Transforming
Ontario Place

The province is moving forward with a vision for Ontario Place to become a vibrant, year-round waterfront destination that builds on its legacy of innovation, fun and live music, and engages residents and visitors of all ages.

  • In February 2012, the Ontario government announced the partial closure of Ontario Place to move forward with revitalization. At that time, an Advisory Panel was established to advise the government on redevelopment of the site.
  • On July 31, 2014, the province announced its long-term vision for Ontario Place to transform the site into a year-round, vibrant waterfront destination -- building on the site's legacy of innovation, fun and live music.
  • The Trillium Park and William G. Davis Trail is the province's new landmark park. Previously a parking lot, the park and trail is 7.5 acres of public green space on a spectacular part of Toronto’s waterfront.

Minister's Advisory Report

In February 2012, the Ontario government announced the partial closure of Ontario Place to move forward with revitalization. At that time, an Advisory Panel was established to advise the government on redevelopment of the site.

Hearing from Ontarians is an important part of the transformation process.

The Advisory Panel undertook a comprehensive process to develop their advice, including public feedback and the review of previous studies and research. On July 26, 2012, the Advisory Panel submitted their report and recommendations on how to transform Ontario Place.


Long-term Vision

Below is a site map of the proposed plan for Ontario Place that includes ideas for: a hub for culture, discovery and innovation; a canal district with shops and restaurants; a waterscaped park around the Cinesphere and pods; a celebration common; a green pedestrian land bridge over Lake Shore Boulevard connecting to Exhibition Place; the park and trail on the eastern most edge of the site – all linked by a continuous waterfront trail around the islands.

Select each photo to enlarge.

Sitemap overview with numbered icons indicating locations on a map Culture, discovery and innovation hub Blue Park Canal District and pedestrian land bridge Celebration Common Urban Park and Waterfront Trail

1. Culture, discovery and innovation hub

A new iconic core area that could provide places and spaces for future ideas, with a focus on culture, innovation, learning and research.

Image of the culture, discover and innovation hub.

2. Blue Park

Artist impressions of a waterscape or `blue park’ to bring playful activity and people onto the water with a series of floating elements and surfaces around the Cinesphere and pods.

Concept Image of the Blue Park
Concept Image of the Blue Park in Winter

3. Canal District and landscaped pedestrian bridge

Artist impressions of a new waterfront promenade along the northern edge of the site – a canal district – for shopping, dining and performance, helping create a greater connection with the growing neighbourhoods close by. Also, a concept for a pedestrian land bridge that extends across Lake Shore Boulevard into Exhibition Place, strengthening connections between the two places as well as to the city.

Concept Image of the Canal District
Concept Image of the Land Bridge

4. Celebration Common

Ideas for the east island landscape. Inspired by the performance legacy of Ontario Place, the celebration common is envisioned as a flexible, green space for open-air cultural activities, festivals, community events as well as passive recreation.

Concept Image of the Open Green Space
Concept Image of the Festival Space

5. Park and Trail

Now open, the first step of transformation is the new Trillium Park and William G. Davis Trail on the East Island of Ontario Place.

Concept Image of the Fire Pit
Concept Image of the Summit

Transformation de la Place de l’Ontario

La province va de l’avant avec une vision de la Place de l’Ontario, où elle deviendra une destination riveraine dynamique à l’année qui s’appuie sur son héritage d’innovation, de loisirs et de musique en direct, et qui séduira les résidents et les visiteurs de tous âges.

  • En février 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé la fermeture partielle de la Place de l’Ontario en vue de procéder à sa revitalisation. À cette occasion, un comité consultatif a été créé afin de conseiller le gouvernement sur l’aménagement du lieu.
  • Le 31 juillet 2014, la province a annoncé sa vision à long terme de la Place de l'Ontario afin de revitaliser le site dans une destination riveraine animée tout au long de l'année, en s'appuyant sur l'héritage de l'innovation, de l'amusement et de la musique live du site.
  • Le parc Trillium et le sentier William G. Davis deviennent le nouveau parc phare de la province. Ce qui était à l’origine un parc de stationnement a été transformé en un parc et un sentier d’espaces verts publics sur 7,5 acres dans une zone spectaculaire du rivage de Toronto.

Rapport du comité consultatif du ministre

En février 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé la fermeture partielle de la Place de l’Ontario en vue de procéder à sa revitalisation. À cette occasion, un comité consultatif a été créé afin de conseiller le gouvernement sur l’aménagement du lieu.

L'opinion des Ontariens et des Ontariennes occupe une place importante.

Le Comité consultatif a mené à bien un vaste processus de conseil, en tenant compte de l’examen des études précédentes et des commentaires émis par le public. Le 26 juillet 2012, le Comité consultatif a présenté son rapport et formulé des recommandations sur la façon de procéder pour transformer la Place de l’Ontario.


Vision à long terme

Vue aérienne du plan proposé pour la Place de l’Ontario qui présente des idées pour une zone pour la culture, la découverte et l’innovation; un quartier de canaux avec des commerces et restaurants; un parc de pièces d’eau autour de la cinésphère et des pavillons; une place communale pour les célébrations; un pont terrestre paysagé pour piétons sur le boulevard Lake Shore, le reliant au Parc des Expositions; et le parc et le sentier sur la rive à l’extrémité est du site - tous reliés par un sentier riverain continu autour des îles.

Zone de la culture, de la découverte et de l’innovation Parc bleu Création de liens : Quartier des canaux, pont piétonnier paysagé Place communale pour les célébrations Parc et sentier

1. Zone de la culture, de la découverte et de l’innovation

Des idées pour une nouvelle zone centrale emblématique qui fournit des lieux et des espaces pour les idées futures, avec un accent sur la culture, l’innovation, l’apprentissage et la recherche.

Image conceptuelle de la Zone d’innovation

2. Parc bleu

Illustrations d’un paysage de pièces d’eau ou « parc bleu » visant à attirer des activités ludiques et des gens vers l’eau avec une série d’éléments et de surfaces flottants autour de la cinésphère et des pavillons transformés.

Image conceptuelle du parc bleu
Image conceptuelle du parc bleu durant la saison hivernale

3. Création de liens : Quartier des canaux, pont piétonnier paysagé

Illustrations d’une nouvelle promenade riveraine le long de la bordure nord du site - un quartier de canaux - pour magasiner, manger et voir des spectacles, ce qui contribue à créer une plus grande liaison avec les quartiers en croissance à proximité. Aussi, un concept pour un pont terrestre piétonnier qui s’étend sur le boulevard Lake Shore vers le Parc des Expositions, ce qui renforce les relations entre les deux espaces ainsi qu’avec la ville.

Image conceptuelle du quartier des canaux
Image conceptuelle du pont terrestre piétonnier

4. Place communale pour les célébrations

Idées pour l’aménagement paysager de l’île à l’est. Inspiré par l’héritage de manifestations culturelles de la Place de l’Ontario, la place communale pour les célébrations est envisagée comme un espace vert polyvalent pour des activités en plein air, des festivals culturels, des événements communautaires, ainsi que des loisirs passifs.

Image conceptuelle de l’espace vert polyvalent
Image conceptuelle de la place communale pour les célébrations

5. Parc et sentier

La première étape de la revitalisation est le nouveau parc Trillium et le sentier William G. Davis —maintenant ouverts— sur l’ile Est de la Place de l’Ontario.

Image conceptuelle du feu de camp
Image conceptuelle du sommet