Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. travel market

Attending Amateur Tournaments While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — August 31, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 5.9% (13,082,310) of adult Americans attended an amateur tournament while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. More adult Americans attended a sports-related tournament (5.6%) than a non-sports-related tournament (0.8%) while on trips. One-half (51.4% or 6,728,338 adult Americans) of those who attended an amateur tournament while on a trip reported that this activity was the main reason for taking at least one trip in the past two years.

Relative to the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler, those who attended amateur tournaments while on trips are more likely to be male, and to be either young (18 to 24 years of age) or middle-aged (45 to 54) with dependent children (18 and under) living at home. This segment has above-average levels of education (68.8% university degree or higher) and household incomes ($84,756). They are over-represented in Alaska and the West North Central and East South Central regions of the United States and in mid-sized and smaller communities (population less than 2 million).

Over the past two years, those who attended amateur tournaments while on trips traveled more often than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler and they were somewhat more likely to have taken a trip to Canada (21.0% versus 14.6%). The most common Canadian destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec, however, they are over-represented among U.S. travelers to all Canadian provinces and territories.

Those who attended amateur tournaments while on trips were much more active in culture and entertainment activities and outdoor activities than the typical U.S. Pleasure Traveler. They were especially likely to attend major sporting events (e.g., professional sports, national & international events) and equestrian and western events, to exercise and jog and to play golf, games and individual sports and team sports while on trips. They also exhibit above-average interest in participatory outdoor attractions (e.g., participatory historical activities, agro-tourism) and theatrical and musical performances (e.g., high art performances, theatre, film and music festivals). In addition, they were more likely than average to take tours (e.g., sameday tours, casino tour) and cruises (e.g., sightseeing cruises). Their preferred types of accommodation were seaside, lakeside or riverside resorts and public campgrounds. Similar to other U.S. Pleasure Travelers, this segment seeks vacations that give them a break from their day-to-day environment and allows them to relieve stress.

Those who attended amateur tournaments while traveling were more likely than average to use the Internet to plan (80.5%) and book travel (60.5%). They can be effectively targeted through sports-related media, including sports magazines, television programs, all-sports radio stations and sports websites.

Dragon boat tournament Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les amateurs de tournois amateurs chez les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf (anglais)

Rapport de recherche — Le 31 août 2007 Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 5,9 % (13 082 310) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, ont assisté à un tournoi amateur. Un nombre plus grand a assisté à un tournoi sportif (5,6 %) qu'à un autre genre de tournoi (0,8 %). La moitié (51,4 % ou 6 728 338) des touristes Américains d'âge adulte ayant assisté à un tournoi amateur a indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison l'ayant incitée à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Par rapport à l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément, les touristes qui ont assisté à des tournois amateurs ont tendance à être des hommes soit jeunes (18 à 24 ans) soit d'âge mûr (45 à 54 ans) avec des enfants à charge (18 ans ou moins) habitant au foyer, à avoir un niveau de scolarité (68,8 % ont un diplôme universitaire ou supérieur) et un revenu supérieurs à la moyenne (84 756 $). Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska et dans le Centre nord-ouest et le Centre sud-est des États-Unis ainsi que dans les petites villes et celles de taille moyenne (moins de deux millions d'habitants).

>Au cours des deux dernières années, les touristes qui ont assisté à des tournois amateurs ont voyagé plus souvent que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément et étaient quelque peu plus susceptibles d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (21,0 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Si leurs destinations les plus fréquentes au Canada sont l'Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec, ils sont toutefois surreprésentés parmi les touristes américains dans l'ensemble des provinces et territoires.

>Les touristes qui assistent à des tournois amateurs s'adonnent beaucoup plus que l'Américain typique en voyage d'agrément à des activités culturelles, à des activités de divertissement et à des activités de plein air. Ils sont en particulier plus enclins à assister à de grandes manifestations sportives (p.ex., sports professionnels, compétitions nationales et internationales) et à des manifestations équestres et westerns. Ils sont aussi plus susceptibles de faire de l'exercice et du jogging et de jouer au golf, à des jeux ainsi qu'à des sports individuels et d'équipe. Ils affichent également plus de goût que la moyenne pour les échanges créatifs de plein air (p.ex., échanges historiques, agrotourisme) et les spectacles dramatiques et musicaux (p.ex., arts du spectacle, festivals de théâtre, de films et de musique). En outré, ils sont plus susceptibles que la moyenne de faire des excursions (p.ex., excursions d'une journée, tournée des casinos) et des croisières (p.ex., croisières touristiques). Ils préfèrent séjourner dans des stations balnéaires, des centres de villégiature situés au bord d'un lac ou d'un cours d'eau et dans des terrains de camping publics. Comme les autres Américains en voyage d'agrément, ce segment recherche des destinations vacances qui leur permettent d'éliminer les contraintes de la vie quotidienne et de se libérer de leur stress.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les touristes qui ont assisté à des tournois amateurs ont été plus susceptibles que la moyenne d'avoir recours à Internet planifier leurs voyages (80,5 %) et faire des réservations (60,5 %). On peut aussi les cibler efficacement dans les médias sportifs, y compris les émissions de télévision et les magazines sportifs, les stations radio dévouées aux sports et les sites Web sur les sports.