What a municipal heritage committee does

Citizen participation is essential to heritage conservation. Anyone with an interest in heritage conservation, an ability to work with the community within a municipal framework, and the time to accomplish the objectives of the committee, can participate in the decision-making processes of their municipality by joining or contributing to their community's municipal heritage committee.

Definition of a municipal heritage committee

A municipal heritage committee is an advisory committee. Like every advisory committee, a municipal heritage committee can help a community participate more directly in a municipality's decision-making process by broadening the scope of information that goes into a municipality's decision-making process when it is addressing issues that impact a community.

In summary, the role of an advisory committee is to:

  • advise and recommend
  • provide knowledge and expertise
  • facilitate the work of the organizing body by ensuring open and honest representation, creating a climate of consensus and maintaining the integrity of the committee
  • be sensitive to the community which it represents
  • promote good will and trust within the community of interest and the community at large
  • act as a liaison between politicians, organizational staff, members of the public, and other stakeholders.

The members of the committee come from the community and represent a cross-section of interests and perspectives. Their role is to advise and make recommendations — but there are limitations. These limitations are defined by terms of reference developed by the organizing body.

Representative of community interests, the advisory committee is recognized as a legitimate vehicle for coordinating and conveying community concerns. An advisory committee, therefore, plays a very important role by enabling a community to participate more directly in the decision-making process.
A municipal heritage committee is a standing committee of council and therefore an integral part of the municipal structure. It functions under the council and normally reports directly to council or through another standing committee.

Who it serves

A municipal heritage committee is appointed by and is responsible and accountable to municipal council. It helps its council make decisions on any matter relating to the legal designation and conservation of property of cultural heritage value or interest, including individual properties and heritage conservation districts. It is therefore responsible:

  • To the municipality to advise council on heritage issues (under the Ontario Heritage Act) and to carry out assigned duties according to the municipal by-law or resolution and procedures established by the municipality
  • To the municipality's citizens to help ensure that plans for change and progress are developed in way that recognizes the historical continuity of their community.

Statutory roles and responsibilities

The Ontario Heritage Act (s. 28) defines a committee's statutory roles as follows:

  • To advise and assist the council on all matters relating to Part IV (Conservation of Properties of Cultural Heritage Value or Interest) and on the identification of a potential Heritage Conservation District under Part V
  • To advise and assist the council on other heritage matters as the council may specify by by-law.

Under Part IV of the Act, once a municipal heritage committee is established, council is required to consult with it:

  • during the designation process for individual properties and for districts;
  • on applications to alter designated properties;
  • on applications to demolish or remove;
  • on applications to repeal designation by-law;

Specifically under Part IV of the Act, where a municipal heritage committee is established, council is required to consult with the committee:

  • Before giving its intention to designate a property(s. 29 (2);
  • On applications to alter designated properties where the alteration is likely to affect the property's heritage attributes as set out in the by-law designating the property (s. 33 (1)
  • On applications to demolish or remove any building or structure on designated property (s. 34 (1)).
  • On applications to repeal designation by-law: before considering an application from an owner of designated property, to repeal the by-law or part thereof designating the property (s. 31 (2);
  • On easements or covenants: before passing by-laws providing for the entering into of easements or covenants with owners of real property, or interests therein, for the conservation of buildings of cultural heritage value or interest (s. 37 (1));

Under Part V of the Act, once a municipal heritage committee is established, council is required to consult with it:

  • before passing a by-law to define one or more areas as an area to be examined for future designation as a heritage conservation district (s. 40(2)).

Additional roles and responsibilities

A municipal heritage committee's activities flow from its statutory authority and are part of its advisory functions. Council can and should assign additional responsibilities, through council resolutions, that all municipal heritage committees should fulfill, regardless of their size or location:

  • Survey, inventory and research. Many committees and their councils have begun active heritage conservation programs by conducting surveys or inventories that examine, research and evaluate all the properties and areas worthy of protection — now or in the future. These findings can make individual designation decisions easier and more reliable. They can also show a community the value and importance of its cultural heritage.
  • Community involvement and liaison with the community. Municipal authorities cannot provide all the opportunities for heritage conservation in a community. A heritage committee provides its community with a recognized forum to express its interests in heritage conservation and to learn about heritage issues. In addition, cooperation and consultation with other heritage and community organizations supports existing networks and promotes community involvement.
  • Information and education. Committees promote heritage conservation within communities, advise property owners on appropriate conservation and maintenance practices and help people determine the value of heritage resources for protection through designation. They also produce newsletters, descriptive guides, exhibits, and other educational material about notable buildings, streets, and districts. These materials raise community and visitor interest in the distinctive and attractive qualities of a community's environment.
  • Municipal planning. Many pieces of legislation, including the Ontario Heritage Act, Environmental Assessment Act, Planning Act, Niagara Escarpment Planning and Development Act, Municipal Act, Occupational Health and Safety Act, Fire Marshals Act, Conservation Authorities Act, Green Energy Act, Ontario Building Code have implications for heritage conservation. Committees can provide data, review heritage studies, provide advice on mitigation measures, offer advice and guidance and administer designated property grant programs. They can also play an important role in developing heritage conservation policies for the Official Plan and in reviewing zoning bylaws to ensure they have regard for and implement heritage conservation.
  • Municipal council. Committees should be responsible for keeping council informed of their plans and activities — often through committee minutes, reports and an annual report. Appointed council members can sit on the committee to enhance communication.
  • Financial accountability. A committee is accountable to council for its financial transactions. In some municipalities, the municipal treasurer meets this responsibility by establishing separate records on behalf of the committee, and centralizing all bookkeeping and accounting in the municipal clerk's office according to established municipal procedures. The committee prepares an annual budget and submits it to council at a time specified by council.

Rôles et responsabilités d'un comité municipal du patrimoine

La participation des citoyens est essentielle à la conservation du patrimoine. Toute personne intéressée par la conservation du patrimoine et capable de travailler au sein de la collectivité dans un cadre municipal, et qui peut consacrer du temps à la réalisation des objectifs du comité, peut participer aux processus décisionnels de sa municipalité en se joignant au comité municipal du patrimoine.

Qu'est-ce qu'un comité municipal du patrimoine?
Le comité municipal du patrimoine est un comité consultatif. À ce titre, il permet à une collectivité de participer plus directement au processus décisionnel en élargissant la portée des informations prises en compte dans le processus au moment où la municipalité traite de questions d'intérêt communautaire.

Le rôle d'un comité consultatif se résume comme suit :

  • conseiller et faire des recommandations;
  • apporter connaissances et expertise;
  • faciliter le travail du corps organisateur en assurant une représentation franche et honnête, en créant un climat de consensus et en maintenant l'intégrité du comité;
  • être à l'écoute des besoins de la collectivité qu'il représente;
  • promouvoir la bonne volonté et la confiance au sein de la collectivité et de la population en général;
  • assurer la liaison entre les politiciens, le personnel organisationnel, les membres du public et les autres intervenants.

Les membres du comité proviennent de la collectivité et représentent divers intérêts et points de vue. Leur rôle consiste à conseiller et à faire des recommandations, mais à l'intérieur des limites définies dans le mandat élaboré par le corps organisateur.

En tant que représentant de la collectivité, le comité consultatif est reconnu comme un véhicule légitime de la coordination et de la transmission des préoccupations de la collectivité. Il joue donc un rôle très important puisqu'il permet à la collectivité de participer plus directement au processus décisionnel.

Le comité municipal du patrimoine est un comité permanent du conseil et, par conséquent, une partie intégrante de la structure municipale. Il fonctionne sous la direction du conseil et, en général, lui rend compte directement ou par l'intermédiaire d'un autre comité permanent.

Pour qui travaille le comité municipal du patrimoine?

Le comité municipal du patrimoine est nommé par le conseil municipal et doit lui rendre compte. Il aide le conseil à prendre des décisions sur des questions relatives à la désignation légale et à la conservation des biens ayant une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel, notamment les biens individuels et les districts de conservation du patrimoine. Il a donc une responsabilité double :

  • envers la municipalité – agir comme conseiller auprès du conseil sur les questions concernant le patrimoine (en vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario) et effectuer les tâches assignées conformément à la résolution ou au règlement municipal et aux procédures établies par la municipalité;
  • envers les habitants de la municipalité – contribuer à garantir l'élaboration de plans de changement et de progrès de façon à reconnaître la continuité historique de sa collectivité.

Quels sont les rôles et les responsabilités légaux du comité municipal du patrimoine?

L'article 28 de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario définit le rôle du comité comme suit :

  • conseiller le conseil municipal sur les questions relatives à la partie IV (Conservation des biens ayant une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel) et à la désignation de districts de conservation du patrimoine en vertu de la partie V;
  • conseiller le conseil municipal sur toute autre question relative au patrimoine qu'il précise par règlement municipal.

Selon la partie IV de la Loi, une fois que le conseil municipal crée un comité municipal du patrimoine, il doit consulter ce comité :

  • au cours du processus de désignation des biens et des districts;
  • lors des demandes de transformation des biens désignés;
  • lors des demandes de démolition ou d'enlèvement;
  • lors des demandes d'abrogation de règlement de désignation;

En vertu de la partie IV de la Loi, plus particulièrement, si un comité municipal du patrimoine est créé, le conseil doit le consulter :

  • avant de donner l'avis d'intention de désigner un bien (par. 29(2));
  • lors d'une demande de transformation d'un bien désigné si celle-ci aura vraisemblablement une incidence sur les attributs patrimoniaux du bien, énoncés dans le règlement qui désigne le bien (par. 33(1));
  • lors d'une demande de démolition ou d'enlèvement d'un bâtiment ou d'une construction qui se trouve sur un bien désigné (par. 34(1));
  • lors d'une demande d'abrogation d'un règlement de désignation : avant d'étudier une demande du propriétaire d'un bien désigné pour abroger le règlement ou une partie du règlement qui désigne le bien (par. 32(2));
  • pour les servitudes et les engagements : avant d'adopter des règlements municipaux qui prévoient la constitution de servitudes ou la conclusion d'engagements avec les propriétaires de biens immeubles, ou des droits qui s'y rattachent, dans le but de conserver des biens qui ont une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel (par. 37(1)).

En vertu de la partie V de la Loi, le conseil doit consulter le comité municipal du patrimoine :

  • avant d'adopter un règlement visant à définir une zone devant faire l'objet d'une étude en vue de sa désignation comme district de conservation du patrimoine (par. 40(2)).

Quels sont les autres rôles et responsabilités du comité municipal du patrimoine?

Les activités du comité municipal du patrimoine découlent de son pouvoir légal et font partie de ses fonctions de consultation. Le conseil municipal peut et devrait lui assigner des responsabilités supplémentaires au moyen de résolutions. Ces responsabilités doivent être remplies par tous les comités municipaux du patrimoine, peu importe leur taille et leur emplacement.

  • Sondage, inventaire et recherche. De nombreux comités et leur conseil ont entrepris des programmes de conservation du patrimoine en réalisant des sondages ou des inventaires visant à examiner, à étudier et à évaluer tous les biens et les zones qui méritent d'être protégés à l'heure actuelle ou à l'avenir. Les résultats de telles activités peuvent rendre les décisions de désignation plus faciles et fiables. Ils peuvent également démontrer à la collectivité la valeur et l'importance de son patrimoine culturel.
  • Participation communautaire et liaison avec la collectivité. L'administration municipale ne peut pas offrir toutes les occasions de conservation du patrimoine dans la collectivité. Le comité municipal du patrimoine fournit un forum reconnu qui permet à la collectivité d'exprimer son intérêt pour la conservation du patrimoine et de connaître les questions relatives au patrimoine. En outre, la collaboration avec d'autres organismes communautaires et de mise en valeur du patrimoine permet d'appuyer les réseaux existants et de promouvoir la participation communautaire.
  • Information. Le comité municipal du patrimoine encourage la conservation du patrimoine au sein de la collectivité, informe les propriétaires de biens des pratiques appropriées en matière de conservation et d'entretien, et aide à déterminer la valeur des ressources patrimoniales pour leur protection par désignation. Il publie des bulletins, des guides descriptifs, des présentations et d'autre matériel d'information sur les bâtiments, les rues et les districts d'une importance notable, afin d'éveiller l'intérêt de la collectivité et des visiteurs envers les qualités distinctes et la beauté de leur environnement.
  • Planification municipale. Un grand nombre de lois ont des répercussions sur la conservation du patrimoine, dont la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario, la Loi sur les évaluations environnementales, la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire, la Loi sur la planification et l'aménagement de l'escarpement du Niagara, la Loi sur les municipalités, la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, la Loi sur les commissaires des incendies, la Loi sur les offices de protection de la nature, la Loi sur l'énergie verte et le Code du bâtiment de l'Ontario. Le comité municipal du patrimoine peut fournir des données, examiner les études sur le patrimoine, prodiguer des conseils sur les mesures d'atténuation et administrer les programmes de subventions pour la préservation des biens désignés. Il joue aussi un rôle déterminant dans l'élaboration de politiques sur la conservation du patrimoine pour le plan officiel et dans l'examen des règlements de zonage afin de s'assurer qu'ils intègrent des mesures de conservation du patrimoine.
  • Conseil municipal. Le comité municipal du patrimoine doit tenir le conseil municipal au courant de ses projets et de ses activités, souvent en utilisant les procès-verbaux et les rapports, dont le rapport annuel. Un autre moyen de favoriser la communication est de faire siéger au comité les membres nommés du conseil.
  • Imputabilité financière. Le comité municipal du patrimoine doit rendre compte de ses transactions financières au conseil. Dans certaines municipalités, le trésorier remplit cette obligation en établissant des registres séparés au nom du comité et en centralisant la tenue de livres et la comptabilité au secrétariat municipal, conformément aux procédures établies par la municipalité. Le comité prépare un budget annuel et le soumet au conseil au moment fixé par ce dernier.