Sifting through rocks and debris searching for artifactsHome arrow Culture arrow Archaeology arrow Archaeologists Licensed in Ontario

Archaeologists Licensed in Ontario

Archaeologists who carry out fieldwork in Ontario need to hold a valid archaeological licence. This is required under the Ontario Heritage Act. A person who knowingly disturbs or alters an archaeological site or takes an artifact from a site without holding a valid licence is guilty of an offence under this Act, and may be prosecuted.

Our ministry licences archaeologists. We also publish a list of all archaeologists licensed in Ontario. This list is updated monthly.  There are three types of archaeological licences in Ontario. Archaeologists who provide consulting services in Ontario must hold a valid Professional licence. Licensed archaeologists can apply to renew their licence at the end of their licence term.  Licences may be renewed for up to 3 years at a time.

Click the type of licence below for a complete list of archaeologists holding that licence:

Please report any errors or discrepancies in this list by e-mailing Archaeology@ontario.ca. Information regarding any person claiming to be a licensed archaeologist and who is not listed here should also be reported.

The collection, use and disclosure of personal information by the Ministry are governed by the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. F.31 (FIPPA). Under FIPPA subsection 2(3), personal information does not include the name, title, contact information or designation of an individual that identifies the individual in a business, professional or official capacity.

Finding a consultant archaeologist

This list of licensed archaeologists is for informational purposes only. It in no way represents our ministry’s endorsement or recommendation of any individual archaeologist or organization on this list.

Consultant archaeologists are eligible to begin new archaeological assessment projects in Ontario depending on their compliance with the Terms and Conditions of their licence. The list does not reflect the compliance standing of the archaeologist or whether or not they are currently eligible to begin new archaeological assessments. For information about an archaeologists’ compliance standing please contact them directly.

Questions to ask a consultant archaeologist

When you are looking to hire a consultant archaeologist it is important to find one suited to your needs.  Selecting an archaeologist with a positive compliance record will help ensure that your archaeological assessment is carried out in good order and that reporting obligations are met quickly. Here are some questions you might ask them: 

  1. Are you licensed to practice archaeology in Ontario?

    Licensed archaeologists are issued licence cards which you can request to see.  Their names will also appear on this website in our list of licensed archaeologists.

  2. Do you hold a professional archaeological licence?

    There are three classes of archaeological licence in Ontario: Avocational, Applied Research and Professional. Only Professional archaeologists can act as consultant archaeologists and carry out archaeological assessments.

  3. Are there currently any conditions or limitations imposed on your licence?

  4. Are you currently restricted from undertaking any specific archaeological fieldwork activities as a result of conditions placed on your licence?

  5. How many times have fieldwork projects carried out under your licence (or by your company) failed ministry inspection?

  6. What percentage of your (or your company’s) archaeological assessment reports pass ministry review without requiring revision?

    Revisions are required when reports do not comply with the Standards and Guidelines for Consultant Archaeologists.  If, through our review of a report, we determine that standards for fieldwork or reporting have not been met, we will request a revised report that meets the standards.

  7. How many times have your (or your company’s) reports been deemed ‘incomplete’ by the ministry?

    A report will be deemed incomplete when it has not met the Standards and Guidelines for Consultant Archaeologists and any associated revised reports:

    • are not filed with the ministry before the assigned deadline; or
    • do not address all of the concerns identified to the ministry’s satisfaction.

  8. How many instances of non-compliant fieldwork and reporting have you (or your company) had in the past?

    A report will be deemed non-compliant in cases where the ministry has determined that severely incompetent or destructive fieldwork has occurred. The ministry will deem a report to be non-compliant as a measure of last resort and may choose to engage in additional discretionary rounds of revisions before doing so.

  9. Are you currently eligible to begin new archaeological assessment projects in Ontario?
    Archaeologists may be ineligible to begin new fieldwork due to overdue reports they owe the ministry.

  10. How many projects similar to mine do you (or your company) undertake in a given year?

  11. Are you able to complete my project on time while meeting all of the governments standards for fieldwork and reporting?

Once you have hired a consultant archaeologist

We review the archaeological assessment reports prepared by archaeologists to ensure that they meet the Standards and Guidelines for Consultant Archaeologists, including appropriate recommendations for the archaeological sites they find. Our review also helps to ensure that archaeologists make appropriate recommendations for the archaeological sites they find.

We communicate the results of our report reviews via letters emailed to the consultant archaeologist. If the archaeologist has listed you as their client in their report, we will copy you on letters that notify them that their report is either compliant or not compliant with the Standards and Guidelines. You will not be copied on letters that request additional fieldwork or a revised report be completed before the report can be considered compliant.  However, you may wish to ask your consultant for copies of these.

Learn more about our review of archaeological licensing.

Contact

For more information about archaeological licensing in Ontario contact:

Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport
Archaeology Programs Unit
416-212-8886
Email: Archaeology@ontario.ca

Un site archéologique Accueil arrow La culture arrow L'archéologie

Archéologues titulaires d’une licence en Ontario

Les archéologues qui mènent des travaux sur le terrain en Ontario doivent détenir une licence valide d’archéologue. Il s’agit d’une obligation en vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario. Toute personne qui sciemment perturbe ou modifie un site archéologique ou qui s’empare d’un artefact provenant d’un site sans détenir une licence valide est coupable d’une infraction à cette Loi, et peut être poursuivie.

Notre ministère émet des licences pour les archéologues. Nous publions également une liste de tous les archéologues titulaires d’une licence en Ontario. Cette liste est mise à jour mensuellement. Il existe trois types de licences archéologiques en Ontario. Les archéologues qui fournissent des services de consultation en Ontario doivent être titulaires d’une licence d’archéologue professionnel. Archéologues titulaires d’une licence peuvent demander le renouvellement de leur licence à la fin de leur période de licence. Les licences peuvent être renouvelés jusqu'à trois années à la fois.

Cliquez sur le type de licence ci-dessous pour la liste complète des archéologues titulaire de cette licence :

Veuillez signaler toutes erreurs ou incohérences dans cette liste en envoyant un courriel à archaeology@ontario.ca. Des informations au sujet de toute personne qui prétend être un archéologue titulaire d’une licence et qui n’est pas répertorié ici doivent aussi être signalées.

La collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels par le ministère sont régies par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée, L.R.O. 1990, c. F.31 (LAIPVP). En vertu de la LAIPVP, paragraphe 2(3), les renseignements personnels excluent le nom, le titre, les coordonnées et la désignation d’un particulier qui servent à l’identifier par rapport à ses activités commerciales ou à ses attributions professionnelles ou officielles.

Recherche d’un archéologue-conseil

Cette liste des archéologues titulaires d’une licence est offerte à titre informatif seulement. Elle ne représente nullement un endossement ou une recommandation de notre ministère envers tout archéologue ou organisation en particulier apparaissant dans cette liste.

Les archéologues-conseils sont autorisés à entreprendre de nouveaux projets d’évaluation archéologique en Ontario selon leur conformité avec les Conditions générales de leur licence. La liste ne reflète pas l’état de conformité de l’archéologue, ni s’il est actuellement admissible à entreprendre de nouvelles évaluations archéologiques. Pour plus d’informations sur l’état de conformité d’un archéologue, veuillez le contacter directement.

Questions à poser à un archéologue-conseil

Lorsque vous cherchez à utiliser les services d’un archéologue-conseil, il est important d’en trouver un qui soit adapté à vos besoins. Le choix d’un archéologue avec une fiche satisfaisante de conformité fera en sorte que votre évaluation archéologique sera effectuée correctement et que ses obligations de rapport seront remplies en temps opportun. Voici quelques questions que vous pourriez leur demander :

  1. Êtes-vous titulaire d’une licence valide d’archéologue en Ontario?

    Les archéologues titulaires d’une licence détiennent une carte de licence que vous pouvez demander à voir. Leur nom apparaîtront également sur le présent site Web dans notre liste des archéologues titulaires d’une licence.

  2. Êtes-vous titulaire d’une licence d’archéologue professionnel?

    Il existe trois classes de licences d’archéologue en Ontario : amateur, recherche appliquée et professionnel. Seuls les archéologues professionnels peuvent agir à titre d’archéologues-conseils et mener des évaluations archéologiques.

  3. Existe-t-il actuellement des conditions ou des restrictions imposées sur votre licence?

  4. Êtes-vous actuellement restreint d’entreprendre toute activité spécifique archéologique sur le terrain à la suite de conditions imposées à votre licence?

  5. Combien de fois des projets sur le terrain effectués en vertu de votre licence (ou par votre entreprise) ont-ils échoué une inspection du ministère?

  6. Quel pourcentage de vos rapports d’évaluations archéologiques (ou celles effectuées par votre entreprise) réussissent l’examen du ministère sans nécessiter de révision?

    Les révisions sont requises quand les rapports ne répondent pas aux Normes et directives à l’intention des archéologues-conseils. Si, à la suite de notre examen d’un rapport, nous jugeons que les normes pour les travaux sur le terrain ou pour les rapports n’ont pas été respectées, nous exigerons un rapport révisé répondant aux normes.

  7. Combien de fois vos rapports (ou ceux de votre entreprise) ont été jugés « incomplets » par le ministère?

    Un rapport sera considéré comme incomplet lorsqu’il ne satisfait pas auxNormes et directives à l’intention des archéologues-conseils ou que tout rapport révisé associé :

    • n’est pas remis au ministère avant la date limite imposée; ou
    • ne traite pas toutes les préoccupations relevées, à la satisfaction du ministère.

  8. Combien d’instances de non-conformité sur le terrain et de rapports avez-vous (ou votre entreprise) eu dans le passé?

    Un rapport sera réputé non conforme dans le cas où le ministère a déterminé que des travaux gravement incompétents ou destructeurs sur le terrain se sont produits. Le ministère jugera un rapport non conforme uniquement comme mesure de dernier recours et peut choisir, à sa discrétion, d’entreprendre des étapes de révisions supplémentaires avant d’en arriver là.

  9. Êtes-vous actuellement admissible à entreprendre de nouveaux projets d’évaluation archéologique en Ontario?

    Les archéologues peuvent être non admissibles à entreprendre de nouveaux travaux sur le terrain en raison de rapports en retard qu’ils doivent remettre au ministère.

  10. Combien de projets similaires au mien effectuez-vous (ou votre entreprise) dans une année donnée?

  11. Êtes-vous en mesure de terminer mon projet à temps, tout en répondant à toutes les normes du gouvernement pour le travail sur le terrain et les rapports?

Une fois que vous avez retenu les services d’un archéologue-conseil

Nous passons en revue les rapports d’évaluation archéologique préparés par les archéologues pour s’assurer qu’ils répondent aux Normes et directives à l’intention des archéologues-conseils. Notre examen contribue également à faire en sorte que les archéologues formulent des recommandations appropriées pour les sites archéologiques qu’ils découvrent.

Nous communiquons les résultats de nos examens de rapport par courriel à l’archéologue-conseil. Si l’archéologue vous a nommé comme client dans son rapport, vous recevrez une copie des lettres qui l’informent que son rapport est conforme ou non conforme aux Normes et directives. Vous ne recevrez pas de copie de lettres qui requièrent des travaux de terrain supplémentaires ou un rapport révisé à produire avant que ce dernier puisse être considéré comme conforme. Toutefois, vous pouvez demander des copies de ces lettres à votre archéologue-conseil.

En savoir plus sur la délivrance des licences archéologiques

Contact

Pour plus d’informations sur les licences archéologiques en Ontario, communiquez avec :

Ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport
Unité des programmes d’archéologie
416-212-8886
Courriel : archaeology@ontario.ca