Travel Activities and Motivations Survey

Canadian Travelers to Saskatchewan

Full report available in pdf format

Canadian Travel Market

A Profile Report — February 5, 2008

Executive summary

Over the last two years, 7.6% of adult Canadians (1,840,502) took an overnight trip to the province of Saskatchewan. 64.4% (1,185,604) of these Saskatchewan trips were "pleasure trips". Among those who took a pleasure trip to Saskatchewan, 42.9% took two or more pleasure trips to the province during the last two years.

Those who visited Saskatchewan are most likely to live in Manitoba and Alberta. Those from Quebec were the least likely to have taken a trip to Saskatchewan.

Canadian Pleasure Travelers who visited Saskatchewan tend to be older and married without dependent children at home. They are less likely than average to have a university degree and report average household incomes. As such, Canadians who visited Saskatchewan tend to be over-represented among mature, middle-class couples.

Canadians who visited Saskatchewan are more active in outdoor activities than the average Canadian Pleasure Traveler. They were especially more likely to have participated in nature-oriented activities (e.g., hunting, fishing, hiking, climbing and paddling, wilderness activities) and to have played golf and other sports and games (e.g., tennis, board games) while traveling during the last two years. They were also more likely than others to have attended equestrian and western events, professional sporting events and fairs and festivals while on trips. They exhibit above-average interest in educational, participatory activities (e.g., participatory historical activities, aboriginal cultural experiences, agro-tourism) and were more likely than others to have visited educational exhibits (e.g., science and technology exhibits), to have gambled in a casino and to have participated in a wine, beer or food tasting during the last two years. Visitors to Saskatchewan most often stayed at public or private campgrounds. However, they were also more likely than average to have stayed in a wilderness area and to have toured using a motor home or RV.

Saskatchewan Visitors prefer vacations that create lasting memories, help keep family ties alive, provide opportunities to reconnect with family or friends or provide isolation and solitude. These findings suggest that most individuals currently visit Saskatchewan to enjoy its natural assets.

Saskatchewan Visitors are slightly above-average users of the Internet for planning (64.0%) and booking travel (42.2%). Their use of travel media is also only slightly above-average. They may be most effectively reached through country music radio, science and nature programs and magazines, sports programming and house and home websites and magazines.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique canadien

Le tourisme canadien en Saskatchewan

Version en format pdf (anglais)

Rapport de recherche — Le 5 février 2008

Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 7,6 % des Canadiens d’âge adulte (1 840 502) habitant une autre province ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures en Saskatchewan. Parmi ces voyages en Saskatchewan, 64,4 % (1 185 604) étaient des « voyages d’agrément ». Toujours pendant la même période, 42,9 % de ces touristes ont fait deux voyages ou plus en Saskatchewan.

Les Canadiens qui visitent la Saskatchewan sont plus susceptibles d’habiter au Manitoba et en Alberta. Les Québécois sont les moins susceptibles de faire un voyage en Saskatchewan.

Les Canadiens en voyage d’agrément qui visitent la Saskatchewan sont dans l’ensemble plus âgés, mariés et n’ont pas d’enfants à charge chez eux.  Ils sont moins susceptibles que la moyenne de détenir un diplôme universitaire et de disposer d’un revenu de ménage moyen. Par conséquent, les Canadiens qui visitent la Saskatchewan ont tendance à être à être surreprésentés chez les couples d’âge mûr de la classe moyenne.

Les Canadiens qui visitent la Saskatchewan s’adonnent à davantage d’activités de plein air que le Canadien moyen en voyage d’agrément. Ils sont particulièrement susceptibles d’avoir participé à des activités axées sur la nature (p.ex., chasse, pêche, randonnée pédestre, escalade et pagaie, activités en milieu sauvage), d’avoir joué au golf, à d’autres sports et à des jeux (p.ex., tennis, jeux de société) au cours des deux dernières années. Ils sont également plus enclins que d’autres à assister à des manifestations équestres et westerns, à des évènements sportifs professionnels, à des foires et des festivals. Ils s’intéressent plus que la moyenne aux activités éducatives à caractère participatif (p.ex., échanges historiques, expériences culturelles autochtones, agrotourisme) et sont plus susceptibles que d’autres d’avoir visité au cours des deux dernières années des expositions éducatives (p.ex., expositions scientifiques et techniques), joué au casino et participé à des dégustations de vins, de bières et de mets. Ils séjournent souvent dans des terrains de camping publics ou privés. Toutefois, ils sont plus enclins que la moyenne à séjourner dans des aires sauvages et de voyager à bord d’une autocaravane ou d’un véhicule de plaisance.

Les Canadiens qui visitent la Saskatchewan préfèrent des vacances dont ils rapportent des souvenirs mémorables, qui contribuent à resserrer les liens familiaux, donnent l’occasion de renouer avec des membres de la famille ou des amis ou offrent isolement et solitude. Selon ces résultats, il semble donc que la majorité des Canadiens qui visitent la Saskatchewan le font pour profiter de ses atouts naturels.

Les Canadiens qui visitent la Saskatchewan utilisent un plus que la moyenne Internet pour planifier un voyage (64,0 %) et faire des réservations (42,2 %). Par contre, ce sont des consommateurs à peine au-dessus de la moyenne des médias touristiques. On peut les cibler le mieux sur des stations de radio de radio de musique « country », des émissions et des magazines sur les sciences et la nature, des émissions sur les sports, ainsi que des sites Web et magazines sur la maison.