People sitting by a water fountain Home arrow Culture arrow Cultural Planning

Cultural Planning

Cultural planning is a place-based approach to planning and development.

It is a process for identifying and leveraging a community's cultural resources, strengthening the management of those resources, and integrating those resources across all facets of local planning and decision making.

The process takes into account how culture supports four essential pillars of sustainability:

  • Economic prosperity
  • Social equity
  • Environmental responsibility
  • Cultural vitality.

It is led by the group in charge of local planning decisions. This means that the municipality leads municipal cultural planning, while the Indigenous governing authority leads Indigenous cultural planning. Broad community engagement and endorsement is key to its success.

This is a map showing the 69 approved municipal cultural plans in Ontario. The key below indicates whether a plan is for a lower-tier municipality, an upper-tier municipality, a single-tier municipality or for a combination of these. You can access information on each municipality or group of municipalities and the year the plan was approved by clicking on the icons. Click the name of the municipality for a link to the plan, if available.

Have an update about your municipality? To let us know please contact your regional advisor (right-click to save to your computer)

Culture Planning Map Marker Legend
Marker green marker orange marker purple marker pink marker
Description Lower Tier Upper Tier Single Tier Combination

Download the Cultural Planning Map data as an .XLSX file.

The cultural planning process

While no one model is suitable for all cultural planning, the process, in general, has five important and distinct phases. Indigenous cultural planning is still evolving; it may eventually require additional or specific phases.

Phase one: start-up

  • Confirm goals and priorities
  • Secure approval by municipal or Indigenous governing authority to undertake cultural planning
  • Convene local municipal or Indigenous governing authority staff working group and steering group for the plan.

Phase two: identify where we are

  • Planning context — determine the community's existing plans and priorities
  • Cultural mapping — identify the community's cultural resources
  • Cultural assessment — analyse the cultural resources' strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats; determine how to connect them to the planning context.

Phase three: determine where we want to be

  • Define desired shared future — establish overall vision and strategic direction through consultation.
  • Consult and engage with municipal or Indigenous leaders and staff
  • Undertake broad community engagement with all relevant stakeholders; this may include cultural organizations and businesses, other businesses, academic and community leaders, and community residents.

Phase four: determine how we get there

  • Draft a cultural plan that outlines the vision, roles and partnerships, strategies and actions; include a strategy to strengthen cultural resources management, a cultural administration and governance model (such as a culture department or cultural roundtable), and outline a monitoring and evaluation plan
  • Seek municipal or Indigenous governing authority approval to adopt the cultural plan.

Phase five: determine how culture becomes part of our everyday business

  • Ensure ongoing integration of culture in all facets of local planning and decision making (such as official plans, land use, economic development strategies, tourism strategies and integrated community sustainability plans) by adopting a cultural lens to all government decision making
  • Ensure ongoing updating of cultural mapping and cultural plan(s).

Resources and Tools

How-to guides

For more information and inspiration

People sitting by a water fountain Accueil arrow La culture arrow Planification culturelle

Planification culturelle

La planification culturelle est une démarche de planification et de développement axée sur les réalités locales.

Il s'agit d'un processus visant à déterminer et à exploiter les ressources culturelles d'une collectivité, à renforcer la gestion de ces ressources, et à les intégrer dans tous les volets de la planification et de la prise de décision à l'échelle locale.

Ce processus tient compte de la contribution de la culture aux quatre grands piliers de la durabilité :

  • Prospérité économique
  • Équité sociale
  • Responsabilité environnementale
  • Vitalité culturelle

La planification culturelle est dirigée par le groupe chargé de prendre les décisions de planification à l'échelle locale. Ainsi, la municipalité dirige la planification culturelle municipale, tandis que les autorités autochtones s'occupent de la planification culturelle autochtone. La réussite du processus repose sur la participation et l'appui de l'ensemble de la collectivité.

Voici une carte montrant les 69 plans culturels municipaux approuvés en Ontario. La légende ci-dessous indique si un plan s’adresse à une municipalité de palier inférieur, à une municipalité de palier supérieur, à une municipalité à palier unique ou à une combinaison de celles-ci. Vous pouvez accéder à l’information sur chaque municipalité ou groupe de municipalités et l’année où le plan a été approuvé en cliquant sur les icônes. Cliquez sur le nom de la municipalité pour un lien vers le plan, si ce lien est disponible.

Vous avez une mise à jour à faire à propos de votre municipalité? Pour nous en aviser, communiquez avec votre conseiller touristique régional.

légende des marqueurs de la carte de planification culturelle
marqueur green marker orange marker purple marker pink marker
description palier inférieur palier supérieur palier unique regroupement/autre

Téléchargez les données de la carte de planification culturelle sous la forme d'un fichier .XLSX.

Processus de planification culturelle

Bien qu'il n'existe aucun modèle universel de planification, le processus comporte généralement cinq grandes étapes bien distinctes. La planification culturelle autochtone évolue encore et pourrait nécessiter des étapes supplémentaires ou particulières.

Première étape : démarrage

  • Confirmer les objectifs et les priorités
  • Obtenir l'approbation des autorités municipales ou autochtones avant d'entreprendre la planification
  • Réunir le groupe de travail et le groupe directeur des autorités municipales ou autochtones pour discuter du plan

Deuxième étape : analyse de la situation actuelle

  • Contexte de planification – déterminer les priorités et les plans actuels de la collectivité
  • Recensement des ressources culturelles – déterminer les ressources culturelles de la collectivité
  • Évaluation des ressources culturelles – analyser les forces et les lacunes des ressources culturelles ainsi que les occasions et les risques qu'elles présentent, et déterminer comment les associer au contexte de planification

Troisième étape : élaboration d'une vision

  • Définir la situation future souhaitée dans l'ensemble de la collectivité – établir de façon générale la vision et l'orientation stratégique en menant des consultations
  • Consulter et mobiliser les dirigeants et les employés municipaux ou autochtones
  • Soliciter la participation d’un large éventail d’intervenants au sein de la collectivité, par exemple les organisations et les entreprises culturelles, d'autres types d'entreprises, les dirigeants universitaires et communautaires, ainsi que les résidents de la collectivité

Quatrième étape : détermination de la voie à suivre

  • Rédiger une version préliminaire du plan culturel qui expose les grandes lignes de la vision, des rôles, des partenariats, des stratégies et des mesures; inclure une stratégie de renforcement de la gestion des ressources culturelles et un modèle d'administration et de gouvernance des ressources culturelles, comme un département de la culture ou une table ronde sur la culture; présenter de façon générale un plan de suivi et d'évaluation
  • Faire approuver le plan culturel par les autorités municipales ou autochtones

Cinquième étape : intégration de la culture aux activités quotidiennes

  • Veiller à intégrer la culture dans tous les volets de la planification et de la prise de décision à l'échelle locale : plans officiels, aménagement des terres, stratégies de développement économique et de promotion du tourisme, plans intégrés de durabilité de la collectivité, etc.
  • Tenir à jour la liste des ressources culturelles recensées et les plans culturels

Ressources et outils

Guides :

Pour plus d’information et d’inspiration :