Quotes from Laureates

"What did winning the Premier’s Award for Excellence mean to you?"

Artists


Christi Belcourt

Christi Belcourt

“ I am deeply honoured to have been named the 2016 recipient of the Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Arts. It’s so humbling to have been selected from such a strong group of finalists, each of whom is equally deserving. I donated the $35,000 prize money to the Onaman Collective, in support of the important work we are doing with Indigenous youth. Starting May 1st of 2017, we are starting to build a place on the land where youth and Elders can come to spend time with each other, where Ojibway language (Anishinaabemowin) and traditional knowledge can thrive, and spirituality and worldview are learned directly from the land and waters. ”

Christi Belcourt, Michif (Métis) visual artist and author, won the 2016 Individual Artist Award.


Christian Chapman

Christian Chapman

“ It was huge to be chosen as this year's Emerging Artist by Christi Belcourt, who is such an amazing person and artist. It is very meaningful to be recognized for doing the work I'm so passionate about. The prize will help me to keep doing what I do — telling the stories that I grew up with. ”

Christian Chapman, an Anishinabe visual artist and filmmaker, was honoured as the 2016 Emerging Artist of the Year.


Jane Bunnett

Jane Bunnett

“The Premier’s Award has provided me with a huge emotional lift. I was nominated in a category with exceptional artists who are all doing amazing work. This is a huge endorsement.  This award will inspire me to continue reaching for excellence, new cultures and attracting new audiences. Of course, the money awarded will help me with my music and the production of my next record.   Thanks- this is a huge honour!”

Musician Jane Bunnett is the 2015 Premier’s Awards of Excellence in the Arts Artist Laureate.


Christopher Butcher

Christopher Butcher

 “I am deeply touched that Jane Bunnett nominated me. As someone who broke barriers in jazz, Jane has been an inspiration to many musicians and is an incredible mentor to me. I am looking forward to continuing my musical education in New Orleans thanks in part to the award.  I will be able to come back with a new hybrid of influences Like Toronto and its musical variety; we are at a tipping point becoming a unique multicultural epicentre for music.”

Jane Bunnett nominated Musician Christopher Butcher as her choice for best emerging artist at the 2015 Premier’s Awards.


Lee Maracle

Lee Maracle

“I am very thankful for the Premier’s Award as it afforded me deliberate time for my writing. I was inspired to write and to complete three books including Memory Serves and other oratories, Talking to the Diaspora and Looking for my Father’s Landscape. The first two are out and the third is a novel in progress. I was also given the opportunity to organize new projects and complete administrative work.

First Nations Writer, Lee Maracle is a 2014 Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Arts Laureate.”


Jason Baerg

Jason Baerg

“The Premier’s Award validated my practice and gave me extra fuel to reach for the goal of becoming a professional artist. Seven years later, I am still pushing innovative boundaries in digital interventions in drawing, painting and new media installation. I am extremely grateful for this recognition and support.

Cree Metis Visual Artist Jason Baerg was recognized as a 2008 Premiere's Award emerging artist by Ron Noganosh.”

Organizations


A Different Booklist Owners Itah and Miguel

A Different Booklist

 “On behalf of A Different Booklist, we would like to thank the jury of the Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council and our nominator for this prestigious award. Thanks also to our amazing staff, customers and supporters who have all contributed to our success. This award is recognition of the vital importance of the bookstore to the community. It is a place where scholarship and community meet, where author and emerging writer find a home and a place where children and youth dare to dream! A Different Booklist – yours to discover.”

Itah Sadu and Miguel San Vicente, co-owners of A Different Booklist, are winners of the 2016 Arts Organization Award.


Soulpepper Theatre Company - Spoon River ensemble. Photo: Cylla von Tiedemann

Soulpepper Theatre Company

 “The award is a wonderful vote of confidence for what Soulpepper does.  It is also an important example of this government’s commitment to the cultural industry in Ontario. Shining a spotlight on our leading individuals and organizations is an important step to ensuring a vibrant arts landscape for all Ontarians. Soulpepper is honoured to be in this company. This award and its funding will be invested into the company’s growing activities and providing more employment for our artists.”

Albert Schultz, Artistic Director, Soulpepper Theatre Company. Soulpepper is the 2015 laureate of the Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Arts- Arts Organization.


Ajay Heble

Guelph Jazz Festival

“Winning the Premier’s Award was a milestone achievement, and it provided a tremendous source of pride. The Guelph Jazz Festival was able to use the success, recognition, and prestige that came with winning to do many new and exciting things, including the launch of our very own multi-year Nuit Blanche project- an all-night celebration of creativity. The funding was instrumental in achieving some much-needed financial stability, and it enabled us to attract new staff and volunteers. The Premier’s Awards help to focus public attention on the vital role that arts and culture play in our communities.”

Artistic Director, Ajay Heble’s The Guelph Jazz Festival, is a Premier’s Award for Excellence in the Arts 2010 recipient.


Lydia Adams, Conductor of the Elmer Iseler Singers and The Amadeus Choir

Elmer Iseler Singers

“This extremely important award puts the spotlight on artists in this great province. I feel that the award was a wonderful acknowledgement of my choirs including The Amadeus Choir of Greater Toronto, the Elmer Iseler Singers; and the choral community as a whole, including the many choral singers: children, amateurs and professionals in Ontario who know and experience the power, beauty and passion of choral singing as a truly positive and unifying force in our world. This award gives artists the acknowledgement that they are respected and recognized for all the years they have worked to create excellence within their fields."

Lydia Adams, Conductor of the Elmer Iseler Singers and The Amadeus Choir, is a 2013 Premier’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts recipient.


Geneviève Pineault, Artistic Director, of Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario

Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario

 “Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario - TNO is recognized in our artistic community as a local and regional francophone theatre company of new works. Winning the Premier’s Award has provided acknowledgement of our artistic merit that was previously unimaginable.  For us it is a validation of 40 years of French-language theatre in Northeastern Ontario and the country through our regional tours. The Premier’s Award validates the emergence and solidification of Francophone dramaturgy in Canada. The money will help with future artistic projects or productions above and beyond what we can afford in the current funding structure.”

Geneviève Pineault, Artistic Director, of Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario, Sudbury is a 2014 Premier’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts recipient.

Citations des lauréats

« Qu’est-ce que ça signifie pour vous d’avoir gagné le Prix de la première ministre pour l'excellence artistique? »

Prix Artiste


Christi Belcourt

Christi Belcourt

« Je suis très honorée d’avoir été nommée lauréate du Prix de la première ministre pour l’excellence artistique en 2016. Ma sélection parmi des finalistes aussi forts, dont chacune et chacune méritaient aussi cette distinction, m’émeut beaucoup. J’ai remis le prix en argent de 35 000 $ que j’ai reçu à Onaman Collective, à l’appui du travail important que nous réalisons auprès de jeunes Autochtones. À partir du 1er mai 2017, nous bâtirons un lieu sur une terre où des jeunes et des Aînés pourront se rassembler, où la langue ojibway (Anishinaabemowin) et le savoir traditionnel seront à l’honneur, et où il sera possible d’apprendre directement au contact de la terre et des eaux pour enrichir sa spiritualité et sa vision du monde.  » 

Christi Belcourt, artiste visuelle et auteure michif (métisse), lauréate du prix Artiste


Christian Chapman

Christian Chapman

« J’ai été très honoré d’être choisi comme nouveau talent de l’année par Christi Belcourt, qui est une excellente artiste et une personne formidable. C’est très gratifiant de se voir récompensé pour un travail qui me passionne. Le prix m’aidera à continuer à faire ce que j’aime — raconter des histoires de mon enfance.  » 

Christian Chapman, artiste visuel et cinéaste anishinaabe, a reçu le prix de la catégorie Nouveau talent de l’année 2016.


Jane Bunnett

Jane Bunnett

« Le Prix de la première ministre m'a émotionnellement renforcée. Ma candidature a été proposée dans la catégorie Artiste aux côtés d'artistes exceptionnels qui font tous un travail remarquable. C'est une reconnaissance extraordinaire. Ce prix m'encourage sans cesse à viser l'excellence, m'ouvrir à de nouvelles cultures et attirer de nouveaux publics. Bien entendu, l'argent que j'ai reçu m'a aidée avec ma musique et la production de mon prochain disque. Merci - c'est un immense honneur! » 

La musicienne Jane Bunnett est la lauréate des Prix de la première ministre pour l’excellence artistique, catégorie Artiste, de 2015.


Christopher Butcher

Christopher Butcher

« J'ai été très touché d'avoir été désigné par Jane Bunnett. Jane est quelqu'un qui a repoussé les limites du jazz et elle est une source d'inspiration pour de nombreux musiciens et une mentore remarquable pour moi. Je me réjouis de poursuivre ma formation musicale en Nouvelle-Orléans, en partie grâce à ce prix. Je pourrai revenir avec un nouvel éventail d'influences, comme Toronto et sa variété musicale; nous sommes sur le point de devenir un épicentre multiculturel unique en son genre pour le monde de la musique. »

Jane Bunnett a désigné le musicien Christopher Butcher comme nouveau talent prometteur pour les Prix de la première ministre de 2015.


Lee Maracle

Lee Maracle

« Je suis très reconnaissante au Prix de la première ministre, car il m'a permis de prendre du temps pour écrire. J'ai eu le temps et l'inspiration d'écrire trois livres, Memory Serves and other oratories, Talking to the Diaspora et Looking for my Father’s Landscape. Les deux premiers ont été publiés et je suis encore en train d'écrire le troisième. J'ai aussi eu la possibilité d'organiser de nouveaux projets et de terminer du travail administratif. »

Auteure des Premières Nations, Lee Maracle est la lauréate des Prix de la première ministre pour l’excellence artistique, catégorie Artiste, de 2014


Jason Baerg

Jason Baerg

« Le Prix de la première ministre a validé mes activités et m'a donné ce qui me manquait pour atteindre mon objectif de devenir un artiste professionnel. Sept ans plus tard, je repousse encore les limites innovatrices de l'intervention numérique pour le dessin, la peinture et l'installation de nouveaux médias. Je suis profondément reconnaissant pour cette récompense et ce soutien. »

L'artiste visuel Cree Métis, Jason Baerg a été désigné par Ron Noganosh comme nouveau talent prometteur pour les Prix de la première ministre de 2008.

Prix Organisme artistique


A Different Booklist Owners Itah and Miguel

A Different Booklist

 « Au nom de A Different Booklist, nous tenons à remercier le jury du Prix de la première ministre pour l'excellence artistique, le Conseil des arts de l'Ontario et la personne qui a soumis notre candidature pour ce prix prestigieux. Merci également à notre personnel, à nos clients et aux gens qui nous ont soutenus, toutes des personnes extraordinaires qui ont contribué à notre succès. Ce prix est la reconnaissance de l'importance vitale d’une librairie pour la communauté. Elle est un lieu où l’intellect et la communauté se rencontrent, où les auteurs et les écrivains émergents trouvent une maison et aussi un endroit où les enfants et les jeunes osent rêver! A Different Booklist - à vous de nous découvrir! »

Itah Sadu et Miguel San Vicente, co-propriétaires de A Different Booklist, sont les lauréats du Prix de l’Organisme artistique 2016.


Soulpepper Theatre Company - Spoon River ensemble. Photo: Cylla von Tiedemann

Soulpepper Theatre Company

« Le prix est une remarquable marque de confiance à l'égard du travail de Soulpepper. C'est aussi un exemple important de l'engagement du gouvernement envers l'industrie culturelle en Ontario. Focaliser l'attention sur nos artistes et nos organismes chefs de file est un pas important en vue d'établir un paysage artistique dynamique pour toute la population ontarienne. Soulpepper est honoré d'avoir été choisi pour ce prix. Les fonds reçus seront investis dans les activités croissantes de la société et la création d'emplois pour nos artistes. »

Albert Schultz, directeur artistique, Soulpepper Theatre Company. Soulpepper est le lauréat des Prix de la première ministre pour l’excellence artistique, catégorie Organisme artistique, de 2015.


Ajay Heble

Guelph Jazz Festival

« Gagner le Prix de la première ministre a été un jalon marquant, car il m'a rendu très fier. Le Guelph Jazz Festival a pu utiliser son succès, sa reconnaissance et son prestige qui ont accompagné le prix pour essayer de nouvelles choses passionnantes, comme lancer notre projet pluriannuel Nuit Blanche - une célébration de créativité d'une nuit entière. Les fonds nous ont permis d'atteindre une stabilité financière nécessaire et d'attirer de nouveaux employés et bénévoles. Le Prix de la première ministre contribue à attirer l'attention du public sur le rôle essentiel que les arts et la culture jouent au sein de nos collectivités. »

Le directeur artistique du Guelph Jazz Festival, Ajay Heble, a reçu le Prix de la première ministre pour l’excellence artistique, catégorie Organisme artistique, de 2010.


Lydia Adams, chef d'orchestre, Elmer Iseler Singers et The Amadeus Choir

Elmer Iseler Singers

« Ce prix extrêmement important attire l'attention sur des artistes de notre merveilleuse province. Je crois que le prix décerné a été une très belle récompense de mes chorales, dont la Amadeus Choir of Greater Toronto et les Elmer Iseler Singers, ainsi que de toutes les chorales, dont leurs nombreux chanteurs - enfants, amateurs et professionnels en Ontario - qui ressentent la puissance, la beauté et la passion des chorales comme une force positive et unificatrice dans notre monde. Ce prix confère aux artistes la confirmation qu'ils sont respectés et appréciés pour tous leurs efforts en vue de créer l'excellence dans leurs domaines. »

Lydia Adams, chef d'orchestre, Elmer Iseler Singers et The Amadeus Choir, a reçu le Prix de la première ministre pour l’excellence artistique de 2013.


Geneviève Pineault, Artistic Director, of Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario

Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario

« Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario - TNO est connu dans notre milieu artistique comme une compagnie de théâtre francophone locale et régionale présentant des œuvres contemporaines. Remporter le Prix de la première ministre a conduit à la reconnaissance de notre mérite artistique, ce que nous n'aurions jamais pu imaginer auparavant. Pour nous, c'est la validation de 40 ans de théâtre francophone dans le Nord-Est de l'Ontario et le pays avec nos tournées régionales. Le Prix de la première ministre récompense l'émergence et la solidification de la dramaturgie francophone au Canada. Les fonds nous aideront à réaliser des projets ou des productions artistiques futurs bien au-delà de ce que nous pouvons nous permettre aujourd'hui avec notre structure de financement actuelle. »

Geneviève Pineault, directrice artistique du Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario, Sudbury, a reçu le Prix de la première ministre pour l’excellence artistique de 2014.