Travel activities and motivations survey — Canadian travel market

Wildlife Viewing While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — October 16, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 30.7% (7,605,527) of adult Canadians went wildlife viewing while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Wildlife viewing was the second most common outdoor activity undertaken by Canadian Pleasure Travelers. Visiting a nature park (22.8%) was the most popular activity, followed by viewing land-based animals (10.4%), whales and other marine life (8.4%), wildflowers and flora (7.7%), birds (7.5%), and the Northern Lights (4.4%). Of those who went wildlife viewing, 35.3% (2,681,779) reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip. Wildlife viewing was the outdoor activity cited eighth most often as the main reason for taking a trip.

Relative to the average Canadian Pleasure Traveler, Wildlife Viewers are slightly more likely to be female (52.9%), 25 to 54 years of age and married with dependent children living at home. They are more likely to have a university education and their household income is close to the average Canadian Pleasure Traveler ($74,554). They are over-represented in the Western Provinces and especially in Alberta.

Wildlife Viewers frequently travel within Canada (97.9%) and were more likely than the average Canadian Pleasure Traveler to have taken trips to other provinces or regions in the past two years. They were especially more likely than average to have visited the western provinces, the northern territories and Prince Edward Island.

Wildlife Viewers were more likely to have participated in outdoor activities when on trips than the typical Canadian Pleasure Traveler and especially in nature-oriented activities (e.g., hiking, climbing and paddling; cycling; cross-country skiing and snowshoeing, wilderness activities). They were also more likely to have camped, stayed in the wilderness and to have taken wilderness tours in the last two years. Wildlife Viewers were also very active in culture and entertainment activities when traveling, and were particularly likely to have patronized educational attractions (e.g., historical sites, museums and galleries; science and technology exhibits; aboriginal cultural experiences). Relative to other Canadian Pleasure Travelers, Wildlife Viewers seek vacations that are intellectually stimulating, novel and memorable.

Wildlife Viewers were more likely than average to use the Internet to plan (69.2%) and book travel (44.9%). They are particularly likely to use official tourism information sources (e.g., brochures and guides, visitor information centres, websites) to plan trips. They can be most effectively targeted effectively through travel, nature and home-related media.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

L'observation de la faune chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Observation de la faune chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heure

Version en format pdf (anglais)

Rapport de recherche — Le 16 octobre 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 30,7 % (7 605 527) des Canadiens d’âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage d’une nuit ou plus ont observé la faune. L’observation de la faune vient au deuxième rang parmi les activités de plein air les plus communes auxquelles s’adonnent les touristes canadiens en voyage d’agrément. Ils étaient plus nombreux à visiter des réserves naturelles (22,8 %) qu’à observer des animaux terrestres (10,4 %), des baleines et la faune et la flore marines (8,4 %), des fleurs sauvages et autres plantes (7,7 %), des oiseaux (7,5 %), et les aurores boréales (4,4 %). Parmi les touristes qui ont observé la faune, 35,3 % (2 681 779) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage. L’observation de la faune venait en huitième place parmi les activités de plein air indiquées comme motif principal du voyage.

Comparativement au Canadien moyen en voyage d’agrément, les adeptes de l’observation de la faune sont légèrement plus susceptibles d’être des femmes (52,9 %) de 25 à 54 ans, mariées et avec des enfants à charge qui habitent au foyer. Les adeptes de l’observation de la faune sont plus susceptibles d'avoir fait des études universitaires et leur revenu de ménage est sensiblement identique à celui du Canadien moyen en voyage d’agrément (74 554 $). Ils sont surreprésentés dans les provinces de l'Ouest et tout particulièrement en Alberta.
Les adeptes de l’observation de la faune voyagent avant tout au Canada (97,9 %) et sont plus susceptibles que le Canadien moyen en voyage d’agrément d’avoir effectué des voyages dans d’autres provinces ou régions au cours des deux dernières années. Ils sont surtout plus susceptibles que la moyenne d’avoir visité les provinces de l'Ouest, les Territoires du Nord et l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Les adeptes de l’observation de la faune sont plus susceptibles que le Canadien moyen en voyage d’agrément d’avoir participé à des activités de plein air pendant leurs voyages, en particulier celles axées sur la nature (p. ex., randonnée pédestre, escalade et pagayage; cyclisme; ski de fond et raquette; activités en milieu sauvage). Ils sont également plus susceptibles d’avoir séjourné dans un camping ou en milieu sauvage et d’avoir fait des excursions en milieu sauvage au cours des deux dernières années. En outre, les adeptes de l’observation de la faune participent fréquemment à des activités culturelles et de divertissement pendant leurs voyages, et sont tout particulièrement susceptibles d’avoir fréquenté des attractions éducatives (p. ex., lieux historiques, musées et galeries d’art; expositions scientifiques et technologiques; expériences culturelles autochtones). Comparativement aux autres Canadiens en voyage d’agrément, les adeptes de l’observation de la faune recherchent des vacances d’un nouveau type, inoubliables et intellectuellement stimulantes.

Les adeptes de l'observation de la faune sont plus susceptibles que la moyenne de consulter Internet pour planifier leurs voyages (69,2 %) et pour faire leurs réservations (44,9 %). Ils sont tout particulièrement susceptibles d’utiliser des sources d’information touristique officielles (p. ex., brochures et guides, centres d'information touristique, sites Web) pour planifier leurs voyages. Les outils les plus efficaces pour toucher les adeptes de l’observation de la faune sont les médias axés sur les voyages, la nature et les activités domestiques