Results-based Plan Briefing Book 2011-12 arrow Ontario Senior's Secretariat

ONTARIO SENIORS’ SECRETARIAT

KEY STRATEGY: PLANNING FOR AN AGING POPULATION

Ontario’s population aged 65 and over is projected to more than double from 1.8 million in 2009 (13.7 per cent of the total population) to 4.1 million by 2036 (23.2 per cent of the total population). By 2017, for the first time, seniors will account for a larger share of the population than children 14 years of age and under.

A high degree of collaboration between governments, business and broader communities, as well as seniors themselves, is required to address the impact that this demographic shift will have on areas such as accommodation and housing, health, financial security, safety and security, employment and volunteer opportunities, and age-friendly communities.

Ontario seniors want a voice in planning for our aging population and support to help them remain independent and involved in their communities to maximize their potential and opportunities.

In 2011-12, the Ontario Seniors’ Secretariat (OSS) will support these goals through a close working relationship with 11 of Ontario’s major seniors’ organizations.  The Secretariat will: 

Accommodation (Housing)

  • Focus on leading the implementation of the Retirement Homes Act, 2010, which received Royal Assent on June 8, 2010.  This legislation, for the first time in Ontario’s history provides the framework to strengthen the care and services provided to seniors living in retirement homes.  It also established the Retirement Home Regulatory Authority.  The Authority will be responsible for licensing retirement homes and conducting inspections, investigations and enforcement, including issuing financial penalties or revoking licenses if necessary.  The Ontario Seniors’ Secretariat will be providing the ongoing oversight of the start-up of the Authority.
  • Opportunities for seniors’ organizations to provide input to government on the affordable and accessible housing needs of seniors will be created through initiatives like the Affordable Housing Program.

Financial Security

  • Work with partner Ministries and seniors’ organizations to improve seniors’ financial literacy and their access to benefits resulting from initiatives related to pension reform, Harmonized Sales Tax, and personal income tax. For example, promoting the Filing Your Tax campaign to improve seniors’ access to benefits through the tax system, including the Ontario Sales Tax Transition Benefit.

Safety and Security

  • Continue to implement Ontario’s Strategy to Combat Elder Abuse, and co-lead with the federal government federal / provincial / territorial elder abuse initiatives.
  • Educate seniors on financial abuse and fraud through partnerships with financial, judicial and community organizations.
  • Raise awareness of the sexual safety of older women to implement Ontario’s Sexual Violence Action Plan by working with the Ontario Women’s Directorate and partners to support an international forum on World Elder Abuse Awareness Day 2011.

Healthy Aging

  • Advocate for seniors to be actively engaged and promote health aging and lifestyles.
  • Support the development of the government’s 10-year Mental Health and Addictions Strategy.
  • Support knowledge exchange of innovative technologies that advance healthy and independent aging through initiatives like the Festival of International Conferences on Caregiving, Disability, Aging and Technology. OSS is participating on the Steering Committee for this conference to be held in June 2011.

Employment/Volunteerism

  • Work with partner ministries to recognize the contributions of seniors to families, communities and society while promoting their participation in the workforce and volunteer activities.
  • Continue to partner with the Honours and Awards Secretariat, Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration to present the Ontario Senior Achievement Awards and the Ontario Senior of the Year Award to highlight the many facets of seniors’ contributions to their communities.

Age-Friendly Communities

  • Encourage active aging by optimizing opportunities for health, participation, and security through a call to action to communities to undertake a process of assessing and improving their age-friendliness across eight areas: outdoor spaces and buildings; community support and health services; communication and information; civic participation and employment; respect and social inclusion; social participation; housing; and transportation.
  • Work in collaboration with the Accessibility Directorate of Ontario, members of the academic community and other partners to support communities in becoming more age-friendly.

Federal/Provincial/Territorial Collaboration

  • Provide leadership on intergovernmental collaboration on issues of importance to Canadian seniors by hosting the 13th annual meeting of Federal/Provincial/Territorial Ministers Responsible for Seniors in 2011.  Ontario’s Minister Responsible for Seniors will host and co-chair the meeting with the federal Minister of State (Seniors).

Highlights of 2010-11 Results

  • The Ontario Seniors’ Secretariat led the Retirement Homes Act, 2010 through the legislative process and on June 8, 2010, the Act received Royal Assent, marking the first time in Ontario’s history that provincial legislation will protect seniors living in retirement homes.
  • The Act also established the Retirement Homes Regulatory Authority, a new regulatory body responsible for the administration of the Act. The Authority’s responsibilities include the licensing of retirement homes, enforcement of the care and safety standards for residents, and educating licensees, consumers and the public on legislative requirements and standards. 
  • Ontario communities are better equipped to reduce elder abuse and promote age-friendly environments that are more responsive to the needs of seniors and support their civic participation.
  • More seniors live healthier lifestyles, are engaged in advocating for seniors of today and tomorrow, and access the services to which they are entitled.  
  • More senior friendly policy development across government.

Next page

PLAN AXÉ SUR LES RÉSULTATS PUBLIÉ 2011-2012 (suite)

 

SECRÉTARIAT AUX AFFAIRES DES PERSONNES ÂGÉES DE L'ONTARIO

PRINCIPALE STRATÉGIE : PLANIFICATION DU VIEILLISSEMENT DE LA POPULATION

D'après les estimations, le nombre d'Ontariens âgés de plus de 65 ans devrait plus que doubler d'ici 2036, pour passer de 1,8 million à 4,1 millions de personnes, soit de 13,7 % à 23,2 % de la population totale. D'ici 2017, les personnes âgées représenteront pour la première fois une plus grande part de la population que les enfants de 14 ans et moins.

Les gouvernements, les entreprises, les collectivités au sens large et les personnes âgées doivent fortement collaborer pour contrebalancer les effets qu'aura cette évolution démographique sur les domaines tels que l'hébergement et le logement, la santé, la sécurité financière, la sécurité et la protection, les possibilités d'emploi et de bénévolat ainsi que les collectivités-amies des aînés.

Les personnes âgées de l'Ontario veulent jouer un rôle dans la planification du vieillissement de la population et recevoir l'appui nécessaire pour préserver leur indépendance et leur participation dans les collectivités, lequel appui doit optimiser leur potentiel et les possibilités qui s'offrent à eux.

En 2011-2012, le Secrétariat aux affaires des personnes âgées de l'Ontario apportera son soutien à ces objectifs en collaborant étroitement avec 11 des principaux organismes de personnes âgées en Ontario. Il portera son attention sur les domaines suivants :

Hébergement (logement)

  • Mettre l'accent sur l'orientation à donner pour la mise en œuvre de la Loi de 2010 sur les maisons de retraite, laquelle a reçu la sanction royale le 8 juin 2010. Cette loi, pour la première fois dans l'histoire de l'Ontario, propose un cadre visant l'amélioration des soins et des services offerts aux personnes âgées vivant dans les maisons de retraite. Mettre en place l'Office de réglementation des maisons de retraite. L'Office sera chargé de la délivrance des permis pour les maisons de retraite ainsi que des inspections, des enquêtes et de l'application de la loi, y compris l'imposition d'amendes ou la révocation des permis, si nécessaire. Le Secrétariat aux affaires des personnes âgées de l'Ontario assurera la surveillance continue du démarrage de l'Office.
  • Les organismes de personnes âgées auront la possibilité d'informer le gouvernement sur les besoins des personnes âgées en matière de logement abordable et accessible grâce à des initiatives telles que le Programme de logement abordable.

Sécurité financière

  • Collaborer avec les ministères partenaires et les organismes de personnes âgées pour améliorer les connaissances financières des aînés et leur accès aux avantages liés à la réforme du régime de retraite, à la taxe de vente harmonisée et à l'impôt des particuliers. Par exemple, valoriser la campagne d'information sur la déclaration de revenus pour améliorer l'accès des personnes âgées aux avantages fiscaux, notamment la prestation ontarienne de transition au titre de la taxe de vente.

Sécurité et protection

  • Poursuivre la mise en place de la Stratégie ontarienne de prévention des mauvais traitements à l'égard des personnes âgées et supervision conjointe avec les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux des projets contre les mauvais traitements à l'égard des personnes âgées.
  • Sensibiliser les personnes âgées au problème de l'exploitation financière et de la fraude grâce à des partenariats avec des organismes financiers, judiciaires et communautaires.
  • Sensibiliser les personnes âgées au sujet de la sécurité sexuelle des femmes plus âgées pour mettre en œuvre le Plan d'action ontarien contre la violence à caractère sexuel en travaillant avec la Direction générale de la condition féminine de l'Ontario et les partenaires afin d'appuyer un forum international dans le cadre de la Journée mondiale de sensibilisation aux mauvais traitements infligés aux personnes âgées 2011.

Personnes âgées en bonne santé

  • Promouvoir la participation active des personnes âgées et valoriser les personnes âgées en bonne santé et les modes de vie sains.
  • Appuyer l'élaboration de la Stratégie décennale de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances du gouvernement de l'Ontario.
  • Encourager le partage des nouvelles technologies qui améliorent la santé et l'indépendance des personnes âgées grâce à des projets comme le Festival de conférences internationales relatives aux prestations de soins, aux incapacités, au vieillissement et à la technologie. Le Secrétariat aux affaires des personnes âgées de l'Ontario participe au comité directeur chargé de la préparation de cette conférence, qui aura lieu à l'été 2011.

Emploi et bénévolat

  • Travailler avec les partenaires ministériels afin de reconnaître le rôle des personnes âgées dans les familles, les collectivités et la société tout en valorisant leur participation dans le monde du travail et du bénévolat.
  • Continuer à travailler avec le Secrétariat des distinctions et prix de l'Ontario, du ministère des Affaires civiques et de l'Immigration, pour remettre les Prix d'excellence de l'Ontario pour les personnes âgées, le Prix de la personne âgée de l'année de l'Ontario afin de souligner les nombreuses contributions qu'apportent les personnes âgées à leurs collectivités

Collectivités-amies des aînés

  • Encourager le vieillissement actif en optimisant les perspectives en matière de santé, de participation et de sécurité. Pour ce faire, inciter les collectivités à entreprendre un processus d'évaluation et d'amélioration de leur convivialité à l'égard des aînés dans huit domaines : espaces extérieurs et bâtiments; soutien communautaire et services de santé; communication et information; participation communautaire et emploi; respect et inclusion sociale; participation sociale; logement; et transport.
  • Travailler en collaboration avec la Direction générale de l'accessibilité pour l'Ontario, les membres de la communauté universitaire et autres partenaires afin d'aider les collectivités à devenir des amies des aînés.

Collaboration fédérale, provinciale et territoriale

  • Offrir un leadership relativement à une collaboration intergouvernementale sur des questions d'importance pour les personnes âgées du Canada en étant l'hôte de la 13e réunion annuelle du Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial des ministres responsables des aînés en 2011. La ministre ontarienne déléguée aux Affaires des personnes âgées agira à titre d'hôte et de coprésidente de la rencontre avec la ministre d'État (Aînés) du gouvernement fédéral.

Aperçu des résultats en 2010-2011

  • Le Secrétariat aux affaires des personnes âgées de l'Ontario a mené la Loi de 2010 sur les maisons de retraite au cours du processus législatif et, le 8 juin 2010, la loi a reçu la sanction royale, marquant ainsi la première fois dans l'histoire de l'Ontario qu'une loi provinciale vise à protéger les personnes âgées vivant en maisons de retraite.
  • La loi a également permis d'établir l'Office de réglementation des maisons de retraite, un nouvel organisme de réglementation chargé de l'administration de la loi. Les responsabilités de l'Office comportent la délivrance de permis des maisons de retraite, l'application des normes pour les soins et la sécurité des résidents, et l'information aux titulaires de permis et au public relativement aux exigences législatives et aux normes. 
  • Les collectivités ontariennes sont mieux préparées pour réduire les mauvais traitements envers les aînés et promouvoir les milieux-amis des aînés qui sont plus en mesure de répondre aux besoins des personnes âgées et de soutenir leur participation communautaire.
  • Un plus grand nombre de personnes âgées ont adopté des habitudes de vie saine, participent à la défense des intérêts et des droits des personnes âgées d'aujourd'hui et de demain, et ont accès aux services auxquels elles ont droit. 
  • Élaboration accrue de politiques en faveur des personnes âgées à l'échelle du gouvernement.

Continuer