Travel activities and motivations survey - U.S. travel market

Visits to Historical Sites, Museums & Art Galleries While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — July 4, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 41.4% (91,158,918) of adult Americans visited historical sites, museums and art galleries while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. Strolling around a city to observe buildings and architecture (25.6%) was the most popular activity, followed by visits to historical sites or buildings (23.1% well-known sites and buildings, 19.2% less well-known sites and buildings), visits to well-known natural wonders (16.3%), visits to museums (15.0% general history, 7.9% military), visits to art galleries (11.1%), and visits to historical replicas of cities or towns (7.2%). 32.8% (29,941,969) of those who visited historical sites, museums or galleries reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Those visiting Historical Sites, Museums and Art Galleries on trips are somewhat older and less likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have dependent children under 18 living at home. They are more likely than average to have a university education and their household income ($80,734) is above-average. They are over-represented in Alaska and the Pacific, New England, Mountain and Middle Atlantic regions. They tend to live in mid-sized and larger cities.

Over the past two years, those who visited Historical Sites, Museums and Art Galleries on trips were somewhat more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (19.7% versus 14.6%). The most common Canadian destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec however, these U.S. travelers were over-represented among U.S. visitors to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Those who visited Historical Sites, Museums and Art Galleries on trips were also more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to engage in culture and entertainment activities while on trips in the past two years, and especially activities which offer an opportunity to learn (e.g., participatory historical activities, science & technology exhibit, aboriginal culture experiences). Consistent with this fact, this segment is more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to seek vacation experiences that offer opportunities to learn (e.g., see or do something new and different, enrich perspective on life). They were also more likely than average to participate in outdoor activities when on trips, and especially wildlife viewing, and to have taken tours and cruises during the last two years.

Most use the Internet to plan their trips (77.5%), and 57.1% booked at least part of a trip online in the past two years. They are more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to obtain travel information from official travel guides and brochures and they are avid consumers of travel-related media (especially magazines) and news and current events media (e.g., talk & news radio, newspaper websites, network news websites). These are prime media channels by which to reach this segment.

Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les amateurs de lieux historiques, de musées et de galeries d'art chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 4 juillet 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 41,4 % (91 158 918) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont visité des lieux historiques, des musées et des galeries d'art. Une promenade en ville à la découverte des édifices et de l'architecture (25,6 %) est l'activité la plus populaire parmi ces touristes, suivie par la visite de lieux et d'édifices historiques connus (23,1 %) et moins connus (19,2 %), de merveilles de la nature célèbres (16,3 %), de musées (15,0 % pour les musées d'histoire et  7,9 % pour les musées d'histoire militaire), de galeries d'art (11, %) et de reproductions historiques de villes et de villages (7,2 %). Parmi ces touristes, 32,8 % (29 941 969) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Les touristes amateurs de lieux historiques, de musées et de galeries d'art sont un peu plus âgés que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et moins susceptibles que lui d'avoir des enfants à charge âgés de moins de 18 ans qui habitent au foyer. Ils sont plus susceptibles que la moyenne d'avoir fait des études universitaires et leur revenu de ménage est supérieur à la moyenne (80 734 $). Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska et le long du littoral Pacifique, en Nouvelle-Angleterre, et dans les régions de montagnes et de l'Atlantique centre. Ils ont tendance à habiter dans des grandes villes ou des villes de taille intermédiaire.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les touristes amateurs de lieux historiques, de musées et de galeries d'art étaient quelque peu plus susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (19,7 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Leurs destinations canadiennes préférées sont l'Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec, bien qu'ils soient surreprésentés parmi les touristes américains dans toutes les provinces et territoires du Canada.

Les touristes amateurs de lieux historiques, de musées et de galeries d'art sont aussi plus enclins que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément à s'adonner à des activités culturelles et divertissantes, en particulier à des activités qui leur donnent l'occasion de s'instruire (p.ex., activités axées sur l'histoire de type participatif, d'expositions scientifiques et technologiques), activités axées sur la culture autochtone). Conformément à ces tendances, touristes amateurs de lieux historiques, de musées et de galeries d'art sont attirés par des vacances qui leur permettent de et de s'instruire (p.ex., voir et faire des choses nouvelles et différentes, ouverture de nouveaux horizons). Au cours des deux dernières années, ils ont été aussi plus susceptibles que la moyenne de participer à des activités de plein air, en particulier l'obersation de la faune, et de faire des excursions et des croisières.

Au cours des deux dernières années, la plupart de ces touristes a eu recours à Internet pour planifier un voyage (77,5 %) et réserver au moins une partie de son voyage (57,1 %). Ils sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément de se procurer des renseignements touristiques dans des guides et des brochures officiels. Ce sont d'avides consommateurs des médias touristiques (en particulier de magazines) et des médias d'information (p.ex., émissions-débats et nouvelles à la radio, sites Web de journaux, sites Web de nouvelles Usenet ). Il s'agit-là des principaux moyens médiatiques pour cibler ce segment.