Celebration Common

Multi-Purpose Park on East Island

On July 31, 2014, the Government announced its vision to revitalize Ontario Place into a vibrant, year-round, public, waterfront destination that engages residents and visitors of all ages. A key component of the vision is a Celebration Common on the East Island.

The Celebration Common is envisioned as a flexible green space for open-air cultural activities, festivals, community events and recreation in downtown Toronto. It would connect Ontario Place’s West Island, the new Trillium Park and William G. Davis Trail and the recently reopened Cinesphere through a system of pedestrian and bike trails.


Environmental Assessment

Before construction can begin on Celebration Common, an Environmental Assessment (EA) must be completed. The Celebration Common project does not include the Budweiser Stage, the Administrative Building or any in-water work.

The Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport is the proponent of the project.

View the Notice of Class Environmental Assessment

Project Site Map

Place communale pour les célébrations de la Place de l'Ontario

Parc polyvalent sur l’île Est

Le 31 juillet 2014, le gouvernement a annoncé sa vision pour revitaliser la Place de l'Ontario et la transformer en une destination riveraine dynamique, publique et accessible à l'année, qui séduit les résidents et les visiteurs de tous âges. Une composante essentielle de la vision est une Place communale pour les célébrations sur l'île Est à la Place de l'Ontario.

La Place communale des célébrations est envisagée comme étant un espace vert polyvalent pour des activités culturelles en plein air, des festivals, des événements communautaires et des activités de loisirs au centre-ville de Toronto. Elle relierait l'île Ouest de la Place de l'Ontario, le nouveau parc Trillium et le sentier William G. Davis, ainsi que la Cinésphère , ouverte de nouveau récemment, au moyen d'un réseau de sentiers pédestres et cyclables.


Évaluation environnementale

Avant de pouvoir amorcer les travaux de construction de la Place communale des célébrations, il faut réaliser une évaluation environnementale(ÉE). Le projet de Place communale des célébrations ne comprend pas la scène Budweiser, l'édifice administratif ou tous travaux dans l'eau.

Le ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport est le promoteur du projet.

Avis d'évaluation environnementale de portée générale

Carte du site du projet