Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. travel market

Visiting Fairs and Festivals While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — July 4, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 31.7% (69,847,152) of adult Americans visited fairs and festivals while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. A farmers' market or country fair (14.4%) was the most popular, followed by a fireworks display (12.3%), a free outdoor performance such as a play or concert (10.8%), an exhibition or fair (8.3%), a food or drink festival (7.7%), a carnival (6.9%), an ethnic festival (4.2%) and a circus (3.1%). 29.8% (20,824,610) of those visiting Fairs and Festivals reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Those who visited fairs and festivals on trips are similar to the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler in terms of gender, age, marital status and parental status, however, their level of education (61.8% university degree or higher) and household incomes ($78,425) are above-average. They are over-represented in Alaska and the New England, Middle Atlantic, East North Central and Pacific regions. They tend to live in large cities with populations of 2 million or more.

Over the past two years, those who visited fairs and festivals on trips traveled more frequently than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and were more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (19.3% versus 14.6%). The most common Canadian destinations visited include Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec. However, those who visited fairs and festivals are over-represented among U.S. travelers to all provinces and territories.

Those who visited fairs and festivals on trips were more likely than average to participate in a wide range of culture and entertainment activities while on trips in the past two years. Relative to the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler, they were especially likely to attend theatre, film and music festivals and were more likely to participate in a wide range of outdoor activities on trips (e.g., ocean activities, wildlife viewing), and to take a variety of tours and cruises. Those who visited fairs and festivals on trips exhibit particular interest in food-related activities. They were more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to go fine dining and to visit spas, to have stayed at a country inn or resort with a gourmet restaurant or a cooking or wine tasting school and to have taken a winery tour. They seek vacation destinations that offer novelty, intellectual stimulation and opportunities to learn (e.g., gain knowledge of history and other cultures or places).

The majority in this segment have used the Internet to plan (75.6%) and book travel (54.8%) in the past two years. They are avid consumers of travel-related media (including websites, newspapers, magazines, television). Home and garden-related programming is also an effective method to reach this segment (e.g., house & home websites, home & garden and cooking TV shows, craft, antique & collectible magazines).

Royal Winter fair Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique
Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les amateurs de foires et de festivals chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — Le 4 juillet 2007
Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 31,7 % (69 847 152) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, se sont rendus dans des foires et des festivals. Les marchés fermiers et les foires agricoles  (14,4 %) sont les plus populaires parmi ces touristes, suivis par les feux d'artifice (12,3 %), les spectacles en plein air, comme une pièce de théâtre ou un concert (10,8 %), les expositions ou les foires (8,3 %), les festivals alimentaires ou de boissons (7,7 %), les carnavals (6,9 %), les festivals ethniques (4,2 %) et le cirque (3,1 %). Parmi les touristes amateurs de foires et de festivals, 29,8 % (20 824 610) ont indiqué que ces manifestations constituaient la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

En ce qui concerne leur âge, sexe, situation de famille et qualité parentale, les touristes amateurs de foires et de festivals ressemblent à l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément, leur niveau de scolarité (61,8 % ont un au moins un diplôme universitaire du premier cycle) et leur revenu de ménage (78 425 $) sont supérieurs à la moyenne. Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska et en Nouvelle-Angleterre, ainsi que dans les régions de l'Atlantique centre, du Centre nord-est et du Pacifique. Ils ont tendance à habiter dans de grandes villes comptant au mois deux millions d'habitants.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les touristes amateurs de foires et de festivals ont voyagé plus fréquemment que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (19,3 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Leurs destinations canadiennes préférées sont l'Ontario, le Québec et la Colombie-Britannique, bien qu'ils soient surreprésentés parmi les touristes américains dans toutes les provinces et territoires du Canada.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les touristes amateurs de foires et de festivals ont été beaucoup plus enclins que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément à assister à des spectacles culturels et à des spectacles de variétés pendant un voyage. Par rapport à l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément, ils sont particulièrement susceptibles d'assister à des festivals de théâtre, de cinéma et de musique, de participer à toute une gamme d'activités de plein air (p.ex., sports maritimes, observation de la faune) et de faire toutes sortes d'excursions et de croisières. Les touristes amateurs de foires et de festivals s'intéressent particulièrement aux activités liées à l'agroalimentaire. Ils sont plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'aller dans de bons restaurants et au spa, de séjourner dans une auberge campagnarde ou dans un centre de villégiature comptant un restaurant fin et une école culinaire ou de dégustation de vins et d'avoir fait une tournée des caves vinicoles. Ces touristes recherchent des destinations qui leur offrent nouveauté, stimulation intellectuelle et possibilités de s'instruire (p.ex., histoire, autres cultures et lieux).

Au cours des deux dernières années, la majorité de ces touristes a planifié ses voyages en ligne (75,6 %) et fait des réservations sur Internet (54,8 %). Les touristes amateurs de foires et de festivals sont d'avides consommateurs des médias touristiques, y compris sites Web, journaux, magazines et télévision. On peut bien les cibler dans les émissions sur la maison et le jardinage  (p.ex., sites Web sur la maison et la décoration, émissions sur le jardinage et la cuisine, magazines sur l'artisanat, les antiquités et les objets de collection).