Travel Activities and Motivations Survey

Interest in Wine and Cuisine

Full report available in pdf format

A Market Segment Analysis Based on the Travel Activities and Motivations Survey (TAMS 2006)

The U.S. Market

July 2007
Executive summary

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

In 2004 and 2005, 125.7 million Americans participated in at least one type of activity associated with wine and cuisine while on an out-of-town overnight trip. This represents 71% of all adult American travellers. Pursuing activities associated with wine and cuisine was one of the most important travel experiences sought by American travellers while on trips. Of those wine and cuisine participants, 17% (or 21.7 million) reported that participating in such activities was a trip motivator (main reason) for taking at least one trip. Dining in restaurants offering local ingredients and recipes, going to local outdoor cafés, and visiting wineries for day visits and tasting were the most common types of wine and cuisine-related activities.

Fifteen types of wine and cuisine activities, as shown in the table below, were included in the analysis. Depending on the degree to which travellers engaged in the listed activities, this report grouped travellers into three segments: high interest, moderate interest, and low (or no) interest.

Wine and Cuisine-related Activities

  • Visited wineries for day visits and tasting
  • Visited breweries for day visits and tasting
  • Stayed at a wine tasting school
  • Stayed at a Country Inn with gourmet restaurant
  • Same-day tour to winery/wineries
  • Attended food/drink festivals
  • Participated in cooking/wine tasting courses
  • Aboriginal cuisine (tasted or sampled)
  • Dining - local ingredients and recipes
  • Dining - high-end international reputation
  • Dining - other high-end restaurants
  • Dining at a farm
  • Went to local outdoor cafes
  • Visited food processing plants
  • Stayed at a cooking school

33% (or 58.6 million) of American travellers were Wine and Cuisine Enthusiasts, exhibiting either moderate or high interest in wine and cuisine-associated activities while on trip in the past two years.

Wine and Cuisine Enthusiasts were more likely to be from cities with larger populations. They were more likely to live in District of Colombia, Alaska, California, New Jersey, and Connecticut than other American travellers, but less likely to live in Maine, West Virginia, Idaho, Wyoming, and South Dakota.

There were strong associations between interest in wine and cuisine and levels of education and household income. Better educated and more affluent couples, regardless of their age, were more likely to exhibit an interest in wine and cuisine associated activities.

Wine and Cuisine Enthusiasts were frequent travellers, taking an average of 4.1 trips in 2004 - 2005, versus 3.2 trips for other American travellers. They were more likely than other travellers to take vacations to destinations outside of the United States, including Canada and Ontario.

Similar to other travellers, Wine and Cuisine enthusiasts travelled to get a break from their day-to-day environment, to relax and relieve stress, and to create lasting memories. However, they were considerably more likely to seek out vacation experiences that would allow them to gain knowledge of history and different cultures, enrich their perspective on life, and stimulate their mind.

Wine and Cuisine Enthusiasts were very active while on trips during the past two years. They were considerably more likely than other American travellers to participate in a variety of outdoor, cultural and entertainment activities and experiences. They were particularly interested in ocean activities, wildlife viewing, team sports, extreme air sports and hiking and climbing. They were also more likely to have participated in or sought out activities related to fairs and festivals, historic sites, museums, and art galleries, aboriginal cultural experiences, professional sports, and theme parks and exhibits.

Relative to other travellers, Wine and Cuisine Enthusiasts had a higher tendency to consult a larger number of information sources when they were planning trips. Using the internet (86%), considering their own past experiences (63%), and taking advice from friends and relatives (55%) were the most popular information sources. They were also more likely to read the travel section of daily and weekend newspapers and to surf travel-related websites than other travellers.

Wine tasting Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Une analyse d'un segment du marché d'après l'Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages (EAPMV 2006)

Les amateurs de vin et de bonne cuisine

Version en format pdf

Août 2007
Sommaire

En 2004 et 2005, 125,7 millions d’Américains ont participé à au moins une activité liée à la gastronomie et aux vins pendant un voyage de plus de 24 heures, ce qui représente 71 % de tous les touristes américains d’âge adulte. Parmi les expériences que recherchent les touristes américains en voyage, les activités liées à la gastronomie et aux vins occupent une grande place.  Dix-sept pour cent (ou 21,7 millions) des amateurs de gastronomie et de vins ont indiqué que la participation à ce genre d’activités constituait la principale raison pour laquelle ils ont fait au moins un voyage.  Dîner dans des restaurants ayant à leur menu des spécialités locales, se détendre à la terrasse d’un café et visiter pendant une journée des vignobles et déguster des vins sont les activités les plus courantes liées à la gastronomie et aux vins.

Comme le montre le tableau ci-dessous, l’analyse comptait 15 types d’activités liées à la gastronomie et aux vins.  Le présent rapport classe les touristes américains en trois groupes, selon la fréquence à laquelle ils s’adonnent à ces activités, c’est-à-dire ceux montrant un vif intérêt, un intérêt moyen et un faible, voire aucun, intérêt.   

Activités liées à la gastronomie et aux vins 

Visites de vignobles et dégustation de vins

Cuisine autochtone (dégustation)
Visites de brasseries et dégustation Dîner dans des restaurants locaux
Séjour dans une école de dégustation de vins
Dîner dans des restaurants de renommée internationale
Séjour dans une auberge campagnarde ayant un restaurant gastronomique avec hébergement sur place Dîner dans d’autres restaurants de renommée

Visite d’une journée d’un ou de plusieurs vignobles
Dîner dans une ferme
Festivals culinaires
Visites d’usines alimentaires

Participation à des cours de dégustation (cuisine ou vins)

Séjour dans une école de cuisine

Parmi les touristes américains, 33 % (ou 58,6 millions) sont des amateurs de vin et de bonne cuisine, qui se sont vivement ou moyennement intéressés à des activités liées à la gastronomie et aux vins pendant un voyage au cours des deux dernières années. 
Les amateurs de vin et de bonne cuisine sont plus susceptibles d’habiter dans des grandes villes et dans le District de Colombia, en Alaska, en Californie, au New Jersey et au Connecticut que les autres touristes américains, mais moins susceptibles d’habiter au Maine, en Virginie occidentale, au Idaho, au Wyoming et au Dakota du Sud. 

Il existe un lien étroit entre l’intérêt porté à la gastronomie et aux vins et le niveau de scolarité et le revenu de ménage.  Les couples ayant un niveau de scolarité supérieur et qui sont aisés, indépendamment de leur âge, sont plus susceptibles de s’intéresser à la gastronomie et aux vins.  
Les amateurs de vin et de bonne cuisine voyagent fréquemment : ils ont fait en moyenne 4,1 voyages en 2004-2005 par rapport à 3,2 voyages chez les autres touristes américains. Ils sont plus susceptibles que les autres touristes de passer leurs vacances en dehors des États-Unis, y compris au Canada et en Ontario.

Comme les autres touristes, les amateurs de vin et de bonne cuisine voyagent pour se détendre, éliminer les contraintes de la vie quotidienne et revenir avec de beaux souvenirs. Toutefois, ils sont nettement plus susceptibles de rechercher des expériences touristiques qui élargissent leurs connaissances sur l’histoire et sur d’autres cultures, leur ouvrent de nouveaux horizons et les stimulent intellectuellement.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les amateurs de vin et de bonne cuisine ont été particulièrement actifs pendant leurs voyages.  Ils étaient nettement plus susceptibles que les autres touristes américains de participer à tout une gamme d’activités de plein air et culturelles et d’assister à des spectacles.  Leurs activités de prédilection sont les sports nautiques, l’observation de la faune, les sports d’équipe, les sports aériens extrêmes, la randonnée pédestre et l’escalade. Ils étaient aussi plus enclins à aimer les foires et festivals, les lieux historiques, les musées et les galeries d’art, la culture autochtone, les sports professionnels ainsi que les parcs et les expositions thématiques.

Par rapport aux autres touristes, les amateurs de vin et de bonne cuisine ont davantage tendance à consulter de nombreuses sources d’information quand ils planifient un voyage.  Parmi leurs sources d’information les plus courantes, citons internet (86 %), tenir compte de leurs expériences précédentes (63 %) et demander conseil à des amis ou à des parents (55 %).  Ils sont aussi plus susceptibles que les autres touristes de lire la rubrique touristique dans le journal quotidien ou dans l’édition du week-end et de naviguer sur des sites Web portant sur le tourisme.