A Year

This year, the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport supported many outstanding programs, events and initiatives that enhanced the quality of life for residents in Ontario. Here are a few of our 2017 highlights.

revitalization of ontario place

In 2017, we continued with the transformation of Ontario Place into a vibrant, year-round waterfront destination. Projects from this year include the opening of the Trillium Park and William G. Davis Trail, the Cinesphere reopening, making progress on the vision for the West Island and the Celebration Common on the East Island, and year-round events and activities including Winter at Ontario Place.

rowan's law

We are making it safer to play amateur competitive sport. This year, we introduced the proposed Rowan’s Law (Concussion Safety), 2017. If passed, it will make Ontario a national leader in concussion management and prevention.


Working to establish Ontario as a cycling leader in North America, we unveiled Ontario’s first cycling tourism plan, Tour By Bike and announced $1 million in new funding for bike parking and storage at tourism and cultural attractions. Along with the Ministry of Transportation, we also announced the $93 million Ontario Municipal Commuter Cycling Program.


To mark Ontario’s 150th anniversary, we celebrated with over 2,000 events and initiatives supported through the Ontario150 program.

ontario's culture strategy

We strengthened the arts and culture sector by moving forward with the implementation of the Culture Strategy. Actions taken include:

rom weston entrance reopening

To support cultural heritage and increase accessibility at the ROM, we invested $1.5 million in the ROM’s Welcome Project. This project includes the reopening of the Weston Entrance and improvements to the Daphne Cockwell Indigenous Gallery.

ontario trails of distinction

As part of the Ontario Trails Act, 2016, we launched the first Trails Week and named five trails as Ontario Trails of Distinction. The program is designed to raise awareness of Ontario trails, encourage today’s and future generations to use trails and further the development and promotion of trails in Ontario.

support for francophone arts and culture

We are supporting the construction of Place des Arts in Sudbury with a $3.25 million investment from the 2017 budget and a $5 million investment from the Northern Ontario Heritage Fund. The new cultural hub will serve as an artistic space for the region’s Francophone community and the city at large.

strategic framework for tourism

As part of the commitments made in Ontario’s Tourism Action Plan, we improved the Celebrate Ontario application process. Through the 2017 Celebrate Ontario program, we invested more than $19 million to support over 300 festivals and events. To highlight Francophone culture and heritage, we unveiled the new Route Champlain which will stretch over 1,500 km.

sport hosting

Through sport hosting, we showcased how sport has the power to challenge, inspire and motivate. Building on the infrastructure and volunteer legacies of the Pan Am/Parapan Am Games, we hosted the Invictus Games and the North American Indigenous Games. We also supported an additional 25 national and international sport events with funding.

funding increase to the arts

As part of our Budget commitment, we announced that the Ontario Arts Council will be receiving $50 million in additional funding delivered over the next four years. Our investment will support arts programs across the province.

women and girls in sport

Providing equal access to opportunities in sport and recreation for women and girls is one of our priorities. To address this, we launched The Advancing Opportunities for Women and Girls in Sport action plan so that women and girls will have more opportunities to participate in sport and reach their full potential.

fun pass

As a result of our enhancements to the 2017 Fun Pass, approximately 44,700 children received free entry at 18 attractions. This provided over $500,000 in savings to Ontario families.

games ontario program

Through the Games Ontario Program, we delivered the successful Cobourg 2017 Ontario 55+ Winter Games and Brantford/County of Brant 2017 Ontario Parasport Games. We also supported Team Ontario, who represented Ontario with pride at this summer’s 2017 Canada Games in Winnipeg.

2017

Bilan
de
l'année

Cette année, le ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport a appuyé de nombreux programmes, événements et initiatives exceptionnels qui ont amélioré la qualité de vie des résidents de l’Ontario. Voici quelques-uns de nos faits saillants.

revitalisation de la place de l'ontario

En 2017, nous avons continué à faire des progrès dans la transformation de la Place de l’Ontario en une destination riveraine dynamique, ouverte toute l’année. Les projets de cette année incluent l'ouverture du parc Trillium et le sentier William G. Davis, réouverture de l’emblématique Cinésphère, des progrès dans la vision de l’Île West et de l’aire commune de célébration sur l’île East, et l'événements et activités toute l’année, y compris les festivals ON150 et l’hiver à la Place de l’Ontario.

loi rowan

Nous rendons la pratique du sport de compétition amateur plus sécuritaire. Cette année, nous avons présenté le projet de loi 193, Loi Rowan de 2017 (prévention des commotions cérébrales). Si la loi est adoptée, elle fera de l’Ontario un chef de file national en matière de gestion et de prévention des commotions cérébrales.

cyclisme

Dans le but d’établir l’Ontario comme chef de file du cyclisme en Amérique du Nord, nous avons dévoilé le premier plan de cyclotourisme ontarien, Randonnées à vélo et annoncé un nouveau financement de 1 million de dollars pour du stationnement et de l’entreposage pour vélos dans les attractions touristiques et culturelles. Avec le ministère des Transports, nous avons annoncé le Programme ontarien d’aide aux municipalités pour le navettage à vélo à hauteur de 93 M$.

ONTARIO150

Pour souligner le 150e anniversaire de l’Ontario, nous avons célébré à plus de 2000 événements et initiatives soutenus par le programme Ontario150.

stratégie ontarienne pour la culture

Nous avons renforcé le secteur des arts et de la culture en poursuivant la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie ontarienne pour la culture. Les mesures prises sont notamment les suivantes :

réouverture de l’entrée weston du rom

Afin de soutenir le patrimoine culturel et d’accroître l’accessibilité au ROM, nous avons investi 1,5 M$ dans le Projet d’accueil du ROM. Ce projet comprend la réouverture de l’entrée Weston et des améliorations à la galerie des Premiers peuples Daphne Cockwell.

sentiers d’exception

Dans le cadre de la Loi de 2016 sur les sentiers de l’Ontario, nous avons lancé la première Semaine des sentiers et nommé cinq Sentiers d’exception de l’Ontario. Le programme a pour but de mieux faire connaître les sentiers de l’Ontario, d’encourager les générations actuelles et futures à utiliser les sentiers et de favoriser l’aménagement et la promotion des sentiers en Ontario.

accroître l’appui aux arts et à la culture francophones

Nous soutenons la construction de la Place des Arts à Sudbury avec un investissement de 3,25 M$ du budget de 2017 et un investissement de 5 M$ du Fonds du patrimoine du Nord de l’Ontario. Cette nouvelle plaque tournante culturelle servira d’espace artistique pour la communauté francophone de la région et la ville dans son ensemble.

cadre stratégique pour le tourisme

Dans le cadre des engagements pris dans le Plan d’action touristique de l’Ontario, nous avons amélioré le processus de demande de Fêtons l’Ontario. Nous avons investi plus de 19 M$ au soutien de plus de 300 festivals et événements. Pour mettre en valeur la culture et le patrimoine francophones, nous avons dévoilé la nouvelle Route de Champlain.

accueil d’événements sportifs

Grâce au programme d’accueil d’événements sportifs, nous avons montré comment le sport a le pouvoir de stimuler, d’inspirer et de motiver. S’appuyant sur l’infrastructure et le legs des Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains, nous avons accueilli les Jeux Invictus et les Jeux autochtones de l’Amérique du Nord. Nous avons également appuyé financièrement 25 autres événements sportifs nationaux et internationaux.

accroissement du soutien pour les arts

Dans le cadre de notre engagement budgétaire, nous avons annoncé que le Conseil des arts de l'Ontario recevra 50 M$ en fonds supplémentaires au cours des quatre prochaines années. Notre investissement appuiera les programmes artistiques dans l’ensemble de la province.

les femmes et les filles dans le sport

L’égalité d’accès des femmes et des filles aux possibilités sportives et récréatives est l’une de nos priorités. Pour la favoriser, nous avons lancé le plan d’action Accroître la présence des femmes et des jeunes filles dans le secteur sportif, afin que les femmes et les filles aient davantage d’occasions de participer au sport et de réaliser leur plein potentiel.

passeport plaisirs

Grâce à nos améliorations au Passeport Plaisirs 2017, environ 44 700 enfants ont été accueillis gratuitement dans 18 attractions. Cela a permis aux familles ontariennes de réaliser des économies de plus de 500 000 $.

programme des jeux de l'ontario

Par l’entremise du programme des Jeux de l’Ontario, nous avons présenté les Jeux d’hiver de l’Ontario des 55+ 2017 et les Jeux ParaSport 2017 de l’Ontario à Brantford et dans le comté de Brant. Nous avons également soutenu Équipe Ontario, qui représentait fièrement l’Ontario aux Jeux d’été du Canada 2017 à Winnipeg.