Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. travel market

Visiting Science and Technology Exhibits While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — July 4, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 19.1% (42,267,186) of adult Americans visited a science and technology exhibit while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. An IMAX theatre (9.5%) and a science and technology museum (9.3%) were the most popular venues visited, followed by a children's museum (4.8%), a science and technology theme park (3.7%) and a planetarium (3.5%). 22.4% (9,479,158) of those visiting science and technology exhibits reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Relative to the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler, Science and Technology Exhibit Visitors are over-represented among 35 to 44 year olds who are married with dependent children (under 18) living at home. This suggests that these attractions may appeal most to those traveling with children. Their level of education (68.1% university degree or higher) and household incomes ($83,286) are above-average. They are well-represented across the United States and in communities of all sizes.
Over the past two years, Science and Technology Exhibit Visitors traveled more frequently than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and were more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (22.3% versus 14.6%). The most common Canadian destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec, however they are over-represented among U.S visitors to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Science and Technology Exhibit Visitors participated in an extensive range of activities when on trips. They were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to engage in all types of culture and entertainment activity (e.g., shopping & dining, historical sites, museums & art galleries, theme parks & exhibits), outdoor activities (e.g., wildlife viewing, ocean activities), and tours and cruises (e.g., sameday guided or self-guided tours, sightseeing cruises). They tended to stay at seaside resorts, public campgrounds, or lakeside or riverside resorts. This segment is more likely than others to take family-oriented trips and to seek vacation experiences that are novel and offer opportunities to learn. They are also interested in destinations that offer lots for children to see and do.

The Internet is a very important tool for this segment. Most used the Internet for planning (81.2%) and booking (60.9%) trips in the past two years. They are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to use the specific website of an attraction or an exhibit to obtain information and purchase tickets. They are avid consumers of travel-related media and can also be targeted through media with a science and nature theme (e.g., science & geography magazines).

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les amateurs d'expositions scientifiques et technologiques parmi chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 4 juillet 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 19,1 % (42 267 186) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont visité une exposition scientifique ou technologique. Les théâtres IMAX (9,5 %) et les musées des sciences et de la technologie (9,3 %) sont les plus populaires parmi ces touristes, suivis par les musées pour enfants (4,8 %), les parcs thématiques sur les sciences et la technologie (3,7 %) et les planétariums (3,5 %). Parmi les touristes qui ont visité des expositions scientifiques ou technologiques, 22,4 % (9 479158) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Par rapport à l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément, les amateurs d'expositions scientifiques et technologiques sont surreprésentés dans le groupe des 35- 44 ans qui sont mariés et ont des enfants à charge (moins de 18 ans) habitant au foyer, ce qui suggère que ces attractions plaisent sans doute à ceux qui voyagent avec des enfants.  Leur niveau de scolarité (68,1 % ont au moins un diplôme universitaire) et leur revenu de ménage (83 286 $) sont supérieurs à la moyenne. Ils sont surreprésentés dans tous les États-Unis et dans des villes de toute importance.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les amateurs d'expositions scientifiques et technologiques ont voyagé plus fréquemment que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et ils étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (22,3 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Leurs destinations canadiennes préférées sont l'Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec, bien qu'ils soient surreprésentés parmi les touristes américains dans toutes les provinces et territoires du Canada.

Les amateurs d'expositions scientifiques et technologiques s'adonnent à une vaste gamme d'activités pendant un voyage. Ils sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de participer à toutes sortes d'activités culturelles et de divertissements (p.ex., magasinage et sorties au restaurant, lieux historiques, musées et galeries d'art, parcs thématiques et expositions), activités de plein air (p.ex., observation de la faune, sports maritimes), et excursions et croisières (p.ex., excursions guidées et non guidées d'une journée, croisières touristiques). Ils ont tendance à séjourner dans des stations balnéaires, des campings publics, ou dans des centres de villégiature en bord de lac ou de rivière). Ces touristes sont plus susceptibles que d'autres à prendre des vacances axées sur la famille et à rechercher de nouvelles activités instructives. Ils s'intéressent également à des destinations qui offrent beaucoup de choses à voir et à faire aux enfants.

L'Internet est un outil très important parmi ces touristes. Au cours des deux dernières années, la plupart y ont eu recours pour planifier leur voyage (81,2 %) et réserver leurs voyages (60,9 %). Ils sont plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de consulter le site Web d'une exposition ou attraction pour se procurer des renseignements et acheter des billets d'entrée.  Avides consommateurs des médias touristiques, on peut aussi les cibler par le biais des médias axés sur les sciences et la  nature (p.ex., magazines sur les sciences et la géographie).