Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Sailing and Surfing While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — May 18, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 3.7% (8,119,822) of adult Americans participated in Sailing and Surfing activities while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Sailing (2.1%) was the most popular activity, followed by parasailing (1.5%), windsurfing (0.3%) and kite surfing (0.2%). 25.3% (2,053,023) of the Sailors and Surfers reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Sailors and Surfers are slightly more likely to be male, and tend to be 18 to 44 years of age, married and affluent. They are less likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have dependent children (under 18) living at home. Their levels of education (73.5% university degree) and household incomes ($100,646) are well above-average. They are over-represented in Alaska and the New England, Middle Atlantic and Pacific regions of the United States.

Over the past two years, Sailors and Surfers traveled much more frequently than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and they were much more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (25.8% versus 14.6%). The most common destinations were Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia, however, they were highly over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Sailors and Surfers were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have participated in a wide range of outdoor activities while on trip in the past two years. They were particularly more likely than average to participate in water-based outdoor activities (e.g., ocean activities, boating and swimming, scuba and snorkeling) and to have taken ocean cruises (e.g., Caribbean, Alaskan and other ocean cruises). Sailors and Surfers stayed at a seaside resort most often during the past two years, and they were much more likely than average to stay at a health spa while on a trip. In addition to their participation in outdoor activities, Sailors and Surfers were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to attend cultural attractions (e.g., high art performances, participatory historical activities) and sporting events (e.g. professional events, national and international events) while on trips. They consider it important that a vacation destination offers both learning opportunities and luxury.

Sailors and Surfers use the Internet extensively for researching, planning and booking their travel. They are avid consumers of travel-related media in all forms and they are especially likely to read travel magazines. They are much more likely than average to obtain travel information through travel agents, travel guidebooks (e.g., Fodor's) and electronic newsletters or magazines.

Prepared by Lang Research Inc. on behalf of:

Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation, Quebec Ministry of Tourism, Travel Manitoba, Canadian Tourism Commission, Tourism Saskatchewan, Atlantic Canada Tourism Partnership, Alberta Tourism, Parks, Recreation and Culture, Department of Canadian Heritage, Tourism British Columbia, Parks Canada Agency, Government of Yukon, Government of Northwest Territories.

Sailing Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

La voile et le surf chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 18 mai 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 3,7 % (8 119 822) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont fait de la voile et du surfing. La voile (2,1 %) était l'activité la plus populaire, suivie par la paravoile (1,5 %), la planche à voile (0,3 %) et le kite surf (0,2 %). Parmi les personnes s'adonnant à la voile et les surfistes, 25,3 % (2 053 023) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Les personnes s'adonnant à la voile et des surfistes sont légèrement plus susceptibles d'être des hommes, mariés, aisés et âgés de 18 à 44 ans. Ils sont moins susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir des enfants au foyer de moins de 18 ans. Leur niveau de scolarité  (73,5 % détiennent un diplôme universitaire) et leur revenu de ménage (100 646 $) sont nettement supérieurs à la moyenne. Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska et en Nouvelle-Angleterre, dans les États du littoral Pacifique et dans ceux de l'Atlantique centre.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les personnes s'adonnant à la voile et les surfistes ont voyagé beaucoup plus fréquemment que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et étaient beaucoup plus susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (25,8 % par rapport 14,6 %). Leurs destinations préférées sont l'Ontario, le Québec et la Colombie-Britannique, bien qu'ils soient surreprésentés parmi les touristes américains dans toutes les régions du Canada.

Les personnes s'adonnant à la voile et les surfistes sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de s'adonner à une vaste gamme d'activités de plein air pendant un voyage. Ils sont plus enclins, en particulier, que la moyenne des touristes à aimer d'autres activités sur l'eau (p.ex., sports maritimes, canotage et natation, plongée autonome ou plongée avec scuba) et d'avoir fait une croisière océanique (p.ex., Antilles, Alaska). Au cours des deux dernières années, la plupart des personnes s'adonnant à la voile et les surfistes ont séjourné dans une station balnéaire et étaient plus susceptibles que la moyenne des touristes d'être restés dans une station thermale. Par ailleurs, les personnes s'adonnant à la voile et les surfistes sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'aimer les activités culturelles, dont spectacles de musique classique et échanges historiques, ainsi que manifestations sportives (p.ex., évènements professionnels, nationaux et internationaux). Ils trouvent important qu'une destination de voyage offre à la fois des possibilités éducatives et le luxe. 

Les personnes s'adonnant à la voile et les surfistes consultent beaucoup Internet pour faire des recherches, planifier et faire des réservations. Ce sont d'avides consommateurs de tous les médias touristiques et sont très enclins à lire des magazines touristiques. Ils sont également beaucoup plus susceptibles que la moyenne des touristes de s'adresser à une agence de voyage, ou de lire des guides touristiques (p.ex., Fodor) et des bulletins ou magazines électroniques pour trouver des renseignements touristiques.