Travel activities and motivations survey — U.S. travel market

Participating in Aboriginal Cultural Experiences While on Trips of One or More Nights

Full report available in pdf format

A Profile Report — July 4, 2007
Executive summary

Over the last two years, 6.6% (14,641,128) of adult Americans engaged in an aboriginal cultural experience while on an out-of-town, overnight trip of one or more nights. A visit to an aboriginal heritage attraction was the most popular (4.6%), followed aboriginal arts and crafts shows (2.6%), sampling aboriginal cuisine (2.0%), attending aboriginal festivals or events (2.0%), engaging in an aboriginal cultural experience in a rural or remote setting (1.7%), and participating in an aboriginal outdoor adventure or sport (0.8%). 31.1% (4,552,422) of those participating in an aboriginal cultural experience reported that this activity was the main reason for at least one trip in the past two years.

Aboriginal Cultural Experiencers are typically middle-aged or older (45 years plus). Most are married but they are less likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to have dependent children (under 18) living at home. They are more likely than average to have an advanced educational degree and their household incomes ($79,911) are above-average. They are over-represented in Alaska, and the Mountain, Pacific and New England regions and tend to live in smaller cities, towns and rural areas.

Over the past two years, Aboriginal Cultural Experiencers were almost twice as likely to have taken a trip to Canada (28.1% versus 14.6%). The most common Canadian destinations were Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec, however they were over-represented among U.S. Travelers who visited all Canadian provinces and territories, and especially Western and Northern Canada, Newfound and Labrador and P.E.I.

Aboriginal Cultural Experiencers were much more likely than the average U.S. Pleasure Traveler to participate in a wide range of outdoor activities while on trips during the past two years. They were especially likely to have gone wildlife viewing and hiking, climbing and paddling. Aboriginal Cultural Experiencers were also more likely than average to participate in a wide range of cultural and entertainment activities on trips, and especially attractions which offer opportunities to learn (e.g., archaeological sites and digs, science & technology exhibits). They were also much more likely to have taken tours and cruises (e.g., wilderness tour). Consistent with this pattern, Aboriginal Cultural Experiencers seek vacations that offer something new and different to see and do as well as opportunities to learn (e.g., gain knowledge of history and other cultures or places).

Most in this segment use the Internet for trip planning (77.9%), and 56.9% have booked at least part of a trip online in the past two years. They are avid consumers of travel information and are more likely than average to obtain their travel information from the guides, brochures and websites of official tourism authorities. They also exhibit an above-average interest in news and current events programming.

Aboriginal art collection Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages — Le marché touristique américain

Les amateurs de la culture autochtone parmi les touristes effectuant un voyage de plus de 24 heures

Version en format pdf

Rapport de recherche — 4 juillet 2007 Sommaire

Au cours des deux dernières années, 6,6 % (14 641 128) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont fait un voyage de plus de 24 heures, voire de plusieurs nuitées, se sont adonnés à des activités axées sur la culture autochtone. Les centres du patrimoine autochtone sont les plus populaires (4,6 %), suivis par les arts et les salons d'artisanat autochtones (2,6 %), la dégustation de plats autochtones (2,0 %), les festivals et les évènements autochtones (2,0 %), la participation à une activité culturelle autochtone en milieu rural ou éloigné (1,7 %) et la participation à un sport ou à une expédition autochtones (0,8 %). Parmi les touristes qui se sont adonnés à des activités axées sur la culture autochtone, 31,1 % (4 552 422) ont indiqué que cette activité était la principale raison les ayant incités à faire au moins un voyage au cours des deux dernières années.

Les amateurs de la culture autochtone sont en général d'âge mûr (45 ans ou plus). Ils sont en général mariés, mais ils sont moins susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir des enfants à charge chez eux (18 ans ou moins). Ils sont plus susceptibles que la moyenne de détenir un diplôme supérieur et leur revenu de ménage est supérieur à la moyenne (79 911 $). Ils sont surreprésentés en Alaska, dans les régions montagneuses, le long du littoral Pacifique et en Nouvelle-Angleterre et ont tendance à habiter dans de petites villes, des villages et des régions rurales.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les amateurs de la culture autochtone étaient deux fois plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir fait un voyage au Canada (28,1 % par rapport à 14,6 %). Leurs destinations canadiennes préférées sont l'Ontario, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec, mais ils sont surreprésentés parmi les touristes américains qui ont visité les provinces et territoires canadiens, en particulier dans l'Ouest et le Nord du Canada, à Terre-Neuve et Labrador et à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Au cours des deux dernières années, les amateurs de la culture autochtone étaient beaucoup plus susceptibles que l'Américain moyen en voyage d'agrément d'avoir participé à toute une gamme d'activités en plein air pendant un voyage. Ils étaient en particulier susceptibles d'avoir observé la faune et d'avoir fait des randonnées, de l'escalade et du canotage. Les amateurs de la culture autochtone étaient aussi plus susceptibles que la moyenne d'avoir participé à toute une gamme d'activités culturelles et de spectacles de variétés en voyage, en particulier à des attractions qui leur donnent l'occasion de s'instruire (p.ex., sites et fouilles archéologiques, expositions scientifiques et technologiques). Ils étaient beaucoup plus susceptibles d'avoir fait des excursions et des croisières (p.ex., excursions en pleine nature). Conformément à ces tendances, les amateurs de la culture autochtone sont attirés par des vacances qui leur permettent de voir et de faire des choses nouvelles et différentes et de s'instruire (p.ex., histoire, autres cultures et lieux).

Au cours des deux dernières années, la plupart des amateurs de la culture autochtone ont planifié leur voyage en ligne (77,9 %) et 56,9 % ont réservé au moins en partie leur voyage sur Internet. Avides consommateurs de renseignements touristiques, ils sont plus susceptibles que la moyenne de se les procurer dans des guides, des brochures et sur les sites Web des gouvernements. Ils s'intéressent également plus que la moyenne aux émissions d'actualités et aux nouvelles.