Travel Activities and Motivations Survey

U.S. Travellers who participated in Aboriginal experiences and activities

Full report available in pdf format

January 2007

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY


Overall, American travellers who participated in activities related to aboriginal products and services while on a trip of one or more nights are a bit older, richer and more educated than other U.S. travellers. Like other American travellers, they enjoy shopping, dining and walking around to observe architecture, but they also like history and culture much more than other American travellers do.

These travellers are easy to reach through any media but radio and TV have the highest penetration rates.

For about a third of these travellers some of their trips were motivated by the desire to experience aboriginal culture. However, the places in the U.S. where these travellers are over-represented are also the places that have, in relative terms, large proportions of American Indians or native Alaskans residing (US Census Bureau) – meaning that they did not travel very far to participate in these activities.

Market size and importance of aboriginal products for travellers

  • 14.75 million adult Americans (or 8.4%) participated in activities related to aboriginal travel products while on overnight out-of-town trips over the last 2 years.
  • About one-third of the American travellers who had participated in aboriginal activities indicated that these activities were the main reason for taking the trip.
  • The largest proportion of travellers who participated in aboriginal activities resides in California. However, it is in places such as Alaska, San Francisco, Seattle and Nevada that these travellers are over-represented (that is these locations account for a larger proportion of travellers who engage in aboriginal activities than of the U.S. population).

Other activities they participated in

  • In addition to participating in aboriginal activities these American travellers also participated in other activities. The most popular of these other activities (50% participation or more) were (in order of popularity):
  • Dining at restaurants that offer local ingredients and recipes
  • Shopping at clothing, shoe and jewellery shops
  • Strolling around the city to observe its buildings and architecture
  • Shopping at local arts and crafts shops
  • Visiting well-known historic sites and buildings
  • Visiting a national or provincial/state nature park
  • Shopping at bookstores and music stores
  • Visiting other historic sites, monuments and buildings
  • Visiting well-known natural wonders
  • Approximately half (53.1%) of the adult Americans who participated in aboriginal activities took a same-day tour while on an overnight trip in the past 2 years. The most popular types of same-day tours were to tour “Around the City” and to tour “Around the Countryside”.
  • Self-guided tours were almost of equal importance as the organized or guided tours for this group of travellers.
  • Approximately one quarter (22.3%) of adult American travellers who participated in aboriginal activities took an ocean cruise over the past 2 years. A Caribbean cruise was by far the most popular type of cruise, while the Alaskan cruises and other types of cruises were also popular.

Destinations visited

  • The United States, Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean were the most popular destinations for this group of travellers in the last 2 years, with 14% of them having visited Ontario.

Trip-planning

  • Although Internet websites (82.7%) were considered highly important sources of information for planning vacations, past experience (62.4%) and the advice of friends or relatives (57.2%) were also relatively important.
  • Almost two-thirds (60.5%) of this group used websites such as Expedia and Travelocity to plan their vacation and more than half (58.8%) of them used the website of a hotel or resort.
  • The majority (57%) of these American travellers used the Internet to book parts of their overnight vacation.
  • The majority of the American travellers who participate in aboriginal activities while on an overnight trip consider first the destination when planning a summer or winter overnight vacation trip.

Reasons for travelling and expectations and ratings of destinations

  • A substantial number of these travellers took vacations in order to get a break from their day-to-day environment (68.9%). A similar proportion (67.4%) travelled in order to relax and relieve stress, while travel for 64% of them creating lasting memories was a benefit sought in their pleasure travels.
  • In choosing a destination, there were three conditions that were highly important to substantial portions of this market: feeling safe at the destination (68.6%), having lots of things for adults to see and do (55.7%), and being conveniently accessible by car (47.6%).
  • About one-third (32%) of American travellers who participated in aboriginal activities rated Ontario as a very appealing travel destination, 9% as very unappealing and 18% could not rate the province at all. A majority of these Americans rated Hawaii (70%) and California (55%) as very appealing travel destinations.
Media habits and memberships

  • The weekday (64.9%) and weekend (60.5%) editions of daily newspapers and local neighbourhood or community newspapers (57.2%) were the most read by this group of American travellers.
  • Almost three quarters (71.7%) of this group enjoyed watching movies on television, while similar proportions also watched dramas (64.6%) and news and current affairs programs (64.8%).
  • Oldies radio programs were the most popular with just over half (50%) of this group, while news/information (41%) and modern/alternative rock programs (35%) were not as popular.
  • Slightly more than half (50.3%) of these American travellers are members of an automobile club such as AAA, while 41% belong to a frequent flyer program.

Demographics

  • Most of these American travellers belonged to a household where they lived with their spouse/partner (70%). To a much lesser extent, some lived with their birth/step/adopted children 17 years old and younger (23%), while some lived with their birth/step/adopted children 18 years old and older (17%).
  • Compared to the general American traveller, those who participated in aboriginal activities have a higher household income (24% have an income of $100,000 or more as opposed to 20% of other American travellers).
  • Nearly one quarter (22%) of these American travellers had a bachelor's degree or attended teachers' college; 19% had earned a doctorate or master's degree as compared to 12% for the general American traveller.
  • The average age of American travellers who engaged in aboriginal activities was 47 while that of other American travellers was 45.

Aboriginal dance Performance Accueil arrow Le tourisme arrow Recherche touristique

Enquête sur les activités et les préférences en matière de voyages

Profil des américains ayant participé à des activités touristiques autochtones

Version en format pdf

Janvier 2007

SOMMAIRE

De manière générale, les touristes américains participant à des activités liées à des produits et services autochtones lors d'un voyage de plus de 24 heures sont légèrement plus âgés, plus aisés et ont fait des études plus poussées que le reste des touristes américains. Comme tous les touristes américains,  ils aiment faire les magasins, aller au restaurant et se promener pour goûter l'architecture, mais l'histoire et la culture les intéressent beaucoup plus que ces derniers.

Il est facile de toucher ces touristes par le biais de n'importe quel médium, mais la radio et la télévision ont des taux de pénétration supérieurs.
Dans le cas d'environ un tiers de ces touristes, l'envie de découvrir la culture autochtone a motivé certains de leurs voyages. Néanmoins, les régions des États-Unis où ces touristes sont surreprésentés sont aussi celles qui comptent, toutes proportions gardées, un nombre important d'Amérindiens ou d'Alaskiens (Bureau de recensement américain), ce qui signifie ces derniers n'ont pas voyagé très loin pour participer à ces activités.

Taille du marché et importance des produits autochtones

  • Au cours des deux dernières années, 14,75 millions d'Américains d'âge adulte (ou 8,4 %) ont participé à des activités liées à des produits touristiques autochtones lors de voyages de plus de 24 heures.
  • Approximativement un tiers des touristes américains qui ont participé à des activités autochtones ont indiqué que celles-ci étaient la principale raison de leur voyage.
  • Parmi les touristes ayant participé à des activités autochtones, la plus grande proportion habite en Californie. Néanmoins, ce sont en Alaska, à San Francisco, à Seattle et au Nevada que ces touristes sont surreprésentés (ces endroits représentent donc une plus grande proportion de touristes qui prend part à des activités autochtones que le reste de la population américaine.).

Autres activités auxquelles ils ont participé

  • En plus d'avoir pris part à des activités autochtones, ces touristes américains ont aussi participé à d'autres activités. Les autres activités les plus populaires (50 % de participation ou plus) étaient (en ordre de popularité) :
    • Dîner dans des restaurants proposant des recettes et ingrédients locau
    • Faire des achats dans des boutiques de vêtements, de chaussures et de bijoux
    • Se promener à travers la ville pour observer les immeubles et l'architecture
    • Faire des achats dans les boutiques locales d'art et d'artisanat
    • Visiter des sites historiques et bâtiments réputés  
    • Visiter un parc naturel national ou provincial
    • Faire des achats dans des librairies et magasins de musique
    • Visiter d'autres sites historiques, monuments et édifices  
    • Visiter des merveilles naturelles renommées
  • Au cours des deux dernières années, approximativement la moitié (53,1%) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont pris part à des activités autochtones ont fait une excursion d'une journée pendant un voyage d'au moins 24 heures. Les excursions d'une journée les plus populaires étaient « Faire un tour de la ville » ou « Faire un tour à la campagne ».
  • Dans ce groupe de touristes, les visites sans guide étaient presque aussi importantes que les visites organisées ou guidées.  
  • Au cours des deux dernières années, environ un quart (22,3 %) des Américains d'âge adulte qui ont pris part à des activités autochtones ont fait une croisière maritime. Les croisières aux Antilles étaient de loin les plus populaires, mais les croisières en Alaska  et d'autres types de croisières étaient aussi très appréciées.

Destinations visitées

  • Au cours des deux dernières années, les États-Unis, le Canada, le Mexique et les Antilles ont été les destinations les plus prisées dans ce groupe de touristes, 14 % d'entre eux ayant visité l'Ontario.

Planification du voyage

  • S'ils considèrent Internet (82,7 %) comme une source d'information clé pour planifier des vacances, ils attachent aussi une certaine importance à leurs expériences antérieures (62,4 %) et aux conseils d'amis et de famille (57,2 %).
  • Dans ce groupe de touristes, presque les deux tiers (60,5 %) consultent des sites Web, comme Expedia et Travelocity, pour planifier leurs vacances et plus de la moitié (58,8 %) visite le site Web d'un  hôtel ou d'un centre de villégiature.
  • Lorsqu'ils font un voyage d'au moins 24 heures, la majorité (57 %) de ces touristes américains fait des réservations sur Internet.
  • La majorité des touristes américains qui participe à des activités autochtones pendant un voyage d'au moins 24 heures en été ou en hiver prend d'abord en considération la destination à l'étape de la planification du voyage.

Raisons du voyage, attentes et évaluation des destinations

  • Parmi ces touristes, beaucoup prennent des vacances pour échapper à leur environnement quotidien (68,9 %). Une proportion analogue (67,4 %) part en voyage pour se détendre et se libérer de son stress, tandis que 64% cherchent dans leur voyage d'agrément une occasion de créer des souvenirs mémorables.
  • En ce qui concerne le choix de la destination, trois conditions s'imposent pour un pourcentage important de ce segment de touristes : se sentir en sécurité à destination (68,6 %), avoir bon nombre de choses  convenant à des adultes à voir et à faire (55,7 %) et la facilité de l'accès en voiture (47,6 %).
  • Environ un tiers (32 %) des touristes américains qui a pris part à des activités autochtones estime que l'Ontario est une destination de voyage très attirante, 9 % qu'elle n'est pas du tout intéressante et 18 % ne sont pas en mesure de l'évaluer. Parmi ces Américains, une majorité estime qu'Hawaï (70 %) et la Californie (55 %) sont des destinations de voyage très attrayantes.

Habitudes concernant les médias et adhésions

  • Ce groupe de touristes américains lit surtout la presse (journal quotidien
    (64,9 %) et numéro du week-end (60,5 %)) ainsi que les journaux de quartier et les publications communautaires (57,2 %).
  • Dans ce groupe, presque les trois quarts (71,7 %) aiment regarder des films à la télévision, tandis qu'un pourcentage semblable regarde aussi des émissions dramatiques (64,6 %) et des émissions de nouvelles et d'actualité (64,8 %.)
  • Les émissions de radio diffusant de vieux succès sont les plus populaires auprès d'un peu plus de la moitié (50 %) de ce groupe, alors que les émissions de nouvelles et d'actualité (41 %) et les émissions de rock moderne et alternatif (35 %) ne le sont pas autant.
  • Un peu plus de la moitié (50,3 %) de ces touristes américains sont membres d'un club automobile, comme AAA, tandis que 41 % appartiennent à un programme pour grands voyageurs.

Données démographiques

  • La majorité de ces touristes américains vivent en ménage avec leur conjoint / partenaire (70 %). Beaucoup moins vivent avec leurs enfants légitimes, beaux-enfants ou enfants adoptés âgés de moins de 17 ans (23 %) et moins encore vivent avec leurs enfants légitimes, beaux-enfants ou enfants adoptés âgés de plus de 18 ans (17 %).
  • En comparaison avec le touriste américain moyen, le touriste qui a pris part à des activités autochtones a un revenu de ménage plus élevé (24 % ont un revenu de 100 000 $ ou plus par rapport à 20 %  chez les autres touristes américains).
  • Presque un quart (22 %) de ces touristes américains ont un baccalauréat ou ont un diplôme d'enseignement, 19 % un doctorat ou une maîtrise, comparativement à 12 % des touristes américains moyens.
  • Les touristes américains qui ont pris part à des activités autochtones avaient en moyenne 47 ans par rapport à 45 ans pour les autres touristes américains.