Aboriginal communities Home arrow Recreation


Recreation is vital to the health and well-being of individuals, and strengthens communities by encouraging volunteer involvement and providing constructive activities for youth. The $4 billion that Ontarians spend annually on recreation, sport and fitness has a powerful impact on job creation and the economy.

To maximize these social and economic benefits, the ministry promotes participation in recreation at the community level. Funding is provided for programs to reach children and youth, increase physical activity and expand local sport opportunities. Workshops help communities reinforce their capabilities to meet the recreation needs of their residents.

At the provincial level, the ministry partners with provincial recreation organizations and encourages them to lower barriers to participation and increase their self-sufficiency. A key priority is to improve the quality of sport and recreation programs for children and youth.

Healthy Communities Fund Ontario Sport and Recreation Communities Fund

The Ontario Sport and Recreation Communities Fund provides funding to help organizations increase opportunities for participation in sport and recreation, improve physical literacy, and strengthen the community sport and recreation sector through training in areas such as coaching, youth development, and volunteer development.

Provincial Recreation OrganizationsProvincial Recreation Organizations

Provincial Recreation Organizations (PROs) are non-profit incorporated organizations with a mandate to provide recreation programs and/or leadership and skills training for the recreation sector.

Youth at RiskYouth at Risk

During 1994-95 a national study entitled "Impact and Benefits of Physical Activity and Recreation on Canadian Youth" examined the role that physical activity, recreation plays in the development of youth, and youth-related risk factors.

Ontario Trails  imageOntario Trails

A world-class system of trails that captures the uniqueness and beauty of Ontario’s vast open spaces and natural and built cultural/heritage resources.

Ontario Trails Strategy

The Ontario Trails Strategy is a long-term plan that establishes strategic directions for planning, managing, promoting and using trails in Ontario.

Aboriginal communities Accueil arrow Loisirs

Loisirs

Les loisirs constituent un élément essentiel à la santé et au bien-être des gens et renforcent les collectivités en encourageant la participation des bénévoles, et en mettant en place des activités constructives pour la jeunesse. Les 4 milliards de dollars dépensés annuellement pour les loisirs, les sports et la forme physique par les Ontariens ont un impact majeur sur la création d'emplois et l'économie.

Afin de maximiser ces retombées sociales et économiques, le Ministère encourage la participation aux loisirs à l'échelle communautaire. Les programmes bénéficient d'un financement afin de cibler les enfants et les jeunes, d'augmenter l'activité physique ainsi que le nombre d'activités sportives locales. Les ateliers aident les collectivités à renforcer leurs capacités afin de répondre aux besoins d'activités récréatives de leurs résidants.

À l'échelle provinciale, les ministères collaborent avec des organismes récréatifs et les encouragent à réduire les obstacles à la participation, et à augmenter leur autonomie. Une priorité essentielle est d'améliorer la qualité des programmes sportifs et récréatifs pour les enfants et les jeunes.


Fond ontarien d'action communautaire pour les sports et les loisirs

Healthy Communities Fund

Le fond ontarien d'action communautaire pour les sports et les loisirs offre du financement pour aider les organismes à accroître la participation à des sports et à des loisirs, aider les gens à acquérir un savoir-faire physique et renforcer le secteur des sports et des loisirs communautaires, en donnant une formation dans les domaines comme l'entraînement, le développement des jeunes et la formation des bénévole.


Jeunesse à risque

Youth at Risk

En 1994-1995, une étude nationale intitulée «Impact et avantages de l'activité physique et des loisirs sur les jeunes Canadiens» a examiné le rôle que l'activité physique, les activités récréatives jouent dans le développement de la jeunesse et les facteurs de risque liés à la jeunesse.


Sentiers de l'Ontario

Ontario Trails  image

Chaque année, des millions d’Ontariens et de visiteurs de l’extérieur de la province profitent du réseau de sentiers hors pair de la province. Toutes les régions possèdent des pistes et des sentiers accessibles à peu de frais, dont peuvent profiter les personnes de tout âge et de toute habileté, y compris les enfants, les jeunes, les personnes âgées et les personnes handicapées.

Les pistes et les sentiers procurent de nombreux avantages pour la santé, l’économie, l’environnement et le développement communautaire de l’Ontario.