Aboriginal heritage: museums and archaeology

This ministry's programs and services play an important role in the conservation, protection and preservation of Ontario's Aboriginal heritage resources.

The governing authority for one of our Community Museums for instance, must be one of the following:

  • A non-profit corporation
  • The council of a municipality
  • A public library board operating under the Public Libraries Act
  • An Indian Band Council
  • A Conservation Authority.

Standards for Community Museums provides more information.

Aboriginal archaeology in Ontario

In Ontario, 80 per cent of all archaeological sites are Aboriginal. This includes First Nations villages, longhouses, hunting camps, portage areas, burial grounds and ossuaries. Artifacts that have been uncovered include pottery shards, arrow and spear points, and everyday materials used by First Nations and Métis people. Some artifacts, such as sacred bundles, funerary objects and human remains are sensitive, and one must treat them with utmost respect and dignity.

Role of communities

This ministry has taken active steps to include First Nations and Métis in archaeological assessment through new Standards and Guidelines for Consultant Archaeologists, which require licensed archaeologists to engage communities on Aboriginal sites.

The draft technical bulletin, Engaging Aboriginal Communities in Archaeology,is a living document that helps consultant archaeologists plan engagement. It encourages best practices, such as using on-site monitors from communities.

The ministry will continue to accept community feedback on this document to ensure that it remains useful and effective.

Ongoing engagement

The Ministry is committed to ongoing engagement with communities.

In 2011, the ministry helped launch the new standards and guidelines by holding province-wide sessions for First Nations and Métis, in collaboration with the Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs.

While the main purpose of the sessions was to provide information on current government policy, they also provided an opportunity for dialogue to help the ministry better understand community culture and heritage priorities – including interests beyond archaeology, such as cultural planning and tourism.

For more information, contact engageMTCS@ontario.ca

Other resources

The Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing website provides information to help municipalities and their staff understand their opportunities and responsibilities for engaging and consulting with Aboriginal communities on development issues. It also provides examples of current experiences.

The Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing explains why full participation of the local and Aboriginal communities is an essential component of the design, implementation and review of archaeological management planning studies for Archaeological Management Plans. These plans support the implementation of municipal policies and procedures for identifying and conserving archaeological resources. Local and Aboriginal communities must have the opportunity to conserve their cultural heritage.

Communautés autochtones Accueil arrow La culture arrow Communautés autochtones

Patrimoine autochtone : musées et archéologie

Les programmes et les services du Ministère jouent un rôle primordial dans la conservation et la préservation des ressources du patrimoine autochtone de l'Ontario.

Par exemple, la direction de l'un de nos musées communautaires incombe à l'une des organisations suivantes :

  • un organisme à but non lucratif;
  • un conseil municipal;
  • un conseil de bibliothèques publiques régi par la Loi sur les bibliothèques publiques;
  • un Conseil de bande indienne;
  • un office de protection.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements à la section Normes applicables aux musées communautaires.

Archéologie autochtone en Ontario

En Ontario, 80 % des sites archéologiques sont des sites autochtones, que ce soit des villages, des longues maisons, des camps de chasse, des sites de portage, des cimetières ou des ossuaires. On y a trouvé toutes sortes d'artefacts, notamment des tessons, des pointes d'épée et de lance ainsi que des objets usuels utilisés par les Premières nations et les Métis. Certains artefacts comme les ballots d'objets rituels, les objets funéraires et les restes humains sont délicats et doivent être traités avec respect et dignité.

Rôle des collectivités

Le ministère a pris des mesures concrètes pour faire participer davantage les Premières Nations et les collectivités métisses aux évaluations archéologiques en produisant de nouvelles Normes et directives à l’intention des archéologues-conseils, qui obligent les archéologues titulaires d’une licence à collaborer avec les collectivités aux sites Autochtones.

Le bulletin technique intitulé La participation des communautés autochtones au processus archéologique,qui est à l’état d’ébauche, est un document évolutif qui aide les archéologues‑conseils à planifier la participation. Il encourage l’adoption de pratiques exemplaires, comme le recours à des membres d’une collectivité autochtone pour surveiller les travaux sur le site.

Le ministère continuera d’accueillir les commentaires des collectivités au sujet de ce document pour qu’il puisse demeurer utile et efficace.

Collaboration permanente

Le ministère est déterminé à collaborer de façon continue avec les collectivités.

En 2011, il a aidé à la diffusion des nouvelles normes et directives en tenant des séances d’information auprès des Premières Nations et des collectivités métisses dans l’ensemble de la province, en collaboration avec le ministère des Affaires autochtones.

Ces séances avaient pour objet principal de renseigner sur la politique courante du gouvernement, mais elles ont également fourni des occasions de dialoguer, et ainsi d’aider le ministère à mieux comprendre la culture des diverses collectivités et leurs priorités en matière de patrimoine, entre autres à l’égard de secteurs d’intérêt autres que l’archéologie, tels que la planification culturelle et le tourisme autochtones.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, prière d’envoyer un courriel à engageMTCS@ontario.ca.

Autres ressources

Le site Web du ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement contient des renseignements qui aident les municipalités et leur personnel à comprendre la possibilité et l'obligation qu'ils ont de faire participer les communautés autochtones aux projets de développement et de les consulter à ce sujet. Le site fournit également des exemples d'expériences en cours.

Le ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement explique pourquoi la pleine participation des communautés locales et autochtones est essentielle à l'élaboration, à la mise en œuvre et à l'examen des études de planification de gestion archéologique en ce qui concerne les plans de gestion archéologique. Ces plans appuient la mise en application des politiques et des procédures municipales visant à déterminer et à conserver les ressources archéologiques. Les communautés locales et autochtones doivent avoir l'occasion de conserver leur patrimoine culturel.