Travel Activities and Motivations Survey — Canadian Travel Market

Out-of-Province Travel by Residents of Ontario

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — January 24, 2008
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 70.2% (6,791,709) of adult, Ontario residents took an out-of-province, overnight trip (for any purpose). Of these, 89.6% (6,084,935) report taking a pleasure trip outside of Ontario. Ontario residents were less likely to travel outside of the province than were the residents of Canada's western provinces, but more likely than the residents of Quebec and the Atlantic Region. 52.0% of the out-of-province pleasure trips taken by Ontario residents were to other Canadian destinations, while 72.3% of the out-of-province pleasure trips were to destinations outside of Canada.

83.3% of those who took a trip outside of Ontario also took a trip within the province during the last two years. In terms of out-of-province Canadian travel, 45.9% took an out-of-province trip to an adjacent province with Quebec (41.8%) by far the most common destination. 32.0% took a trip to a non-adjacent province or region. In terms of out-of-country travel, Ontario residents were most likely to have taken trips to the United States (68.9%). However, 24.1% took a trip to the Caribbean, 28.4% took a trip to an overseas destination and 14.5% took a trip to Mexico during the last two years.

Ontario residents who took an out-of-province pleasure trip are similar to those who only took pleasure trips within the province in terms of gender, age and marital status. However, out-of-province pleasure travelers are more likely to have a university degree and report higher average household incomes.

Ontario residents who took a trip outside of the province are very active in culture and entertainment pursuits while on trips. Relative to Ontario residents who only traveled within the province, out-of-province travelers were especially likely to have attended live art performances (e.g., high art performances, live theatre, musical concerts), literary and film festivals and sporting events (e.g., professional sporting events). In terms of outdoor activities, out-of-province travelers were more likely to have gone downhill skiing, golfing, exercising, jogging and cycling while on trips. By contrast, those who only took pleasure trips within the province were more likely to participate in nature-oriented activities such as fishing, hunting, boating and swimming while on trips. Out-of-province travelers prefer vacations that provide intellectual stimulation, learning opportunities, novelty and physical challenge. Those who travel exclusively within Ontario prefer vacations that offer solitude and an opportunity to enhance family relationships.

Ontario residents who travel outside of the province are above-average users of the Internet to plan and book travel than those who only travel within Ontario. Out-of-province travelers are also above-average consumers of travel media. They may also be effectively reached through city lifestyle magazines, business, finance and investing magazines, news media and multicultural and classical music radio stations.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique canadien

Voyages à l'extérieur de la province effectués par les résidents de l'Ontario

Version en format pdf (anglais)

Rapport de recherche — Le 24 janvier 2008
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 70,2 % (6 791 709) des résidents adultes de l'Ontario ont effectué un voyage de plus de 24 heures en dehors de la province (quel qu'en soit le motif). Parmi eux, 89,6 % (6 084 935) déclarent avoir fait un voyage d'agrément hors des frontières ontariennes. Les Ontariens ont moins tendance à avoir quitté leur province que les habitants des territoires de l'Ouest du Canada, mais plus que les Québécois et les résidents de la Région atlantique. Concernant les voyages d'agrément à l'extérieur de l'Ontario, 52,0 % se font vers d'autres destinations canadiennes, tandis que 73,3 % se font à l'étranger.

Parmi ceux qui ont voyagé à l'extérieur de l'Ontario, 83,3 % se sont également déplacés dans la province pendant les deux dernières années. En termes de voyages vers d'autres destinations canadiennes, 45,9 % ont choisi une province adjacente, le Québec (41,8 %) étant de loin la plus fréquemment sélectionnée. Trente-deux pour cent ont quant à eux fait le choix de se rendre dans une province ou une région plus éloignée. En ce qui concerne les voyages hors du pays, il y a de fortes chances que les résidents ontariens aient voyagé aux États-Unis (68,9 %). Cependant, 24,1 % d'entre eux ont privilégié les Caraïbes, 28,4 % ont choisi une destination outre-mer, et 14,5 % sont allés au Mexique durant ladite période.

Les Ontariens qui ont effectué un voyage d'agrément hors de la province sont similaires à ceux qui ont voyagé en Ontario, en termes de sexe, d'âge et de situation conjugale. Pourtant, ceux qui se sont aventurés en dehors de l'Ontario sont plus susceptibles de détenir un diplôme universitaire et d'avoir un revenu de ménage moyen supérieur.

Les résidents ontariens qui ont voyagé en dehors de la province recherchent surtout des activités culturelles et de divertissement. En comparaison de leurs compatriotes qui préfèrent voyager en Ontario, ils sont particulièrement enclins à assister à des représentations artistiques (p. ex., arts du spectacle, théâtre, concerts), des festivals cinématographiques et des événements sportifs (p. ex., sport professionnel). Concernant les activités de plein air, ils sont plus susceptibles de pratiquer le ski alpin, le golf, l'exercice physique, la course à pied et le cyclisme lors de leurs séjours. En revanche, ceux qui ont effectué leur voyage d'agrément au sein de la province ont plus tendance à s'adonner aux loisirs leur permettant de se rapprocher de la nature comme la pêche, la chasse, le canoë ou la natation. Les premiers privilégient les vacances intellectuellement stimulantes leur fournissant des occasions de s'instruire et de découvrir des nouveautés. Les seconds préfèrent les vacances en solitaires, leur permettant de cultiver leurs liens familiaux.

Les Ontariens qui voyagent en dehors de la province utilisent davantage Internet pour planifier leurs séjours et faire leurs réservations que leurs concitoyens ayant décidé de voyager en Ontario. Ils sont également de plus gros consommateurs des médias du voyage. Ils sont aussi susceptibles d'être joints par le biais des magazines sur les modes de vie urbains, les affaires, la finance et les investissements, des médias de l'information, et des stations de radio diffusant de la musique multiethnique ou classique.