Professional development and training

The arts and the production of cultural content are at the core of creative industries. These industries are growing and becoming vital economic drivers. Acquiring new skills and training — particularly those pertaining to the digital transformation — is key to ensuring that Ontario's talent remains competitive and continues to thrive.

Training

Banff Centre for the Arts

The Banff Centre delivers training and professional development programs for artists in all mediums, including theatre, writing, visual and media arts, and film.

Canadian Film Centre

This Toronto-based centre is Canada's pre-eminent training institution for professionals in film, television and new media. It also invests in film and television's future creative and business leaders.

Gardiner Museum

The Gardiner Museum in Toronto is Ontario's foremost museum for ceramics. It offers clay classes and art camps for children, young adults and adults.

National Aboriginal Arts Animator Program

This three-year training program is for students from a cross-section of Canadian indigenous cultures. Its overall focus is storytelling and its core revolves around performing arts practice. It also provides support for related interests, such as new media, film/video, music, dance, spectacle, writing, photography and visual arts/design.

National Ballet School

Canada's National Ballet School is one of the world's foremost training institutions for aspiring young dancers and teachers. It is the only ballet academy in North America to provide elite dance training, academic instruction and residential care on the same campus.

National Screen Institute

This Winnipeg-based organization provides innovative and focused professional training that helps people build careers as writers, directors and producers in Canada's film and television industry.

Ontario College of Art and Design

This College is Canada's largest university for art and design, specializing in creativity and innovation. Its Integrated Media Program, for instance, challenges students to explore the technical and creative possibilities of robotics, film, video, performance art and script writing, digital, electronic and web-based art, animation, audio and sonic arts, and holographic art. Its Material Art and Design program offers courses in ceramics, jewellery/metalsmithing and fibre.

Royal Conservatory of Music

The Royal Conservatory of Music has an extensive music education and training program, as well as a performance centre.

SAW Video

This Ottawa video production cooperative supports independent filmmakers by giving them access to equipment, grants, resources, training and other programs. Development and Other Production Challenges, a guidebook for producers, and Club SAW, a space dedicated to film and video, performance and music are on this site.

Sheridan College

Sheridan College's School of Animation Arts and Design is one of the world's leading animation training institutions. The Crafts and Design Program is the largest program in Canada devoted exclusively to craft education. It provides training in ceramics, furniture, glass and textiles.

Schulich School of Business, York University

The Schulich School of Business at York University offers an MBA in Arts and Media Administration.

Textile Museum of Canada

This Toronto-based museum offers workshops and classes in textile techniques and history. Instructors are professionals in their fields.

Professional development

ArtsSmarts

This program, funded by the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation, pairs artists with teachers to infuse arts across school curricula. Ontario artists interested in working with schoolchildren could look into projects at the Durham School Board or Multicultural Arts for Schools and Communities in Ottawa.

Book Publishers' Professional Association

This association provides a meeting ground and a resource to professionals in the Canadian book trade.

Canadian Crafts Federation

This website provides crafts artists with links to provinces with craft programs.

Canadian Filmmaker

This website, developed by WIFT-T and DGC-Ontario and funded by the Ontario Trillium Foundation, among others, provides guidance to people who are new to the business of filmmaking, including:

  • Comprehensive and authoritative information about how to develop, produce, market and distribute a film or television programs
  • Information about international sales
  • Links to important resources and production funding programs.

Cultural Careers Council Ontario

Cultural Careers Council Ontario develops, facilitates and promotes human resources and career programs, publications, services and partnerships for Ontario's arts and culture community. It also provides a job board of work and volunteer opportunities in the cultural sector.

Cultural Human Resources Council

The Cultural Human Resources Council brings together representatives of arts disciplines and cultural industries to address the training and career development needs of cultural workers — artists, creators, technical staff, managers and all other such professionals, including those who are self employed. Its website includes information and publications of interest to professional artists.

Dance Ontario

This organization's website provides the most comprehensive and searchable list of schools in Canada as well as information about dance classes for independent professional dancers.

Dancer Transition Resource Centre

This centre was founded in 1985 to help dancers make necessary transitions into, within, and from professional performing careers. Its counselling services, skills grants and retraining grants are available to members. It also makes some resources, and workshops and programs it organizes, available to all dancers and professional dance students.

Hot Docs

In addition to its position as North America's largest documentary festival, Hot Docs provides a full range of professional development, market and networking opportunities for documentary film professionals.

Liaison of Independent Filmmakers

A membership-based, non-profit organization that provides affordable access to equipment, education and space for filmmakers, particularly those working with celluloid. It offers a variety of programs, including workshops, equipment rentals and screenings.

Ontario Crafts Council

The Ontario Crafts Council works to foster recognition and appreciation of craft and craftspeople by building a strong, talented, distinct craft community. They offer awards and scholarships, as well as other professional development opportunities.

Theatre Ontario

This website has extensive information for people involved in theatre and performing arts, including workshops, individual counselling services, mentorships and professional development courses offered by Theatre Ontario. The site also has links to other training resources of interest to professional artists.

Women in Film and Television: Toronto

This organization provides year-round training programs, industry events and professional awards for women and men in Canadian screen-based media.

Sculpteur Accueil arrow La culture arrow Les arts et les artistes

Perfectionnement professionnel et formation

Les arts et la production de contenu culturel sont la raison d'être des industries de création, qui sont en plein essor et deviennent de véritables moteurs économiques. L'acquisition de nouvelles compétences et connaissances, en particulier à l'ère numérique, garantira la compétitivité et la réussite des artistes ontariens.

Formation

Banff Centre for the Arts

Ce centre propose des programmes de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel pour les artistes de toutes les disciplines, notamment le théâtre, l'écriture, les arts visuels et médiatiques, et le cinéma.

Centre canadien du film

Situé à Toronto, ce centre est le principal institut de formation au Canada pour les professionnels du cinéma, de la télévision et des nouveaux médias. Il investit aussi dans les chefs créatifs et des affaires de demain.

Musée Gardiner

Le Musée Gardiner de Toronto est le plus important musée de céramique en Ontario. Il propose des cours de poterie et des ateliers d'art pour les enfants, les jeunes et les adultes.

National Aboriginal Arts Animator Program

Ce programme de formation de trois ans est destiné aux étudiants qui constituent un échantillon représentatif des cultures indigènes du Canada. L'accent est mis sur la narration, au sens large, et sur la pratique des arts du spectacle, en particulier. Le programme fournit également du soutien pour les champs d'intérêts connexes tels que les nouveaux médias, le cinéma et la vidéo, la musique, la danse, le spectacle, l'écriture, la photographie ainsi que les arts visuels et le design.

école Nationale de Ballet

L'école Nationale de Ballet du Canada est l'un des premiers établissements au monde pour la formation des danseurs et des professeurs de ballet. Elle est la seule académie de ballet en Amérique du Nord à offrir sous un même toit une formation en danse de premier ordre, l'enseignement scolaire et l'hébergement en résidence.

National Screen Institute

Cet institut de Winnipeg offre une formation professionnelle innovante et spécialisée qui mène à des carrières de scénariste, de réalisateur et de producteur dans l'industrie canadienne du cinéma et de la télévision.

Université de l'école d'art et de design de l'Ontario

Figurant parmi les plus grandes universités d'art et de design au Canada, cet établissement met l'accent sur la créativité et l'innovation. Le programme de médias intégrés, par exemple, met les étudiants au défi d'explorer les possibilités techniques et créatrices de la robotique, du cinéma, de la vidéo, des arts du spectacle et de l'écriture de scénarios, de l'art numérique, électronique et sur Internet, de l'animation, de l'art audio et acoustique, et de l'art holographique. Le programme d'art et de design des matériaux permet d'étudier la céramique, la joaillerie, le travail des métaux et les fibres.

Ressources en français

Formation post-secondaire de langue française en arts (Ontario)

Administration des arts - Université d'Ottawa

Arts d'expression - Université Laurentienne

Arts visuels - Université d'Ottawa

études d'art dramatique - Collège Glendon de l'Université York

Histoire et théorie de l'art - Université Laurentienne, Université de Hearst, Université d'Ottawa et le Collège Glendon de l'Université York

Musique - Université d'Ottawa

Théâtre - Ottawa

Conservatoire royal de musique

Le Conservatoire royal de musique offre un vaste programme d'enseignement et de formation en musique, de même qu'une salle de concert.

SAW Video

Située à Ottawa, cette société coopérative de production vidéo apporte un soutien aux réalisateurs indépendants en leur donnant accès à du matériel, à des subventions, à des ressources, à des programmes de formation et à d'autres types de programmes. Vous trouverez sur ce site le guide Development and Other Production Challenges, destiné aux producteurs, et Club SAW, un espace consacré au cinéma, à la vidéo, au spectacle et à la musique.

Collège Sheridan

La School of Animation Arts and Design du Collège Sheridan est l'un des établissements de formation les plus réputés au monde dans le domaine de l'animation. Le programme de métiers d'art et de design est le plus important programme au Canada à se consacrer exclusivement à l'enseignement des métiers d'arts. Il propose une formation dans les domaines de la céramique, de l'ameublement, du verre et du textile.

Schulich School of Business de l'Université York

Cette école offre une maîtrise en administration des arts et des médias.

Textile Museum of Canada

Situé à Toronto, ce musée propose des ateliers et des cours en histoire et en techniques du textile. Les enseignants sont des professionnels dans leur secteur d'activité.

Perfectionnement professionnel

GénieArts

Ce programme, financé par la Fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell, associe artistes et enseignants en vue d'intégrer l'art aux programmes scolaires. Les artistes de l'Ontario qui souhaitent travailler avec des élèves peuvent s'informer sur les projets du Durham School Board ou de MASC, à Ottawa.

Book Publishers' Professional Association 

Cette association se veut un lieu de rencontre et une source d'information pour les professionnels œuvrant dans le domaine du livre au Canada.

Fédération canadienne des métiers d'art

Ce site Web fournit une liste des provinces et des territoires qui proposent des programmes de métiers d'art.

Canadian Filmmaker

Mis au point par WIFT-T et DGC-Ontario, et financé par la Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario, entre autres organismes, ce site Web fournit des renseignements aux personnes qui débutent dans le cinéma, y compris :

  • des renseignements complets et faisant autorité sur la façon de concevoir, de produire, de commercialiser et de distribuer un film ou une émission de télévision;
  • des informations sur les ventes internationales;
  • des liens vers d'importantes ressources et des programmes de financement en matière de production.

Cultural Careers Council Ontario

Le CCCO élabore, encourage et promeut des programmes de ressources humaines et de formation professionnelle, des publications, des services et des partenariats pour la communauté artistique et culturelle en Ontario. Il dispose d'un tableau d'affichage des offres d'emploi et des possibilités de bénévolat dans le secteur culturel.

Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel

Le CRHSC réunit des représentants de toutes les disciplines culturelles et de l'industrie afin de répondre aux besoins de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel des travailleuses et travailleurs culturels, soit les artistes, les créateurs, le personnel technique, les gestionnaires et tous les autres professionnels du secteur culturel, y compris les travailleuses et les travailleurs autonomes. Le site propose des renseignements et des publications à l'intention des artistes professionnels.

Dance Ontario

Le site Web de Dance Ontario fournit une liste interrogeable d'écoles canadiennes des plus complètes ainsi que des renseignements sur les cours de danse à l'intention des danseurs professionnels indépendants.

Centre de ressources et transition pour danseurs

Le CRTD a été créé en 1985 pour aider les danseurs à effectuer les transitions nécessaires dans le cadre de leur carrière professionnelle dans le secteur des arts du spectacle. Il propose à ses membres des services de counselling, des bourses de formation pratique et des bourses de recyclage professionnel. En outre, le CRTD offre des ressources, des ateliers et des programmes à tous les danseurs et les étudiants en danse professionnelle.

Hot Docs

En plus d'être le plus grand festival de documentaires en Amérique du Nord, Hot Docs offre aux professionnels du documentaire une foule de débouchés et d'occasions de perfectionnement professionnel et de réseautage.

Liaison of Independent Filmmakers (LIFT)

LIFT est une mutuelle à but non lucratif qui donne aux réalisateurs, en particulier ceux qui travaillent avec la pellicule, un accès abordable à du matériel, à des cours et à des locaux. Elle offre différents programmes et ateliers, la location de matériel et des séances de projection.

Ontario Crafts Council

L'OCC vise la reconnaissance et l'appréciation des métiers d'arts et des artisans en bâtissant une communauté soudée d'artisans talentueux et originaux. Il offre des récompenses et des bourses ainsi que d'autres occasions de perfectionnement professionnel.

Ressources en français

Les organismes suivant sont susceptibles d'offrir des ressources en termes de formation et /ou de développement professionnels axés sur les besoins du milieu artistique.

Alliance des producteurs francophones du Canada (APFC)

Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique

Association des auteures et auteurs de l'Ontario français

Le labo

Bureau des regroupements des artistes visuels de l'Ontario

Association des groupes en arts visuels francophones

Le Conseil des ressources humaines du secteur culturel

Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique

Association des auteures et auteurs de l'Ontario français (AAOF)

Association de la presse francophone

Regroupement des éditeurs canadiens français (RéCF)

Theatre Ontario

Ce site Web contient une mine de renseignements intéressants pour les personnes œuvrant dans les secteurs du théâtre et des arts du spectacle, notamment des renseignements sur les ateliers, les services counselling individuel, le mentorat et les cours de perfectionnement professionnel offerts par Theatre Ontario. Le site fournit également des liens vers d'autres ressources intéressantes en matière de formation à l'intention des artistes professionnels.

Women in Film and Television: Toronto

Cet organisme propose des programmes de formation tout au long de l'année, des événements propres au secteur d'activité et des récompenses professionnelles pour les femmes et les hommes travaillant dans les domaines du cinéma et de la télévision.