Travel Activities and Motivations Survey

U.S. Travellers who visited Northern Ontario — A Profile for Marketing Implications

Full report available in pdf format

February 2007

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

A PROFILE OF AMERICAN TRAVELLERS WHO VISITED NORTHERN ONTARIO:

  • More active than other American travellers
  • Seek undiscovered and less built up destinations
  • More sensitive to costs than other American travellers
  • Value accessibility by car more than other modes of transportation
  • Are not traveling to be pampered or stay in luxury accommodation
  • Have higher incomes compared to other American travellers
  • Are older couples (average age 48.3) without young children
  • A majority uses past experience as an important source of information for planning their trips
  • Are more educated than other American travellers
  • A majority of them make their travel decisions over the Internet (accommodation, air tickets and car rentals)

PRODUCT IMPLICATIONS:

Move away from family-orientation

  • Product development could move away from being family-oriented to being specifically designed for adults. 49.2% of US travellers to Northern Ontario indicated that "having lots of things for adults to see and do" was highly important in their considerations for a travel destination, while 58.6% indicated that "having lots of things for children to see and do" was of no importance. In addition, only 27.3% lived with children under 17.

Camping as a popular activity

  • Camping is seen to be of significant interest for US travellers who have visited Northern Ontario. In fact, 34% of them have participated in camping activities while on overnight trips compared to only 17% of other US travellers. Supporting this is the fact that 53.3% of US travellers to Northern Ontario indicated that luxury accommodation was of no importance in their travel making decisions and only 11.1% indicated that it was highly important.

A niche market for nature-based activities

  • Although dining at restaurants that offer local ingredients and shopping at clothing, shoe and jewellery shops are activities that are common to most US travellers to Northern Ontario, they are also common to most US travellers in general. Of the most frequently mentioned activities by travellers who had visited Northern Ontario, there are a number which relate to the natural environment (fresh water fishing, camping, visiting well known natural wonders and visiting national or provincial/state nature parks).
  • There were also a number of specialized nature-based activities (mainly fresh water fishing, viewing flora and fauna, hunting and visiting nature parks) that were listed as main reasons for taking a trip.
  • There exists an opportunity to capitalize on the existence of specialized outdoor activities in the North.
  • The remoteness of the North is also an influential factor as 40% of US visitors to Northern Ontario indicated that they prefer to visit undiscovered places before too many hotels and restaurants are built, compared to 26.1% of all other US travellers.
  • However, given the importance of activities such as shopping and dining, there is a need to emphasize that these activities are available alongside of the specialized, nature-based activities.

FACTORS PREDICTING TRAVEL:

  • Northern Ontario's primary travel market includes US residents residing in the Near Market within 300 km of the Ontario Border. Although the long-haul market (Tier 3 and Tier 4) generated most of the US travellers visiting Northern Ontario (primarily because of its population size), it had a much lower incidence of Northern Ontario visitation when compared to the Near Market.
  • Proximity to Ontario (Tier 1 and 2) is a factor in predicting travel to North Ontario by Americans. Age and participation in fresh water fishing also influenced the probability of traveling to Northern Ontario, but when compared to distance these factors (age and fresh water fishing) are somewhat less important.
  • The long-haul regions (Tier 3 and 4) also had a higher percentage of travellers visiting other provinces in Canada. However, travellers in the near market (Tier1 and 2) had a higher incidence of visiting Ontario than other provinces in Canada.

OPPORTUNITIES FOR GROWTH:

  • For the long-haul market, 2 states and 2 major urban areas emerged as potential visitor markets for Northern Ontario:
    • California and in particular Los Angeles
    • Texas and in particular Huston and
    • For the near markets, Illinois, and in particular Chicago emerged as a potential visitor market for Northern Ontario.
  • These areas had the highest incidence of Americans who did not visit Ontario, rated it highly and indicated that at least 1 of Northern Ontario's intrinsic activities was main reason for taking a trip in the past 2 years.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages

Les touristes américains qui visitent le nord de l'Ontario — Un profil expliquant les conséquences en matière de marketing

Version en format pdf

Sommaire —Février 2007

PROFIL DES TOURISTES AMÉRICAINS QUI VISITENT LE NORD DE L'ONTARIO :

  • Plus actifs que les autres touristes américains
  • Recherchent des destinations mal explorées et moins bâties
  • Se préoccupent davantage du coût que les autres touristes américains
  • Accordent plus l'importance à l'accès en voiture qu'à l'accès par tout autre moyen de locomotion
  • Ne voyagent pas pour se faire « chouchouter » ou descendre dans des hôtels de luxe
  • Ont un revenu supérieur à celui des autres touristes américains
  • Se composent de couples d'âge mûr (en moyenne 48,3 ans) sans jeunes enfants
  • Une majorité s'appuie sur ses expériences touristiques antérieures pour planifier un voyage
  • Leur niveau de scolarité est plus élevé que celui des autres touristes américains
  • Une majorité planifie un voyage sur Internet (hébergement, billets d'avion
    et location de voiture)

CONSÉQUENCES EN CE QUI CONCERNE LES PRODUITS :

S'éloigner des produits axés sur la famille

  • On pourrait développer des produits spécifiquement destinés aux adultes et laisser de côté ceux axés sur la famille.  Parmi les touristes américains qui ont visité le nord de l'Ontario, 49,2 % ont indiqué que le choix de leur destination de voyage reposait beaucoup sur le fait qu'il y ait « beaucoup de choses à faire et à voir pour les adultes », tandis que pour 58,6 % d'entre eux ont affirmé que le fait qu'il y ait « beaucoup de choses à voir et à faire pour les enfants » n'était d'aucune importance. De plus, seuls 27,3 %  d'entre eux habitaient avec des enfants âgés de moins de 17 ans.

Le camping, une activité populaire

  • Le camping semble intéresser beaucoup les touristes américains qui ont visité le nord de l'Ontario. En fait, 34 % d'entre eux ont participé à des activités organisées dans des terrains de camping par rapport à seulement 17 % des autres touristes américains. Ces chiffres sont corroborés par le fait que 53,3 % des touristes américains qui ont visité le nord de l'Ontario ont indiqué qu'ils n'attachaient aucune importance au luxe de l'hébergement lors de la planification d'un voyage, par rapport à seulement 11,1 % qui ont déclaré que cet aspect était extrêmement important pour eux.

Un créneau pour les activités axées sur la nature

  • Si la plupart des touristes américains qui visitent le nord de l'Ontario fréquentent des restaurants ayant au menu des mets du terroir et magasinent (boutiques de vêtements, de chaussures et de bijoux), la majorité de tous les touristes américains le font également. Parmi les activités le plus fréquemment mentionnées par les touristes qui ont visité le nord de l'Ontario, un certain nombre se déroulent dans la nature (pêche en eau douce, camping, visites de merveilles de la nature réputées ainsi que de parcs-nature nationaux ou provinciaux).
  • Parmi les principales raisons évoquées pour faire un voyage, il y avait aussi un certain nombre d'activités spéciales axées sur la nature (principalement la pêche en eau douce, l'observation de la faune et de la flore, la chasse et la visite de parcs-nature).
  • Dans le nord, il est possible de tirer profit de l'existence d'activités de plein air spéciales.
  • L'éloignement du nord est également un facteur déterminant puisque 40 % des touristes américains à destination du nord de l'Ontario ont indiqué leur préférence pour des endroits peu explorés qui ne sont pas encore envahis par des hôtels et des restaurants, par rapport à 26,1 % de tous les autres touristes américains.
  • Toutefois, compte tenu de l'importance d'activités comme le magasinage ou les sorties au restaurant, il faut indiquer clairement que ces possibilités existent conjointement aux activités spéciales axées sur la nature.

LES FACTEURS DE PRÉVISION  :

Le principal marché touristique du nord de l'Ontario comprend les résidents américains qui habitent dans un rayon de 300 kilomètres de la frontière de l'Ontario (marché de proximité).  Si le marché de tourisme de longue destination (Catégories 3 et 4) comprend la majorité des touristes américains qui visitent le nord de l'Ontario (en raison surtout de sa population), son effet sur le tourisme dans le nord de l'Ontario est beaucoup plus faible que celui du marché de proximité.

  • La proximité de l'Ontario (Catégories 1 et 2) joue un rôle pour prévoir quel sera le tourisme américain dans le nord de l'Ontario. L'âge et la pêche en eau douce exercent également une influence sur les prévisions touristiques dans le  nord de l'Ontario, mais, si on compare ces facteurs à la distance, ils jouent un rôle moindre.
  • Les destinations éloignées (Catégories 3 et 4) comptent aussi un pourcentage élevé de touristes qui visitent d'autres provinces canadiennes. Toutefois, les touristes du marché de proximité (Catégories 1 et 2) sont plus susceptibles de visiter l'Ontario que les autres provinces du Canada.

LES POSSIBILITÉS DE CROISSANCE :

  • Sur le marché de tourisme de longue destination, deux États et deux grandes villes ont distancé les autres comme marchés touristiques possibles pour le nord de l'Ontario :
    • la Californie, en particulier Los Angeles
    • le Texas, en particulier Houston
    • En ce qui concerne le marché de proximité, l'Illinois, en particulier Chicago, est en tête des marchés touristiques possibles pour le nord de l'Ontario.
  • Ces régions comptaient le plus grand nombre d'Américains qui n'avaient pas visité l'Ontario, qui lui accordaient une cote élevé et indiquaient qu'Ils avaient fait un voyage dans nord de l'Ontario au cours des deux dernières années en raison d'au moins l'une de ses activités typiques.