Blue church Home arrow Culture arrow Heritage

Ontario Heritage Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. 0.18

The Ontario Heritage Act came into force in 1975:

  • Its purpose: to give municipalities and the provincial government powers to preserve the heritage of Ontario.
  • Its primary focus: to protect heritage properties and archaeological sites.
  • Important provisions. It also mandates a Crown agency — Ontario Heritage Trust and the Conservation Review Board — a tribunal that hears objections to municipal and provincial decisions under the Act.
  • on-line from Publications Ontario
  • Telephone 1-800-668-9938
  • At a ServiceOntario Centre
    Toronto
    ServiceOntario Centre
    College Park Building
    777 Bay Street, Market Level, M5G 2C8

Ontario Heritage Act Amendments

The Government Efficiency Act came into force on November 26, 2002. It included changes to the Ontario Heritage Act to clarify, update and streamline its provisions related to archaeology and built heritage protection.

These changes were an interim measure. In 2005, the government passed comprehensive amendments to the Ontario Heritage Act. These amendments modified those made in the Government Efficiency Act. They strengthen and improve heritage protection in Ontario, bring Ontario's heritage legislation in line with leading jurisdictions in Canada and:

  • Give the province and municipalities new powers to delay and also to stop demolition of heritage sites. They balance enhanced demolition controls with an appeals process that respects the rights of property owners.
  • Further expand the province's ability to identify and designate sites of provincial heritage significance.
  • Provide clear standards and guidelines for the preservation of provincial heritage properties.
  • Enhance protection of heritage conservation districts, marine heritage sites and archaeological resources.

Blue Church Accueil arrow La culture arrow Le patrimoine

Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario, L.R.O. 1990, ch. O.18

La Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario est entrée en vigueur en 1975.

  • Elle a pour but de donner aux municipalités et au gouvernement provincial les pouvoirs juridiques de préserver le patrimoine ontarien.
  • Elle concerne essentiellement la protection des biens historiques et des sites archéologiques.
  • Elle régit aussi la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, un organisme de la Couronne, et la Commission des biens culturels, qui tient des audiences sur la contestation de décisions municipales et provinciales prises en vertu de la Loi.

Vous pouvez acheter le texte de loi à :
Publications Ontario
50, rue Grosvenor
Toronto (Ontario)  M7A 1N8
Téléphone : 416 326‑5300

Modifications à la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario

La Loi sur l'efficience du gouvernement, entrée en vigueur le 26 novembre 2002, prévoyait des modifications à la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario dans le but de clarifier, de mettre à jour et de simplifier les dispositions de cette loi concernant la protection des sites archéologiques et des lieux patrimoniaux construits.

En 2005, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a adopté des modifications d'envergure à la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario qui ont touché les changements apportés dans le cadre de la Loi sur l'efficience du gouvernement. En plus de renforcer et d'améliorer la protection du patrimoine de l'Ontario et de faire en sorte que la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario cadre avec les lois semblables en vigueur dans les principales administrations du Canada, ces modifications :

  • confèrent à la province et aux municipalités de nouveaux pouvoirs leur permettant de retarder et même d'empêcher la démolition des lieux patrimoniaux. Dans le but de respecter les droits des propriétaires de biens patrimoniaux, des contrôles plus rigoureux s'appliquant aux activités de démolition s'accompagnent de la mise sur pied d'un processus d'appel;

  • accroissent la capacité de la province de répertorier et de désigner les lieux patrimoniaux d'importance provinciale;
  • établissent des normes et des directives claires pour la préservation des biens patrimoniaux provinciaux;
  • permettent de mieux protéger les districts de conservation du patrimoine, les lieux patrimoniaux maritimes ainsi que les ressources archéologiques.