le Dr Tator est devenu Associé du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada en 1969. Il a joint les rangs de l'équipe de neurochirurgie au Centre médical Sunnybrook en 1969 où il a occupé le poste de neurochirurgien en chef de 1974 à 1984. Il est ensuite passé au Toronto Western Hospital où il a occupé le poste de neurochirurgien en chef de 1985 à 1988. Il a été nommé président de la division de neurochirurgie à l'Université de Toronto pour un mandat de 10 ans ayant débuté en 1989.

Elisabeth White

Elisabeth WhiteElisabeth White est infirmière praticienne pour la division de neurochirurgie à l'hôpital pour enfants. Depuis 1995, elle a œuvré au sein de différents départements de cet hôpital, comme les maladies infectieuses, la pédiatrie générale, la médecine respiratoire, la médecine d'urgence, ainsi qu'à titre d'infirmière en réponse clinique. White a commencé à éduquer la population sur les lésions cérébrales traumatiques en 2014. Depuis ce temps, elle s'est adressée à des parents et des entraîneurs de différentes associations du hockey en Ontario sur l'importance de reconnaître les signes et de surveiller les commotions. Mme White est diplômée de l'Université de Toronto où elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences infirmières en 1995 et terminé sa maîtrise en sciences infirmières au Collège D'Youville en 2002, ainsi que le programme de post-maîtrise d'infirmière praticienne en soins de santé familiale en 2010.