Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Ocean Activities While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — May 18 , 2007
Executive summary

Ocean Activities represent the most popular type of outdoor activity pursued on trips by U.S. Pleasure Travelers. Over the past two years, almost one-third of adult Americans (30.4% or 67,469,472) participated in an Ocean Activity while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Sunbathing or sitting on a beach (22.3%) and swimming in the ocean (21.1%) were the most popular activities. Ocean snorkeling (8.1%) and ocean kayaking or canoeing (1.8%) were less popular. Ocean Activities were considered the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years by 42.3% (28,541,974) of those who participated in these activities.

Those who participated in Ocean Activities while on trips are slightly more likely to be female than male. The majority are 18 to 44 years of age, married, and they are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have children under 18 living at home. This segment is relatively affluent with above-average levels of education and household incomes. They are over-represented in Alaska and the New England, Middle Atlantic and South Atlantic regions of the United States.

Those who participated in Ocean Activities on trips traveled more frequently than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler, however, they were only slightly more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (17.4% versus 14.6%) with Ontario as the most common destination. They were somewhat over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to the eastern provinces (e.g., Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, PEI, New Brunswick).

Those who participated in Ocean Activities while on trips were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to participate in a full range of other outdoor activities on trips and especially water-related activities (e.g., sailing and surfing, scuba diving). The stayed at a seaside resort most often in the past two years and they were also more likely than average to have stayed at a health spa and to have taken a Caribbean cruise. Their culture and entertainment pursuits highlight family-oriented activities (e.g., historical sites, theme parks and exhibits, fairs and festivals). Those who participated in Ocean Activities while on trips use vacations to relax and get a break from their day-to-day environment. They are more likely to consider it important that a destination has mid-ranged cost accommodation, Internet information and direct access by air.

The Internet is an important resource for researching, planning and booking travel for those who participated in Ocean Activities on a trip. They are also more likely than average to use a travel agent and guidebooks (e.g., Fodor's). This segment can be targeted most effectively through travel-related media (e.g., newspapers, websites, magazines, TV) and specialty magazines (e.g., fashion and beauty, city lifestyle).

Scuba diving Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Activités maritimes chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 18 mai 2007
Sommaire

Les activités maritimes représentent les activités de plein air les plus populaires chez les Américains en voyage d'agrément. Au cours des deux dernières années, presque un tiers des Américains d'âge adulte (30,4 % ou 67 469 472) qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, s'est adonné à une activité maritime. Se faire bronzer et se détendre sur la plage (22,3 %) et nager dans l'océan (21,1 %) étaient les activités les plus populaires. Le snorkeling (8,1 %) et le canoë-kayak (1,8 %) dans l'océan étaient moins populaires. Parmi les personnes s'adonnant à des activités maritimes, 42,3 % (28 541 974) ont indiqué que ces activités étaient la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Les touristes qui participent à des activités maritimes en voyage sont légèrement plus susceptibles d'être des femmes que des hommes. La majorité est mariée, âgée de 18 à 44 ans et plus susceptible que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir des enfants au foyer de moins de 18 ans. Ce segment est assez aisé, leur revenu de ménage et leur niveau de scolarité se situant au-dessus de la moyenne. Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska et en Nouvelle-Angleterre,  ainsi que dans les États de l'Atlantique centre et sud.

Si les touristes qui participent à des activités maritimes voyagent davantage que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément, ils ne sont guère plus susceptibles que ce dernier d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (17,4 % par rapport à 14,6 %), l'Ontario restant leur destination préférée. Ils sont quelque peu surreprésentés parmi les Américains moyens en voyage d'agrément dans les provinces de l'Est (p.ex., Terre-Neuve et Labrador, Nouvelle-Écosse, PÉÎ, Nouveau-Brunswick).

Les touristes qui participent à des activités maritimes en voyage sont plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de s'adonner à une vaste gamme d'activités de plein air pendant un voyage, en particulier des sports aquatiques (p.ex., voile et surf, plongée autonome). Au cours des deux dernières années, ces touristes ont séjourné dans une station balnéaire plus fréquemment et étaient plus susceptibles que la moyenne des touristes d'être restés dans une station thermale ou d'avoir fait une croisière aux Antilles. Leurs activités culturelles et les spectacles qu'ils choisissent sont adaptés à toute la famille (p.ex., sites historiques, parcs thématiques et expositions, foires et festivals). Les touristes qui participent à des activités maritimes en voyage recherchent à se détendre et à rompre la routine quotidienne pendant leurs vacances. Ils sont plus susceptibles de choisir une destination où ils peuvent se loger à un prix moyen, sur laquelle ils peuvent trouver des renseignements sur Internet et accessible par avion.

Les touristes qui participent à des activités maritimes en voyage consultent beaucoup Internet pour faire des recherches, planifier un voyage et faire des réservations. Ils sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que la moyenne des touristes de s'adresser à une agence de voyage, ou de lire des guides touristiques (p.ex., Fodor). Les moyens les plus efficaces pour atteindre de segment sont les médias touristiques (p.ex., journaux, sites Web, magazines, télévision) et les revues spécialisées (p.ex., mode & beauté, vie citadine).