Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. Travel Market

Motorcycling While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — June 27 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 2.4% (5,213,401) of adult Americans went motorcycling while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Motorcycling was more popular as a sameday excursion (2.1%) than as an overnight touring trip (1.1%). The majority of Motorcyclists (55.8% or 2,909,875) reported that motorcycling was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Motorcyclists are typically males between 35 and 54 years of age. Most are married and they are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have dependent children (under 18) living at home. Motorcyclists are more likely than average to have a trade or technical education and their household incomes ($81,482) are somewhat above-average. They are over-represented in Alaska and the Mountain, New England, West North Central, Pacific and East South Central regions of the United States.

Over the past two years, Motorcyclists traveled more frequently than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and they were slightly more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (17.5% versus 14.6%). The most common Canadian destinations for Motorcyclists were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec, but they were especially over-represented among U.S. Pleasure Travelers to Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Newfoundland and Labrador.

Motorcyclists were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to engage in a wide range of outdoor activities while on trips in the past two years. They were especially more likely than average to go snowmobiling and ATVing when on trips and to participate in other wilderness-oriented activities such as hiking, climbing and paddling, sportsmen activities (e.g., fishing, hunting) and extreme sports (e.g., extreme air sports, extreme skiing). Their avid interest in the outdoors was also apparent in their preference for outdoor culture and entertainment activities (e.g., equestrian and western events) and nature-based accommodations (e.g., public campground, wilderness campsite or lodge, motor home or RV). Motorcyclists were also more likely than average to take tours and cruises when on trips and especially sameday excursions and scenic countryside drives. Motorcyclists were also more likely than average to take exotic cruises such as a Great Lakes cruise or a submarine cruise.

Most Motorcyclists use the Internet for trip planning (76.9%), and one-half have booked at least part of a trip online (52.5%) in the past two years. They are much more likely than average to obtain travel information from trade, travel and sports shows. This segment can be targeted most effectively through auto and motorcycle magazines, as well as magazines and television programs on travel, outdoor activity, and science and nature.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Le motocyclisme chez chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 27 juin 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 2,4 % (5 213 401) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont fait du motocyclisme. Les excursions en moto d'une journée (2,1 %) sont plus populaires que celles de plus de 24 heures (1,1 %). La majorité des motocyclistes (55,8 % ou 2 909 875) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Dans l'ensemble, les motocyclistes sont des hommes âgés de 35 à 54 ans qui sont mariés. Ils sont plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir des enfants à charge (moins de 18 ans) qui habitent au foyer. Les motocyclistes sont plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen d'avoir un diplôme professionnel ou technique et leur revenu de ménage (81 482 $) est un peu supérieur à la moyenne. Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska et dans les régions montagneuses, en Nouvelle-Angleterre, dans les régions du Centre nord-ouest, du Pacifique et du Centre sud-est des États-Unis.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les motocyclistes ont voyagé plus fréquemment que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et ils étaient quelque peu plus susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (17,5 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Leurs destinations canadiennes préférées sont l'Ontario, le Québec et la Colombie-Britannique, mais ils sont en particulier surreprésentés parmi les Américains moyens en voyage d'agrément au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan et à Terre-Neuve et Labrador.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les motocyclistes ont été beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de s'adonner à une vaste gamme d'activités de plein air pendant un voyage. Ils ont été surtout enclins à faire de la motoneige et du VTT et à participer à d'autres activités en pleine nature, comme la randonnée, l'escalade et la rame, la pêche et la chasse, et à faire des sports extrêmes (p.ex., sports aériens extrêmes, ski extrême). Leur vif intérêt dans les loisirs de plein air se retrouvent aussi dans leur préférence pour les activités culturelles et les divertissements en plein air (p.ex., manifestations équestres et western) et les lieux d'hébergement en pleine nature (p.ex., campings publics, camping ou gîte sauvage, autocaravane ou véhicule de plaisance). Les motocyclistes en voyage sont aussi plus susceptibles que la moyenne des touristes américains de faire des excursions et des croisières, en particulier des excursions d'une journée et des randonnées sur des routes  panoramiques. Ils sont également plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de faire des croisières exotiques, sur les Grands Lacs ou en sous-marin par exemple.

Au cours des deux dernières années, la plupart des motocyclistes ont eu recours à Internet pour planifier leur voyage (76,9 %) et la moitié d'entre eux ont réservé au moins une partie de leur voyage en ligne (52,5 %). Ils sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de se procurer des renseignements touristiques dans des salons professionnels, touristiques ou sportifs. Les magazines sur l'automobilisme et le motocyclisme sont un excellent moyen de cibler ce segment, tout comme les magazines et les émissions de télévision sur les voyages, les loisirs de plein air et les sciences et la nature.