Travel Activities and Motivations Survey

Canadian Travelers to Ontario

Full report available in pdf format

Canadian Travel Market

A Profile Report — January 24, 2008

Executive summary

Over the last two years, 27.0% of adult Canadians (4,076,814) took an overnight trip to Ontario from another province. 72.8% (2,942,654) of those who took a trip to Ontario report taking a “pleasure trip” to the province. Overall, 26.1% of the Canadian Pleasure Travelers from other provinces reported taking at least one pleasure trip to Ontario during the past two years. Ontario was the most frequently visited Canadian destination by Canadian Pleasure Travelers who visited another province in Canada.

Those who took a pleasure trip to Ontario are most likely to live in Manitoba, Quebec and the Atlantic Region. Those from Saskatchewan were the least likely to have taken a pleasure trip to Ontario during the last two years.

Canadian Pleasure Travelers who visited Ontario are slightly over-represented among those 55 and older. They are also more likely to have a university degree (37.4%) and report above-average household incomes ($74,104).

Canadians who visited Ontario from another province are more active than other Canadian Pleasure Travelers in culture and entertainment pursuits while on trips. Relative to other Canadian Pleasure Travelers, they were more likely to have attended a literary or film festival and live art performances (e.g., high art performance, live theatre, musical concerts), to have gambled in a casino and to have taken part in a wine, beer or food tasting while on trips. They are also quite active in outdoor activities while they travel and were especially likely to have exercised, jogged or cycled and to have gone skiing (e.g., cross-country skiing, downhill skiing) during the past two years. 

Canadians who visited Ontario prefer vacations that provide intellectual stimulation, learning opportunities (e.g., learn about the history and culture of the destination, to enrich one’s perspective on life), novelty and an opportunity to renew connections with friends. This suggests that Ontario should market itself as a place with novel and intellectually stimulating activities and attractions.

Canadians who took a trip to Ontario are somewhat above-average users of the Internet to plan (66.4%) and book travel (45.2%). They are also somewhat above-average consumers of travel media. They may be most effectively reached through news programming (e.g., news magazine, all news radio stations, news websites). They may also be targeted through business, finance and investing magazines, city lifestyle magazines and intellectual television programming (e.g., history, biography). They are more likely than others to listen to radio stations that feature jazz / big band music and classical music.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages

Canadian Travelers to Manitoba

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — January 24, 2008

Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 27,0 % des Canadiens d'âge adulte (4 076 814) habitant une autre province ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures en Ontario. Parmi ces voyages en Ontario, 72,8 % (2 942 654) étaient des « voyages d'agrément ». Au total et toujours pendant la même période, 26,1 % d'entre eux ont fait deux voyages d'agrément ou plus en Ontario. L'Ontario a été la province canadienne la plus fréquemment visitée par les Canadiens en voyage d'agrément habitant une autre province du pays.

Les Canadiens en voyage d'agrément qui visitent l'Ontario sont plus susceptibles d'habiter au Manitoba, au Québec et dans la région de l'Atlantique. Les Saskatois sont les moins susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage d'agrément en Ontario au cours des deux dernières années.

Les Canadiens en voyage d'agrément qui visitent l'Ontario sont légèrement surreprésentés dans le groupe des plus de 55 ans. Ils sont aussi plus susceptibles de détenir un diplôme universitaire (37,4 %) et de disposer d'un revenu de ménage supérieur à la moyenne (74 104 $).

Les Canadiens habitant une autre province qui visitent l'Ontario sont plus enclins que les autres Canadiens en voyage d'agrément à rechercher des activités culturelles et des spectacles. Par rapport à d'autres Canadiens en voyage d'agrément, ils sont plus portés à assister à un festival de littérature ou de films et à des spectacles sur scène (p.ex., spectacles sur scène, théâtre, concerts de musique), de jouer au casino et de participer à des dégustations de vins, de bières et de mets. De plus, au cours des deux années écoulées, ils ont beaucoup participé à des activités de plein air, dont conditionnement physique, jogging ou cyclisme, et ont fait du ski (p.ex., ski de fond, ski alpin).

Les Canadiens qui visitent l'Ontario préfèrent des vacances qui les stimulent intellectuellement et leur offrent des possibilités de s'instruire (p.ex., histoire et culture de la destination, enrichissement de leur optique de la vie), de la nouveauté et la chance de renouer des liens avec des amis, ce qui laisse à penser que l'Ontario devrait vanter sur le marché ses activités et attractions inédites et intellectuellement stimulantes.

Les Canadiens qui visitent l'Ontario utilisent un plus que la moyenne Internet pour planifier un voyage (66,4 %) et faire des réservations (45,2 %). Ils aiment aussi plus que la moyenne les médias touristiques. On peut les cibler très efficacement dans les médias d'actualité (p.ex., magazines, stations de radio, sites Web). On peut les cibler dans des magazines sur les affaires, la finance et la Bourse, des magazines sur le mode de vie urbain et des émissions de télévision intellectuelles (p.ex., histoire, biographies). Ils sont plus susceptibles que d'autres à écouter des stations de radio de jazz / big band music et de musique classique.