How municipalities set up and work with Municipal Heritage Committees

The best possible way for municipal councils to begin the establishment of a heritage conservation program in their community is to establish a Municipal Heritage Committee.

The role of municipalities

Under the Ontario Heritage Act, a municipality is "a city, town, village, township or improvement district and includes a band under the Indian Act (Canayda) that is permitted to control, manage and expend its revenue moneys under section 68 of that Act."

It is the inherent responsibility of municipalities to formulate heritage policies and principles, and, whenever possible, to initiate a heritage conservation program. The Act says that municipal councils have the power to:

  • Establish a municipal heritage committee (s. 28)
  • Designate individual property (Part IV of the Act) and designate districts or areas (Part V of the Act, s.29, s.41)
  • Issue or refuse permits to alter or demolish a designated property (Parts IV and V, s.33, 34, s.42, 43, 44)
  • Repeal designation by-laws (s. 31, 32)
  • Purchase or lease individually designated property (s.36(1))
  • Expropriate designated property (s.36(2))
  • Provide grants and loans to designated property owners (s. 39)
  • Enter into easements and covenants with property owners (s.37(1))

As a result, a municipal council is responsible for:

  • Setting the municipal budget to be used for heritage conservation
  • Carrying out heritage conservation policies in its Official Plan and the Official Plan amendments
  • Receiving recommendations and consulting with the municipal heritage committee if there is one, and having due regard for the committee's advice on designation, alterations to designated property, demolition, repeal of designation by-laws, and other matters relating to heritage conservation in the municipality.

The Ontario Heritage Act provides that the council of a municipality that forms part of a county, a metropolitan, regional, or district municipality may delegate its power to establish a municipal heritage committee to the council of such county, metropolitan, regional, or district municipality of which it forms a part (s. 36(3)). This means that a lower-tier municipal council can choose to delegate its authority to establish a heritage committee to an upper-tier municipality of which it is a part.

Terms of reference and other procedures

Most municipalities establish a municipal heritage committee through a municipal procedural by-law. Once council passes a by-law that establishes a municipal heritage committee, it would typically assign responsibilities that meet the requirements of the Act. Municipal heritage committees can and should get a copy of the by-law that created them from the clerk.

The by-law establishing the municipal heritage committee should set out specific terms of reference that set out clear roles and relationships between the municipal heritage committee and the municipality. Clear, well-defined terms of reference will go a long way toward maintaining a harmonious and productive relationship.

This chart shows the main components of clear, well-defined terms of reference.

What's in a
"Terms of reference"

Purpose or need

Mandate

Time frame


Resources required

Powers

Accountability


Potential membership

Communications process



Evaluation format

Purpose


Avoid duplication by other committees

Set out goals

Set out when the committee will start, how long it will exist, how frequently it will meet, how much time committee work will take

Set out staff, expenses, equipment

Set out authority and limitations

Set out reporting lines: to whom and in what form (eg. reports, studies, minutes)

Set out who selects members and selection criteria

Set out who should hear about the committee and how information should be communicated, take into consideration sensitivity and confidentiality

Measure achievement of goals

In addition to terms of reference, many municipalities have procedural by-laws for their standing committees that govern appointments to the committee, procedures, rules, duties and other responsibilities.

Who serves on a municipal heritage committee?

Each municipal council must determine the qualifications and the number of members for its municipal heritage committee. Council will consider factors such as the size of the municipality, its organizational structure and the extent of its heritage program. Although the Ontario Heritage Act requires a minimum of five members, most communities find that seven to 11 members better represent their communities.

Ideally, a heritage committee should include people representative of the community that represent a balanced cross-section of local interests and perspectives. Its members' diverse skills and disciplines could include architectural conservation techniques, management, historical research, and knowledge of the community's heritage. Strong advocacy, communications, and organizational skills are also essential. Their background should give them the technical and professional expertise to make decisions and policies informed by their understanding of complex heritage conservation issues, reliable technical and professional advice, and knowledge of their local community.

If a broad-based membership that combines the prerequisite skills is not possible, sharing human resources with a neighbouring municipality can be an effective, mutually beneficial compromise. Another option is for municipalities to provide ongoing training and educational programs that encourage local citizens to acquire new skills and increase community participation in the conservation of local heritage resources.

How councils choose committee members

Council appoints municipal heritage committee members. It will often advertise for members or recruit them in other ways. Some municipalities organize orientation sessions for people interested in serving on various committees prior to accepting applications, so that the volunteers will know exactly what will be expected of them if they are selected to serve. In other cases, a heritage homeowner, a community group or organization can approach council to start the process of setting up a municipal heritage committee.

The municipal by-law set up by council to establish the committee should comply with the municipal policy governing conflict of interest (council can get this information from the municipal clerk) and state membership criteria, including:

  • How long a person serves on the committee (a fixed term is recommended). While appointments to the committee generally range from one-to four-year terms, or concurrent to the term of council, terms of service for committee members can vary.
  • For how many terms members can be reappointed. A regular infusion of keen, new, active members — some experienced, some inexperienced — will constantly renew every committee. And committees can set up a category of non-voting associate member who would be consulted on issues or who undertake special projects, in order not to lose the experience and expertise of former committee members once their term is up.
  • The clerk, municipal solicitor, building inspector, or planner (by virtue of their positions) could be named non-voting members of the committee or resource staff.

The committee should look at the pattern of terms of appointment in its municipality to determine what is appropriate for it.

The role of municipal staff

Staff roles often depend on municipal resources. Their involvement with a heritage advisory committee varies from municipality to municipality.

Ideally, one staff person should be identified as the contact between the public, City Hall and the municipal heritage committee. This individual could answer routine inquiries, forward literature on behalf of the committee, and help out on administrative work, such as procedural duties specified by the Act, including service and publication of notices and registration of documents.
Municipal heritage committees interact or relate to a number of different municipal departments or staff, including the clerk's office, planning, building, legal, recreation and parks, by-law enforcement, property standards, etc.

In larger municipalities, the municipal heritage committee may be assigned to a particular department such as planning or the clerk's office. This department should specify which of its resources the committee should reasonably expect. These resources could include a staff liaison, photocopying, a meeting space, coffee, letterhead, filing space, typing, etc.

How committees and councils can work together

Volunteers who serve on a heritage committee are directly involved in making decisions that affect their community. Committees are not, however, autonomous. They are established by a municipal by-law and can only exercise the authority granted to them by council. All final decisions rest with council.

Municipal councillors and municipal staff can provide the liaison and support to enable a municipal heritage committee effectively implement a successful heritage conservation program in a community. This is why the municipal heritage committee's reporting relationship to council is so important.

Committees should keep council informed, at all times, of their operations and recommendations — through minutes, reports to council, annual reports, and updates on activities. Some committees report through planning advisory or community development committees or other standing committees, or even through the municipal chief administrative officer. The more direct the access or reporting relationship, the better.

Appointing one or two municipal council members to a heritage committee can keep lines of communication open and maintain working relationships with each municipal department. A council member can, for instance, bring the committee's work to the attention of the council, introduce by-laws at the appropriate time, and inform the committee of the council's expectations and requirements.

Funding of a municipal heritage committee

The municipal council provides its municipal heritage committee with a budget. Budgets vary across the province. They reflect the availability of municipal resources and are a good indicator of the extent of heritage conservation programs undertaken by the municipality.

The heritage committee should submit an operating budget once a year to the finance committee or directly to municipal council. The budget process itself is a strategic planning exercise that helps the committee set its program objectives and goals for the year. It should outline the committee's activities, expenses, and revenues, if any.

While council should provide the resources required for the effective functioning of the committee, most local municipal guidelines allow municipal heritage committees to seek support from the private or service sectors in their community for special projects. This support could include donations of services, supplies, funding, etc. Committees should follow local municipal guidelines when seeking financial or service support from the community.

For more information

Please consult the Ontario Heritage Tool Kit - A Guide to Establishing and Sustaining an Effective Municipal Heritage Committee or contact Bert Duclos, Heritage Outreach Consultant at 416-314-7154 or bert.duclos@ontario.ca

Constitution et fonctionnement d'un comité municipal du patrimoine

Le meilleur moyen pour un conseil municipal d'entreprendre la mise en œuvre d'un programme de conservation du patrimoine au sein de la collectivité est de mettre sur pied un comité municipal du patrimoine.

Quel est le rôle des municipalités?

Dans la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario, on entend par municipalité une cité, une ville, un village, un canton ou un district en voie d'organisation. S'entend en outre d'une bande au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens (Canada), à laquelle il est permis de contrôler, d'administrer et de dépenser ses deniers de revenu aux termes de l'article 69 de cette loi.

Il incombe aux municipalités de formuler des politiques et des principes en matière de patrimoine et, dans la mesure du possible, de mettre sur pied un programme de conservation du patrimoine. En vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario, le conseil municipal est habilité à :

  • constituer un comité municipal du patrimoine (art. 28);
  • désigner un bien en vertu de la partie IV de la Loi et désigner des districts ou des zones en vertu de la partie V de la Loi (art. 29 et 41);
  • émettre ou refuser les permis pour transformer ou démolir un bien désigné conformément aux parties IV et V de la Loi (art. 33, 34, 42, 43 et 44);
  • abroger les règlements de désignation (art. 31 et 32);
  • acquérir par achat ou location un bien désigné (par. 36(1));
  • exproprier un bien désigné (par. 36(2));
  • octroyer des subventions et des prêts au propriétaire d'un bien désigné (art. 39);
  • constituer des servitudes et conclure des engagements avec les propriétaires de biens (par. 37(1)).

Ainsi, le conseil municipal a les responsabilités suivantes :

  • établir le budget municipal devant être utilisé pour la conservation du patrimoine;
  • mettre en place des politiques de conservation du patrimoine dans le plan officiel et ses modifications;
  • recevoir les recommandations et consulter le comité municipal du patrimoine, s'il en existe un, et tenir compte des conseils du comité quant à la désignation, à la transformation d'un bien désigné, à la démolition, à l'abrogation des règlements de désignation et à d'autres questions concernant la conservation du patrimoine dans la municipalité.

Le paragraphe 36(3) de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario prévoit que le conseil d'une municipalité qui fait partie d'une municipalité régionale, de comté, de communauté urbaine ou de district peut déléguer son pouvoir de constituer un comité municipal du patrimoine au conseil de la municipalité régionale, de comté, de communauté urbaine ou de district dont il fait partie. Par conséquent, le conseil d'une municipalité de palier inférieur peut choisir de déléguer son pouvoir de créer un comité municipal du patrimoine à une municipalité de palier supérieur dont il fait partie.

Mandat et autres procédures

La plupart des municipalités créent leur comité du patrimoine par règlement. Lorsque le conseil municipal adopte un règlement sur la constitution d'un comité municipal du patrimoine, il lui confie habituellement des responsabilités qui satisfont aux exigences de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario. Le comité municipal du patrimoine peut et devrait obtenir le texte du règlement auprès du secrétaire.
Le règlement constituant le comité municipal du patrimoine devrait prévoir un mandat bien précis qui définit clairement le rôle du comité et de la municipalité ainsi que les rapports qu'ils entretiennent. Un document clair et précis permettra de maintenir une relation harmonieuse et productive.
Le tableau qui suit contient les principaux éléments d'un mandat clair et bien défini.

Élément du mandat

Objet ou nécessité

Mandat

Calendrier

Ressources nécessaires

Pouvoirs

Reddition de comptes


Membres éventuels


Processus de communication


Format d'évaluation

But

Éviter le chevauchement de comités

Définir les objectifs

Définir la date de début des activités du comité, la durée de son existence, la fréquence des réunions et le temps que demandera le travail du comité

Déterminer le personnel, les dépenses et l'équipement nécessaires

Établir les autorisations et les limites

Déterminer à qui adresser les comptes rendus et sous quelle forme (rapports, études, procès-verbaux)

Indiquer les personnes chargées de choisir les membres ainsi que les critères de sélection

Préciser les personnes devant être informées de l'existence du comité et la façon de communiquer l'information, considérer la confidentialité

Définir le niveau de réussite

De nombreuses municipalités adoptent également des règlements pour leurs comités permanents, pour régir notamment les nominations au comité, les procédures, les règles et les tâches.

Qui siège au comité municipal du patrimoine?

Chaque conseil municipal doit déterminer les compétences et le nombre de membres de son comité du patrimoine, en fonction de critères tels que l'importance de la municipalité, sa structure organisationnelle et l'envergure de son programme du patrimoine. La Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario exige un minimum de cinq membres pour un comité municipal du patrimoine, mais la plupart des collectivités croient qu'il vaut mieux avoir de sept à onze membres.

Idéalement, les membres d'un comité municipal du patrimoine représentent les divers intérêts et points de vue de la collectivité, en plus de maîtriser une vaste gamme de compétences et de disciplines, comme les techniques de conservation de l'architecture, la gestion, la recherche historique et la connaissance du patrimoine de la collectivité. Les membres doivent également avoir d'excellentes aptitudes pour la participation aux débats, la communication et l'organisation. Enfin, ils doivent posséder les compétences techniques et professionnelles qui leur permettront de saisir la complexité de certaines questions de conservation du patrimoine, d'offrir des conseils fiables et de comprendre la réalité de leur collectivité, ce qui éclairera la prise de décisions et l'élaboration de politiques.

S'il est impossible de réunir des membres divers possédant toutes les compétences préalablement nécessaires, l'échange de ressources humaines avec une municipalité voisine représente un compromis efficace et mutuellement bénéfique. Une autre solution consiste à élaborer des programmes éducatifs et de formation continue qui encouragent les habitants de la municipalité à acquérir de nouvelles aptitudes et accroissent leur participation à la conservation des ressources patrimoniales locales.

Quelle est la procédure de nomination des membres d'un comité municipal du patrimoine?

Les membres d'un comité municipal du patrimoine sont nommés par le conseil, souvent par un processus d'annonce. Certaines municipalités organisent des séances d'orientation pour les personnes intéressées à siéger à divers comités, avant d'accepter les candidatures. Les bénévoles savent donc exactement à quoi s'attendre s'ils sont choisis. Dans d'autres cas, un propriétaire de bien patrimonial, un groupe communautaire ou un organisme peut demander la permission au conseil d'entreprendre le processus de création d'un comité.

Le règlement établi par le conseil pour régir la constitution du comité doit être conforme au règlement municipal sur les conflits d'intérêts (le conseil peut obtenir des renseignements auprès du secrétaire municipal) et préciser les critères de sélection :

  • durée du mandat au sein du comité (une durée déterminée est recommandée). En général, la durée du service des membres varie entre un et quatre ans ou correspond à la durée du mandat du conseil;
  • nombre de fois qu'un membre peut être renommé. Chaque comité a besoin de se renouveler régulièrement par l'ajout de nouveaux membres actifs et enthousiastes, expérimentés ou non. Afin de pouvoir bénéficier de l'expérience et de l'expertise des anciens membres, certains comités peuvent établir une catégorie de membres associés sans droit de vote, que l'on consulte sur certaines questions ou à qui l'on confie des projets spéciaux;
  • le secrétaire, l'avocat-conseil, l'inspecteur des bâtiments ou le planificateur (en raison de leur poste) peuvent être nommés membres sans droit de vote du comité ou du personnel-ressource.

Le comité devrait étudier le modèle de durée des mandats dans sa municipalité pour déterminer ce qui est approprié à son cas.

Quel est le rôle des employés municipaux?

Le rôle des employés dépend souvent des ressources municipales. Leur participation au comité municipal du patrimoine varie d'une municipalité à l'autre.

Idéalement, un employé devrait être désigné comme personne-ressource pour le public, l'hôtel de ville et le comité municipal du patrimoine. Cette personne répondrait aux demandes de renseignements, enverrait de la documentation au nom du comité et accomplirait des fonctions administratives telles que des tâches procédurales prévues par la loi, y compris la signification et la publication d'avis et l'enregistrement de documents.

Le comité municipal du patrimoine travaille ou entretient des rapports avec différents services ou employés municipaux : secrétariat, planification, bâtiments, service juridique, loisirs et parcs, application des règlements, normes foncières, etc.

Dans les grandes municipalités, le comité municipal du patrimoine peut relever d'un service particulier comme la planification ou le secrétariat. Ce service devrait préciser les ressources destinées au comité municipal du patrimoine, par exemple un agent de liaison, la photocopie, un local de réunion, du café, du papier à en-tête, un espace pour le classement et la dactylographie.

De quelles façons les comités et les conseils peuvent-ils collaborer?

Les bénévoles qui siègent à un comité municipal du patrimoine participent directement à la prise de décisions qui ont une incidence sur leur collectivité. Le comité n'est toutefois pas autonome. Il est constitué par un règlement municipal et exerce les pouvoirs que le conseil lui a conférés. Toutes les décisions finales incombent au conseil.

Les conseillers et les employés municipaux peuvent assurer la liaison et le soutien qui permettent au comité municipal du patrimoine de mettre en œuvre un programme de conservation du patrimoine au sein de la collectivité. Il est donc important que le comité municipal du patrimoine rende compte au conseil

Le comité doit toujours tenir le conseil au courant de ses activités et de ses recommandations au moyen de procès-verbaux, de rapports au conseil, de rapports annuels et de bilans. Certains comités rendent compte par l'intermédiaire de comités consultatifs de planification, de comités de développement communautaire ou d'autres comités permanents, ou même par l'intermédiaire du chef des services municipaux. Cependant, il vaut mieux entretenir un lien de communication direct avec le conseil.

La nomination d'un ou deux membres du conseil municipal au comité municipal du patrimoine permet de maintenir un lien de communication entre les deux parties et une relation de travail avec chaque service municipal. Par exemple, un membre du conseil peut mentionner le travail du comité au conseil, introduire des règlements au moment opportun et informer le comité des attentes et des exigences du conseil.

Quelles sont les sources de financement d'un comité municipal du patrimoine?

Le conseil municipal fournit un budget à son comité du patrimoine. Les budgets varient dans l'ensemble de la province; ils indiquent la disponibilité des ressources municipales et l'importance du programme de conservation du patrimoine entrepris par la municipalité.

Le comité municipal du patrimoine devrait soumettre une fois par année un budget d'exploitation au comité des finances ou directement au conseil municipal. Le processus budgétaire constitue un exercice de planification stratégique qui aide le comité à se fixer des objectifs et des buts pour l'année. Il doit décrire les activités, les dépenses et les recettes du comité, le cas échéant.

Même si le conseil devrait fournir les ressources nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du comité, la plupart des lignes directrices municipales autorisent le comité municipal du patrimoine à demander l'appui du secteur public ou privé au sein de sa collectivité pour mener à bien des projets spéciaux. Cette aide peut prendre la forme de dons de services, de fournitures, de fonds, etc. Le comité municipal du patrimoine devrait suivre les lignes directrices municipales lorsqu'il demande des fonds ou des services à la collectivité.

Pour plus d'information

Consultez la publication Votre collectivité, votre patrimoine, votre comité – Guide d'établissement et de maintien d'un comité municipal du patrimoine efficace. Vous pouvez également communiquer avec Bert Duclos, conseiller, liaison en matière de patrimoine, au 416 314-7154 ou à l'adresse bert.duclos@ontario.ca.